We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cabin on the hill next to Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great cabin on the hill next to Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this place! We stayed here during November 2015 for a week. You get a lovely cabin with a fireplace, central heating, a kitchen, a bathroom and a bedroom. The room we had was well kept, clean and very cosy. Some of the reviews on here say the rooms are dated. I didn't think that at all. I thought they were find and kept in style of the "ski chalet" thing they've got going on. Staff are very helpful, and there are several amenities at the hotel that guests can make use of such as the pool, and the indoor childrens playground (which is pretty awesome).

The hotel is located on a hill just outside of Banff. You could probably walk into town if you were half keen, but we had a hire car which meant it was only a 2 minute drive away. The hotel is quiet, and there is a convenience store and liquor store just around the corner (literally, 10m around the corner) from the main entrance. Breakfast is supplied as a "cook it yourself" bacon, eggs and toast style - which will last a couple of days. Beyond that you're expected to buy your own from the store or in town. Think of it more like a serviced cabin.

Another thing guests need to do is get their own firewood. There is a huge stack of it in a covered area inside the hotel (near the pool). Again we had a hire car so just piled a heap into the boot and drove it to our cabin. If you didn't have a car it's just something to be made aware of - that you'd probably be making multiple trips to get wood. When the carpark is covered in snow and ice that could be a bit hairy.

My only criticism is that internet (wifi) bandwidth is very poor. After all you are in the Canadian Rockies and you should be unplugging. But for those times when you really do need to use the internet, it's almost impossible. The hotel makes specific mention that during busy times the internet can get congested. When we were there it didn't seem that busy, if anything the hotel was mostly empty - and even then internet was very poor. My only recommendation to the hotel would be that in this day and age - internet connectivity for guests (whether paid or free) should take some priority. Guests like to stay connected (even when they should be disconnecting and enjoying the beautiful surrounds of Banff).

All in all the hotel offers a great location, fantastic comfort, and self sufficiency. The rooms are clean, well serviced, and there are facilities for all the family to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights in a self contained unit; kitchen, lounge and bedroom. The rooms were cleaned and serviced each day including doing our dishes. The place is walking distance to the town of Banff, but there is also a bus service and the hotel provides free bus passes for the length of your stay.

There is a small general store on site, plus a bottle shop and laundry. The owner of the shop is Brian and he is very friendly and I would recommend shopping there for the essentials.

The issues we had concerned the open fire place and the internet. We lit the open fire and even though we followed the instructions and had the flu open it still smoked terribly. With the internet when we booked in they said that where our room was would mean that the internet would be a bit slow. Now I live in a country area and I am used to slow internet, but here the internet kept dropping out and one night I could not get on at all, even to do simple things like email and Facebook.

Overall the hotel is good and I would recommend staying there. Just don't light the fire!!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for the weekend in January in a studio suite in the main building. The room had everything we needed and we loved the wood burning fireplace. The deck is massive, would be great in summer for sitting out and lots of room for kids to play. Although we were quite pleased with all the amenities in the room I noticed a car exhaust smell in the room and loud chopping banging sounds. We went to find out where the noise was coming from and realized our room was above the parking garage and where they chop the wood for the fireplaces. We will never book a room on this floor again.
The waterslides are great fun for all ages and the outdoor hot tub is a must. It's very large and a great design so you don't have to sit right next to other parties. We also tried the indoor pool and hot tub which was a great temperature and no one ever in there.
It is up the mountain from Banff town center but they do provide bus passes and times for easy town access.
We will definitely stay again just not in a room close to the parking garage.

Room Tip: If you book a room in the main building ask to be on a higher floor away from the parking garage due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Douglas Fir is located up and out of the way of Main Street Banff, so it's really nicely secluded and quiet. On your way there, if your timing is right, you will see wildlife eating. The chalets are nice. We rented a one bedroom loft and it was way more than enough for the two of us. The water park area was fantastic. So much fun. Great place to stay!

Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tpsg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First: Banff is incredible. I feel guilty reviewing it as good. It's just the Douglas fir that is only "good" - the setting is breathtaking.

Room: pros -There were 10 of us. 4 kids under 5 and 6 adults. We had a room in the main lodge and everyone had their own bedroom. 2 families of 4 and 1 set of grandparents. Everyone had their own bathroom and the rooms all had 2 queen sized beds. Also, huge dining table. Perfect to accommodate all of us for enjoyable breakfasts and dinners. Decent kitchen.

Room: Cons: feels run down, old, and a little scuzzy. Could definitely be cleaner.

Water park: pros - huge outdoor hot tub. 2 really fun waterslides.

Water park: change rooms are kinda gross.

Parking is easy. Elevators are slow. Staff are super friendly.

This is basically a good bang for your buck for a large group in the mountains b



Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great place for kids - slides and play area (for little kids) are great fun: The hot tubs inside and outside are great for kids and adults
What could be improved is the internet connection was really non existent even though we were told that during peak times the internet would be slow it was really not accessible. Additionally, there are rooms that are getting really old and are in dire need of renovating.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We have visited DF several times when we lived in Canada and decided to come back for Christmas. We hired an A frame chalet which was small but comfortable.
Internet connection was abysmal, it would have been good to be able to contact relatives over Christmas but wasn't meant to be, the info here stated it might be slow but not non exsistent!
We had a daily knock for room service and staff were happy to return later in the day to make the room. We had to fetch our own logs for the fire on most days.
Staff at reception were helpful, we lost a bed sheet and they managed to find it quickly in the laundry and return it to our too our room.
The kids loved the water park and outside hot tub and also the indoor play area.
We would return but it's all looking a bit out of date and might need a little bit of updating.

Room Tip: A cosy, quaint stay in the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing