We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I appreciated the little touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I appreciated the little touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was a pretty good hotel relatively quiet for being on the main drag of the city. I appreciated that the housekeeping staff arranged and lined up all my personal toiletries for me. The room itself was uniquely designed in that there was a circular stair up to the loft area where the bed was. The surrounding area around the hotel was not as kept up as nice (beer bottles lying around). There could have been a lot of parties the night before that I didn't hear (which says a lot for the sleep quality). Please note that the restaurant in the sister Delta Inn is horrible (called the Royal Canadian Restaurant). We waited over an hour for dinner one night. Do not go there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments about Charlton's. It sounds like you were in one of our Loft units with a King bed upstairs and a fireplace in the sitting area. They really are unique and quite comfortable for couples.

I also want to apologize for your experience in the Evergreen Restaurant in our Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. We recently had an evening in the restaurant where many factors contributed to slow service and our customer service was not up to our standards. We have since made some major adjustments and are ready to wow our customers.

-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    218
    117
    43
    28
See reviews for
148
273
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Lovely loft king suite,double shower, well appointed ! No complaints at all !
Exterior : EEEKS ! Parking structure and outdoor walkways Dingy . Walk to town 12 min. fine with us. Very quiet . Staff very friendly, Breakfast Lady is a Gem !!! Breakfast was satisfying. Pool area needs some dressing up. Some updating work was in progress, lobby and front of property, so encouraged they will keep up the good work on improvements all around. Currently we would have hesitance to recommend the Charlton to friends due to the shoddy exterior spaces, but we would return.

Room Tip: King loft with windows to outside, not courtyard, for light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank-you for your review. We also feel like our guestrooms are an unexpected surprise when you arrive at them. That is why we are now focussing on our "curb appeal". While the outside walkways to our rooms will remain, we are working on a brighter lobby and welcoming landscaping to reflect the unique rooms we have to offer. Of course, it is hard to work on a building exterior in Banff in winter, so we have to get the work done when we can in spring. We expect the major changes to be complete within another couple weeks. (As of time of writing.) I hope you will indeed not "drive by" next time and come back to see the changes.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, May 7-10th, and had a very relaxing time. Even though construction was going on, we didn't let that bother us. The room was a good size, with windows you can open. Beds and bedding were very nice. The bathroom is nice and big with both a shower and big tub. They have a fridge, and a cute sitting area. The pool and hot tub were just what we needed and open to 11pm! The breakfast was perfect...coffee, juices, cereals, bread, fruit, eggs. The lady who handled the area kept it clean and she was very personable (sorry we did not get her name). No problems what so ever. Close to everything. And when checking out Harley, was very nice too to us. I can't say enough how good our stay was. I hesitate writing excellent reviews because it feels like I'm giving my secrets away hahaha jk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a great stay. It was very clean. The staff was friendly, especailly Gloria the breakfast lady. She was so sweet and very helpful. Only complaint was that they set the fridges to 5 (which they said was normal) and if froze everything I put in it. I like frozen bananas but only when I have chocolate to dip them in! I would reccommend a lower setting for the fridge :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to post your feedback. Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you had a great stay. I believe we have a true gem of a property here in Banff. We are striving to get it right for everyone who stays! We hope you will return to Charlton's next time you are in Banff.

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

When you go to Banff you expect a great experience not only for the beauty of the mountains but for the hotels, but Charlton's Cedar Court is far from it.
The rooms aren't as tidy as they are shown in the pictures nor as spacious, the carpets aren't clean and the cleanness of the room isn't at all good, we found a thong in the floor when we arrived,we complain in the front desk and sent someone but they just cover it with a towel and left it there.
The parking was full when we arrived from dinner at 10pm and we had to park on the street
We won't be staying in this hotel on our next visit to Banff that's for sure

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello Armando;

Your review has us quite concerned. We have tried to investigate the situation, but without more detail (your full name and stay date) we have not been able to truly follow up. Should you wish to speak with a manager directly, please contact us at 403-762-4485 and ask for the General Manager or Director of Sales. We'd like to be able to get some clarity on this very strange situation.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

needed to get away for a couple of days. the charlton was perfect quiet and clean. I recomend the loft rooms.close to everything but not to close that you have lots of traffic or noise. lots of restuarants to choose from right in the vicinity

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As far as cleanliness goes it's great... Until you realize that there's no bags in the garbage cans. I'm a woman, so I was throwing my used feminine products in cans with no bag. This is unsanitary. Yes, I could have asked for bags, but 3 out of 3 cans had no bag, if it was practice for them to use them, they would. Protect your staff better - HIV, AIDS, hepatitis A,B, and C to name a few. Blood is a biohazards material, how dirty are those cans? Won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Katrina;

I hope overall you had a great stay at Charlton's and a great visit to Banff. I believe you have made a valid point for all who read our reviews. I have worked at a number of hotels that do not line their garbage cans with a bag and some that do, so there is not one absolute way to deal with this situation in our industry. Our choice to not have the plastic bags is in an effort to reduce the waste that is created at our hotel. I appreciate your concern for our employees and I assure you they are trained to make health and safety a number one priority in doing their job. They are provided with gloves to perform their work. They are trained in how to deal with "biohazard" such as blood and used needles and are empowered to refuse any task if they feel we are asking them to compromise their safety.

Thank-you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.