We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, exactly what we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, exactly what we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is great, within walking distance to town, yet far enough to be away from the crowds. Room had a very useful fridge but sadly no full length mirror. Breakfast was ok, but there was loads of rubbish produced as everything is served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and throw away cups. I would have preferred they use proper crockery and cutlery. Also warm eggs would be better than cold hard boiled eggs. Milk next to the coffee station would also be better than us having to use 5 of those little tiny milk shots:) I was just aware of the loads of waste going out at the breakfast area as we are quite environmentally conscious. Other than that the rooms were comfortable and staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay, just the breakfast setup let it down a bit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    197
    104
    37
    27
See reviews for
137
241
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was just a stop over for us, to break up the long drive a bit. It was nice and clean, friendly staff.
However we were only staying one night, but were rudely awoken at 6:50 am. Looking forward to sleeping in, but the phone in our room was ringing. When my husband answered it was a recording.Informing us of things to do while in Banff. The town is full of info if your looking for things to do. You dont need a phone call! I meant to bring this up to the staff when we were checking out, but I was still so tired I forgot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry for the early morning interruption. Thank-you your feedback and we hope you had a great time in Banff regardless of the incorrect wake up call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel has a good location (only a 10-minute walk to the center of Banff), courteous staff, and clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Gloria in the breakfast room was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the two-story suite with the sitting area and bath on the first level and a spiral staircase leading to the bedroom on the second level. While the suite was comfortable, we did not like having to go up and down the stairs to dress or to use the bathroom. Otherwise, this was an establishment we'd stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Plenty of hotels down Banff ave. to choose from but the staff at this location was 4 stars. Had a problem with the 2 story suite, bedroom up a winding staircase and washroom only on 1st floor. After one nite we asked for a change and though very booked they made accommodations and gave us a 2 queen size room. Perfect, the room size, the bathroom and the cleanliness was immaculate.
The continental breakfast had no eggs but everything else was plentiful and the quality was definitely good. Gloria greeted us everyday with updates on the area along with other travel tips, she was a perfect representative for the hotel.

Room Tip: Skip the two story suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent one night there, had a kitchenette, with two separate bedrooms, which was lovely as we were traveling with our adult daughter. A 10 minute walk to downtown, which we did not mind at all, it was very clean and the complementary breakfast was just what we needed to start our day. Gloria who worked the breakfast went out of her way to make you feel welcome. We would definitely go back there again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We got one of the two story rooms with the staircase that led to the bed upstairs. The room wasn't very spacious, the bed wasn't the most comfortable, and the pillows prevented me from having a good sleep. I don't know if it was just my room, but the walls weren't so soundproof either as we could hear the family next door to us laughing and talking while we were trying to sleep. Breakfast was average. Location was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just spent a few days here. Everything was clean, helpful and courteous staff. Had a kitchenette which was great. Would definately recommend. A 10 minute walk downtown...but hey, who couldn't use the exercise !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.