We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fantastic front desk, very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast (anyone who complains about it is ridiculous). Clean rooms, nice shower, comfortable bedding. Good pool area, well-kept. Only issue is that if you have loud people next to you, you can hear them through the wall of the upper part of the 2-floor rooms, where your bed is. I had to call the front desk because there was a loud kid running around and yelling and I was trying to sleep and the parents clearly let the kid do anything. Front desk took care of it right away.
About a 12 minute walk to town center which is fine in the summer. In -20c in winter, I would find something closer.

Room Tip: 230 is good because it's a corner so only one room is attached to yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank-you for your kind words. Our staff are always happy when guests are happy! Thank-you also for your patience with other guests. We are pretty fortunate to have very few issues for which the front desk cannot find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    197
    104
    37
    27
See reviews for
137
241
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was older, but well taken care of and clean. The staff were really great, upon check in they gave us an overview of the area with dining recommendations and things to do along with a map.

The room was very comfortable, a little older and could use an update, but very nice. We had a room that had two bedrooms with a kitchen and bath in between, had everything we needed. Our air conditioner had a problem and the maintenance man was quick to fix it, he wanted an air conditioner person to look at it as well but couldn't reach them so brought us fans in case we needed them. The air worked fine after he fixed it, but it was nice they were so concerned about making us comfortable.

The pool and hottub were very nice after a long day of hiking.

It was a little further from the restaurants than some of the hotels, but only by 5 minutes (walking) and was a nice walk to the shops and restaurants.

It was so nice to have breakfast included. I hate wasting time going to a restaurant, ordering from a menu, waiting for food, then check at breakfast time. I want to get going to see things, so it was nice to have a litte buffet included. It was a bit busy, but the breakfast ladies were very nice and did a great job taking care of the area. They had some muffins, pastries, frozen waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, juices, coffee and I know I'm forgetting a couple things, but plenty for most anyone to find something.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nothing really bad to say about it EXCEPT the breakfast sucked! But other than that it was very pleasant, clean and spacious. We stayed in a loft with the spiral staircase. My bf and I both found it charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve...your feedback about the breakfast has been taken into our consideration for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in one of the loft units and found every aspect to be great. Lots of space, great bed, superb front desk staff - especially Rosalie. Liked the two patio areas. Breakfast was excellent and all the plates etc bio-degradeable. Excellent towels and robes, and so on.
Stayed at Charleton's some 40 years ago (or more!) and was delighted to find it still there, much changed but still excellent.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great - space and romance! (not for the mobility impaired!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Especially the ladies running the included continental breakfast, which was a pretty good spread. The room was quite nice! Pool was pretty good too. And really nice to have a/c!! The room was a bit pricey but was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is great, within walking distance to town, yet far enough to be away from the crowds. Room had a very useful fridge but sadly no full length mirror. Breakfast was ok, but there was loads of rubbish produced as everything is served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and throw away cups. I would have preferred they use proper crockery and cutlery. Also warm eggs would be better than cold hard boiled eggs. Milk next to the coffee station would also be better than us having to use 5 of those little tiny milk shots:) I was just aware of the loads of waste going out at the breakfast area as we are quite environmentally conscious. Other than that the rooms were comfortable and staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay, just the breakfast setup let it down a bit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was just a stop over for us, to break up the long drive a bit. It was nice and clean, friendly staff.
However we were only staying one night, but were rudely awoken at 6:50 am. Looking forward to sleeping in, but the phone in our room was ringing. When my husband answered it was a recording.Informing us of things to do while in Banff. The town is full of info if your looking for things to do. You dont need a phone call! I meant to bring this up to the staff when we were checking out, but I was still so tired I forgot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry for the early morning interruption. Thank-you your feedback and we hope you had a great time in Banff regardless of the incorrect wake up call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.