We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing loft suite, friendly staff, great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing loft suite, friendly staff, great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were very pleased to upgrade to Charlton's and had a wonderful stay in a gorgeous loft suite. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We have absolutely no complaints in regard to our stay. The king-bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was spotless. However, it wasn't until after we checked out that we ran into some complications.

Despite having paid in full upon check-in, we were not informed that the pre-authorisation for the ENTIRETY of our booking would not be "unfrozen" until check-out. Had we been advised of this we could have planned accordingly. Instead, we were left to assume that it had been removed upon check-in.

A tip for future travellers: Rather than the hotel having upwards of $1,000 on your credit card to play with, I would recommend that you wait until check-out to pay.

Despite this inconvenient hiccup, our stay was wonderful and I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The loft suites are a great pick and prices are very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Indeed we hold an authorization on your credit card at check in. This does not actually get released for 5-10 business days (depending on the country and the bank) after your departure. While this is usual hotel policy (every hotel I have worked at does this) it can be tough on those travelling to multiple locations. We will try harder to communicate this at check in to our guests. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    203
    108
    40
    27
See reviews for
140
253
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

second year we stayed at Charlton Cedar Court. The front staff very helpful and adam provided names of fantastic restaurants which we ate at. Brad, trainee, very nice too.
The downside this year was we were given the room with the faulty air conditioner which would run during the day intermittent and stop in the evening which meant not so comfortable sleeping conditions.room 231.They were prompt in trying to help fix it but this air conditoner was a monster. An email to the management of delta re this was entirely ignored. The breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: avoid room 231 unless you ask about the air conditioner otherwise its a nice room with a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank-you for your comments and for staying at Charltons 2 years in a row. We are sorry for the AC problem that occurred in your room. I just wanted to add a quick note to assure you and future guests that we have fixed our A/C problem in that room. We have also discussed how to better communicate internally when maintenance issues arise to be sure that proper follow up is in place.

Charlton Resorts owns and operates 2 hotels in town, so the "Delta" card you were given was for the GM for both of our hotels. We recently had some major changes in that role. Sorry that it took a while to filter through all the e-mails that came in during the transition. We have since replied to it separately.

I do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fantastic front desk, very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast (anyone who complains about it is ridiculous). Clean rooms, nice shower, comfortable bedding. Good pool area, well-kept. Only issue is that if you have loud people next to you, you can hear them through the wall of the upper part of the 2-floor rooms, where your bed is. I had to call the front desk because there was a loud kid running around and yelling and I was trying to sleep and the parents clearly let the kid do anything. Front desk took care of it right away.
About a 12 minute walk to town center which is fine in the summer. In -20c in winter, I would find something closer.

Room Tip: 230 is good because it's a corner so only one room is attached to yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank-you for your kind words. Our staff are always happy when guests are happy! Thank-you also for your patience with other guests. We are pretty fortunate to have very few issues for which the front desk cannot find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was older, but well taken care of and clean. The staff were really great, upon check in they gave us an overview of the area with dining recommendations and things to do along with a map.

The room was very comfortable, a little older and could use an update, but very nice. We had a room that had two bedrooms with a kitchen and bath in between, had everything we needed. Our air conditioner had a problem and the maintenance man was quick to fix it, he wanted an air conditioner person to look at it as well but couldn't reach them so brought us fans in case we needed them. The air worked fine after he fixed it, but it was nice they were so concerned about making us comfortable.

The pool and hottub were very nice after a long day of hiking.

It was a little further from the restaurants than some of the hotels, but only by 5 minutes (walking) and was a nice walk to the shops and restaurants.

It was so nice to have breakfast included. I hate wasting time going to a restaurant, ordering from a menu, waiting for food, then check at breakfast time. I want to get going to see things, so it was nice to have a litte buffet included. It was a bit busy, but the breakfast ladies were very nice and did a great job taking care of the area. They had some muffins, pastries, frozen waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, juices, coffee and I know I'm forgetting a couple things, but plenty for most anyone to find something.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nothing really bad to say about it EXCEPT the breakfast sucked! But other than that it was very pleasant, clean and spacious. We stayed in a loft with the spiral staircase. My bf and I both found it charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve...your feedback about the breakfast has been taken into our consideration for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in one of the loft units and found every aspect to be great. Lots of space, great bed, superb front desk staff - especially Rosalie. Liked the two patio areas. Breakfast was excellent and all the plates etc bio-degradeable. Excellent towels and robes, and so on.
Stayed at Charleton's some 40 years ago (or more!) and was delighted to find it still there, much changed but still excellent.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great - space and romance! (not for the mobility impaired!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Especially the ladies running the included continental breakfast, which was a pretty good spread. The room was quite nice! Pool was pretty good too. And really nice to have a/c!! The room was a bit pricey but was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.