We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“time away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

needed to get away for a couple of days. the charlton was perfect quiet and clean. I recomend the loft rooms.close to everything but not to close that you have lots of traffic or noise. lots of restuarants to choose from right in the vicinity

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    244
    130
    44
    33
See reviews for
170
308
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As far as cleanliness goes it's great... Until you realize that there's no bags in the garbage cans. I'm a woman, so I was throwing my used feminine products in cans with no bag. This is unsanitary. Yes, I could have asked for bags, but 3 out of 3 cans had no bag, if it was practice for them to use them, they would. Protect your staff better - HIV, AIDS, hepatitis A,B, and C to name a few. Blood is a biohazards material, how dirty are those cans? Won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Katrina;

I hope overall you had a great stay at Charlton's and a great visit to Banff. I believe you have made a valid point for all who read our reviews. I have worked at a number of hotels that do not line their garbage cans with a bag and some that do, so there is not one absolute way to deal with this situation in our industry. Our choice to not have the plastic bags is in an effort to reduce the waste that is created at our hotel. I appreciate your concern for our employees and I assure you they are trained to make health and safety a number one priority in doing their job. They are provided with gloves to perform their work. They are trained in how to deal with "biohazard" such as blood and used needles and are empowered to refuse any task if they feel we are asking them to compromise their safety.

Thank-you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April 22 2014
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Have experienced on more then one ocation staff members arguing with guessed. Also for the price you should be treated better and as a returning guessed I tried to make a reservation one time and rooms where booked for one year in advance this I find hard to believe I think next time my family and I go to Banff we will stay at a camp ground site. Rates are better and parking for Handi Cap people always available and also if you have bikes, Ski"s,, Snow Boards ECT ...... There is NO place to store this equipment at this Hotel. Thanks very much for your time we Love very much but still over priced!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a 2 week skiing trip and I was delighted with our choice. Adam, on the front desk was excellent at providing us with valuable information about sightseeing and was very happy to help make reservations at restaurants etc. He also had a lovely way with our small children who adored him. Gloria, who assisted with breakfast was so gentle and kind. This hotel is not plush or chic and does not have a restaurant or bar, but it makes up in its warmth and friendliness and is ideal for families who want to relax. The location is excellent for the shuttle service to the ski resorts and downtown Banff centre. The two room suite we requested had plenty of room and the kitchen/ diner was sufficient to allow us to cook, when required. The pool, hot tub and steam were great for relaxing after a hard days skiing and provided a good opportunity to meet other children/ families. We will think of the staff at this hotel as friends and be sure to return. Thank you for your excellent service, you deserve to be rated a 5 for customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was a little weary of booking this hotel, but Easter weekend didn't leave me with many options.
Our room was better than i expected. It was a fireplace loft with a cute spiral staircase.
In the photos there weren't any pictures of TV's, so we brought our laptop just in case.
There were TV's thank goodness, they even had an HDMI cable that we hooked the laptop up and watched some movies because there was noting on the selected channels. Everything seemed very clean, we didn't get a chance to go to the pool/hot tub/sauna, they looked a bit busy.
Front desk staff were very helpful and efficient, only one negative, we had asked for a late checkout the night before and i guess that it wasn't relayed to the morning staff and we had a bit of a rude awakening with the very loud phone. Other than that one thing everything was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived here on our third day of our Rockies tour and my wife's suitcase still hasn't arrived. The staff chased up the missing luggage with the airline and kept us up to date with what was happening. Amazing service! The pool and jacuzzi are a great facility and the loft suite was a nice touch. 10 minute walk to centre of Banff but free parking is widely available if you have to drive. Breakfast was continental in style with self service but was sufficient. Good wifi and free hotel parking are a nice bonus. We would definitely recommend Charltons Cedar Court to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had the best experience at this hotel. Their reservation manager was wonderful and could not have been more patient and helpful.
The rooms are clean and the amanities are nice.
The pool area is attractive
I would highly recommended this venue and we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.