We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, great staff, pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, great staff, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Especially the ladies running the included continental breakfast, which was a pretty good spread. The room was quite nice! Pool was pretty good too. And really nice to have a/c!! The room was a bit pricey but was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    221
    120
    43
    28
See reviews for
151
277
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is great, within walking distance to town, yet far enough to be away from the crowds. Room had a very useful fridge but sadly no full length mirror. Breakfast was ok, but there was loads of rubbish produced as everything is served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and throw away cups. I would have preferred they use proper crockery and cutlery. Also warm eggs would be better than cold hard boiled eggs. Milk next to the coffee station would also be better than us having to use 5 of those little tiny milk shots:) I was just aware of the loads of waste going out at the breakfast area as we are quite environmentally conscious. Other than that the rooms were comfortable and staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay, just the breakfast setup let it down a bit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was just a stop over for us, to break up the long drive a bit. It was nice and clean, friendly staff.
However we were only staying one night, but were rudely awoken at 6:50 am. Looking forward to sleeping in, but the phone in our room was ringing. When my husband answered it was a recording.Informing us of things to do while in Banff. The town is full of info if your looking for things to do. You dont need a phone call! I meant to bring this up to the staff when we were checking out, but I was still so tired I forgot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry for the early morning interruption. Thank-you your feedback and we hope you had a great time in Banff regardless of the incorrect wake up call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel has a good location (only a 10-minute walk to the center of Banff), courteous staff, and clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Gloria in the breakfast room was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the two-story suite with the sitting area and bath on the first level and a spiral staircase leading to the bedroom on the second level. While the suite was comfortable, we did not like having to go up and down the stairs to dress or to use the bathroom. Otherwise, this was an establishment we'd stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Plenty of hotels down Banff ave. to choose from but the staff at this location was 4 stars. Had a problem with the 2 story suite, bedroom up a winding staircase and washroom only on 1st floor. After one nite we asked for a change and though very booked they made accommodations and gave us a 2 queen size room. Perfect, the room size, the bathroom and the cleanliness was immaculate.
The continental breakfast had no eggs but everything else was plentiful and the quality was definitely good. Gloria greeted us everyday with updates on the area along with other travel tips, she was a perfect representative for the hotel.

Room Tip: Skip the two story suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent one night there, had a kitchenette, with two separate bedrooms, which was lovely as we were traveling with our adult daughter. A 10 minute walk to downtown, which we did not mind at all, it was very clean and the complementary breakfast was just what we needed to start our day. Gloria who worked the breakfast went out of her way to make you feel welcome. We would definitely go back there again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We got one of the two story rooms with the staircase that led to the bed upstairs. The room wasn't very spacious, the bed wasn't the most comfortable, and the pillows prevented me from having a good sleep. I don't know if it was just my room, but the walls weren't so soundproof either as we could hear the family next door to us laughing and talking while we were trying to sleep. Breakfast was average. Location was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.