We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Shannonville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Charlton's Cedar Court. The staff friendly and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was ok. Our room had a loft which was fine for us but perhaps some travellers would not appreciate the spiral stairs.
It has a good location also, only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. We also enjoyed the hot tub after walking and hiking all day. Overall we were very happy with our decision to stay at Charlton's Cedar Court.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if the room has a loft. Some travellers may not appreciate the spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Julie K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Charlton's Cedar Court.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and the bed comfortable.
The hot tub does come in very handy after a long day hiking!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Stephen Crossland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    211
    116
    43
    28
See reviews for
144
270
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibbons, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On the main avenue so it was easy to locate, great covered parking to keep out hot sun or bad weather. Staff were friendly and helpful when queried. About a four block walk to the centre of town for shopping and restaurants. Style of the room was not for us as it was a loft, the main floor has the sofa, closet, bathroom, dresser with a TV, bar fridge and no microwave. The upper floor had the king bed with two small dressers and also a TV. If you want a drink or snack from the fridge you had to go down the spiral stairs, same if you need to use the toilet. Hot tub was very nice, big enough for 8 people, the swimming pool was small but great for kids.

Room Tip: see the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear railcruiser1

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I apologize that the style of room did not fit your requirements on this occasion. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our large hot tub and pool as these are great for families.

Thank you for staying with us.


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a terrible experience in July 2014. After confirming with the hotel I got my Banff Gondola tickets mailed to the front desk, from Air Miles. The hotel misplaced my mail. At the hotel I was told they don't accept mail at the front desk. They were kind enough to give me vouchers to visit the Gondola. After my trip they asked for the reimbursement and went ahead and charged my cc without my authorization. I got them Proof of Purchase from Air Miles for the reimbursement. The place is undergoing renovations and is highly overpriced

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear SudeSingh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I must apologize firstly for the communication of the address from our side. We incorrectly gave you the street address to mail the tickets from Air Miles to Banff. We should have informed you that Banff does not have street delivery and given you our P.O. Box, for this I am sincerely sorry.

We did however work with you and gave you the tickets while we awaited confirmation from Airmiles and we were in constant contact with you over the past month via email trying to resolve the Air Miles missing tickets.

Once again I sincerely apologize that it took so long to resolve due to various factors.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very easy to find, close walking to downtown and Safeway. Loft with fireplace room was very nice and quiet. Huge walk-in shower. Plenty of room for two but hour a bed makes room for more. TV upstairs and down. Light in air unit above need was a bit bright if you like dark rooms for sleep. Clock radio very bright big numbers. I unplugged it for darkness sake. Staff v.v. friendly at desk and helpful. Nice pool, steam room. Fitness room and spa available at sister hotel, Delta, a block away at no extra charge. Overhang parking kept vehicle dry. Walk around town or take transit, parking on Banff is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Cool weather, get loft with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear RobertF,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our Loft King Suite and the huge walk-in shower. It was a pleasure to here that our staff were very friendly and helpful.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here after leaving other hotel in banff .Front desk staff very helpful found this place to be very clean .The rooms are clean and nice large bathrooms with large tubb and separate large shower .They include a continental breakfast with a lot if choices.Its a little further to walk downtown but is well worth it we will definitely be staying here again .We stay in banff a lot in a year and always have a park pass .Thanks for finding us a room on such a busy weekend when we wanted to stay a extra day but hotel we stated at wanted a lot more for extra night .Looking forward to Shen we come back there thanks again .

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Golferfarmer,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you found our hotel and we are very proud spacious clean deluxe rooms and that we were able to accommodate you during this busy time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and please continue to look on our hotel website for specials which we offer in Autumn, Winter and Spring.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked a Kitchenette Suite with one queen bed and two twin beds. We are a family with two parents and two teen-aged children. We arrived to find the suite to be extremely small and cramped. You practically fall over the bed when you open the door. The 'master' room had no door and no air conditioning. The bed was of poor quality and I felt every move my husband made all night. The room with the two twins had a door but this door opened directly onto the tiny dining room area. Literally onto ii. The door hit the chairs. The air conditiioning was right against one twin bed and was extremely noisy. I felt like the hotel website misrepresented this room. The front desk staff was very friendly but I would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lansdowne3

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations for your family. I am glad to hear that our staff were very friendly. Our Kitchenette Suites are usually in high demand as the Kitchenette Suite rooms have two distinct sleeping areas and separate individual television channels on either side. We have uploaded new photographs of our rooms recently to our website.

Again my sincere apologies that we were not able to live up to our usual standards on this occasion.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay for our first time in Banff. Great bunch of folks who welcomed us with gracious hospitality and helpfulness. Both Harley and Rosalie at the front desk were wonderful! However, the shining star is Ms. Gloria who greeted us every morning at breakfast with her sunshine smile, good coffee and food and all kinds of local information about visiting Banff. My husband and I miss her already! Breakfast is good with waffles, yogurt, juice and other goodies. Our room was really clean and quiet since the hotel is not directly downtown but only a beautiful ten minute walk to the center. My only complaint were the bed sheets need to have some softener added to them and this is a minor detail but could help anyone with sensitive skin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.