We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convinient accommodation for families with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, convinient accommodation for families with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Whenever we go to Banff National Park for summer fun or winter skiing we always pick this hotel. Perfect location in Banff with walking distance to stores and other attractions.
The hotel has a nice place to relex in the pool with kids or in summertime on a deck facing the main street. Rooms with the kitchen are very helpful to deal with kids meals.
Andrew C,Chicago,IL

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Director of Sales at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate our guests’ reviews and I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    200
    106
    39
    27
See reviews for
139
245
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

In no particular order:
We stayed three nights (2 adults and 2 young children 4yrs/7yrs) and the first night we stayed in a loft suite with king size bed on top and pull out sofa on main floor by front door.
TV was on both levels.
Heating/cooling was impossible to get right. It was extremely hot. The loft had a ceiling fan which we kept on all night and we opened the loft window all the way. Mind you this is middle of December and it was cold, and we were hot inside!
The loft suite had a very steep set of spiral stairs, our kids were ok with it, but I cannot imagine a child any younger than 4 to not be monitored on the stairs.
The next two nights were in a kitchenette, with two separate rooms for the beds. A lot roomier. The kitchenette was really small, considering we had so much food in a cooler and a bin of dry goods, there wasn't much space for anything. The fridge was bigger than the first room had. There is NO OVEN, just the range, a microwave, and the sink and fridge. We could have really used a strainer, paper towels, and a spatula.
This room was also difficult to control the heating/cooling. The beds were very comfortable!
The bathrooms do not have a drying line for the bathing suits.
The two separate rooms (first night loft, second and third nights suite with kitchenette), the washrooms did not have a bathtub.
There is a continental breakfast from 7am-10am, but there was no milk and no cereal for out kids. No hot food, just toast/bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and juice and coffee. Thankfully we brought cereal and milk.
We had to leave our suitcase bags behind the front desk for the staff to bring to our new room after the first night, and we had to haul everything else back to the truck. We were told there was a storage room for everything, but it was more like a small closet.
The pool area was attractive, clean, and inviting. Although, it was as if the heat was turned on and blasting into the room and the change rooms. The hot tub was really hot and the pool was much, much cooler. There is a sauna room, but that door really needs some attention for repair. Every time it opened/closed it rubbed on the door jam and a incredibly loud and startling sound was created and echoed in the pool room. Annoying.
Bathrobes provided for use to and from pool, and that is a nice touch, seeing that every room has an outside door and you need to walk outdoors to get back to the front desk to get into the pool area.
The internet access was slow, no matter where we were in the building.
Parking is ground level under the building with outlets to plug in overnight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austrailia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

superb staff and every thing about this hotel was perfect, staff were excellent at there job
i would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were 4 travelers. We originaly had booked a 1 bedroom with a pull out sofa but realized it was very small. We went to the front desk and had it upgraded to a 2 bedroom with no problem and not for to much $. The 2 bedroom was SO MUCH bigger! The 2 rroms were at each end so we could not hear the noise in the other room. The room had only one tv in one room though. It had a little fridge, stove, any kitchen appliances you could need. Staff very friendly. Great location!!! We relaxed in the pool in the evening. Free parking. Great hotel, I recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We had a room with a kitchenette. The dishes and cutlery were underneath the countertops. Unfortunately our 14 month old toddler had full access to breakable glassware and sharp knives, so this room is not suitable for a small child. We had to change rooms the night we arrived as there was no heat in the one bedroom area. Only one TV, which was awkwardly placed in the room, and did not allow everyone to watch TV comfortably. Two TVs would have been better with the bedroom layout. The breakfast was great. The beds were comfy. The walls were thin. I would stay again, but not with a small child.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Our loft room was very cute and clean, but there had to have been a 20 degree difference between the main floor and the loft where the bed was. In order to make one level acceptable, the other was either too hot to sleep, or too cold to occupy.

The pool and hot tub were clean and nice, and the staff very pleasant and willing to please.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We booked the loft with the gondola package. The staff was wonderful, but we were disappointed in the room - small lower section to the suite, very bland decorating, but the biggest let down was that we had no view of the mountains from either level of the room. The location was RIGHT next door to another hotel. We would recommend, however, the gondola - that was wonderful! The hotel was nice, just not what we expected from the reviews and descriptions on a number of travel sites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.