We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful For Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
regina, sk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful For Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This summer (July 2011) we stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort. This was our 2nd stay there and we will becoming back in the future. While this resort is NOT on the main strip, it is only a 2 min drive to downtown Banff. The resort is wonderful for families with children and our kids couldn't get enough of the waterslides. Rooms are clean. We had a room with a full kitchen and it saved us a ton of money, as we bought groceries and cooked our own meals. Great place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    304
    104
    36
    20
See reviews for
464
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Staff were very friendly. We stayed in a Bachelor Suite, and it more than suited our needs. We were able to get the room during one of their specials, so it was worth the money we paid. There was no elevator, and we had very slow internet service. We later found out from staff at the Info Center in town, that internet service is generally quite slow in Banff, but the resort staff didn't tell us that when we complained. There was no coffee available in the resort lobby. It was a beautiful location, about a kilometer from downtown, and very quiet at night. We would likely stay here again, but not at their regular rates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was our first vist to DFR and we weren't sure what to expect. We ended up really loved the accomadations..we stayed in the 1 bedroom loft suite and it definitely exceeded my expectations. Everything we needed for our stay was there and the staff even provided a high chair for our convenience in our room. The room was very clean, plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 small children and very quiet which was exactly what we were looking for. The playzone and waterslides were a big hit with the kids. One recommendation would be to put in a playpen or area to contain the little ones in the pool change room. It was a challenge to keep a 4 year old and a 1 year old out of the shower once they were dressed while I was dressing. The onsite liquor store and grocery store were a hit with us parents when we needed something. The only issue we had was we both have bad backs and found the beds a bit too firm but other than that..everything was really good. Check-in/check out was quick and easy. All in all a very wonderful experience and we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom with loft condo. Main floor bedroom and loft had 2 queen beds with 2 piece bath. Kitchen well equipped including paper towels. We visited during the summer so didn't use the fireplace but the condo was clean and great location at the edge of Banff. Friendly staff, housekeeping and no problem getting clean towels. Our girls (17 & 18) enjoyed the wi-fi. Very handy having full fridge and kitchen as eating out can get expensive. Updates to rooms to make them brighter would be our only suggestion. We spent our honeymoon here 20 years ago and this is why we booked again!!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The resort had amazing staff which helped us make an excellent plan to ensure we experienced the best Banff had to offer. We stayed in a single bedroom condo with loft and found it to be a great home away from home. They even accomodated an early check-in and provided a playpen for our 1 year old son.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our second visit to DFR and we had a great time. Our kids loved the waterpark and they had lots of fun. One comment about the waterslides is the heavy chlorine smell once you enter the pool area, athough It is not quite heavy when in the water. Good thing they are renovating this facility, can't wait to see it again when re-opens. The one bedroom loft condo was very nice and confortable for 4 adults and 2 children. The kitchen had all the utensils we needed and everything was clean and handy. The kitchen sink faucet had a leak but I guess this should be a quick fix for the hotel maintenance staff. For a room that can accomodate up to six guests it would be nicer if they provide more coffee. Overall our experience was very good and we'll continue visiting the DFR in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Great room, quick service.
Nice to be away from town, up on the hill.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.