We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I'd call value for money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I'd call value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in September. This is a Motel that outrageously has the temerity to call itself a Hotel - never in a month of Sundays is this a hotel and not what I'd call value for money. The first room allocated to us was situated next to the air conditioning plant, the noise from which was persistently intrusive. However, when I mentioned it to reception the next morning they did move us to a quieter location - so thank goodness for common sense. The hotel is a fairly old timber framed building with very little by way of sound proofing and therefore noise transmission is a problem between rooms and external walkways only exacerbate the situation. Upon booking we were given to understand that breakfast was provided in the price. This turned out to be one of those "help yourself" to a most unimaginative assortment of cereals, yogurts, toast, and boiled eggs in a characterless room were the guests were uncommunicative, and to cap it all the coffee was self service in paper cups. If the hotel's plan was to achieve a swift throughput it certainly met its objective as nobody hung about for long. The so called swimming pool was a bit on the small side and generally the changing facilities were dated. Now for the good points, the car parking is on site and free, and for the spritely it's only a 15/20 minute walk to downtown Banff. Banff is an absolutely wonderful place - shame about this place.

Room Tip: Have look somewhere else first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    244
    129
    44
    33
See reviews for
169
308
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful room, great location, excellent service, close to everything. What more can I say
Are you kidding me I have to put in 200 characters. I'm a gal of few words. Give me a break. bla bla bla bla bla. Am I there yet?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
564 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrival 4 - located on the Main Street through Banff and easy to find off Hwy 1. Plenty of free parking. Very friendly and efficient check in. The man on reception was very helpful with ideas of the priorities to see in Banff.

Room 3.5 - a duplex apartment -

Downstairs 3 - gas fire, aircon, tea/coffee maker, fridge. Sofa and wardrobe. Iron plus board, hair dryer, small fridge. Good size tv. All fine, but rather dark and there was a musty of odour.

Upstairs 4 - access is via a spiral staircase. Light and spacious. King bed with very comfy mattress and nice pillows. Another good size tv. We slept well.

Having no balcony was a downside for us, as the views of the mountains surrounding the town are excellent.

Bathroom 3 - ok with good size shower. You had to have very long arms to reach the loo paper when on the loo!!

Breakfast 3 - fair selection of cereals, fruit and bread. Nice coffee. Quite basic, but enough to get you started for the day and it is complementary.

Overall 3 - perhaps 3.5. Nothing wrong with the hotel. We loved Banff. The views are stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Charlton's Cedar Court September 7-10, 2013. It was a great place to stay. It was very clean and up-to-date. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was very good every morning. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a reasonable place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We had a standard king room, but it was a great size and had an excellent bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate bath. You don't often get that in a standard room. Bed was very comfortable. We had a room on the ground floor at the back, which was nice and quiet away from the hustle & bustle of Banff Ave. Very passable continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Banff.

Room Tip: Nice and quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I would have given this hotel a 4 star rating if it were not for those paper thin walls! It was like we were right there in the room with the people next door, made it impossible to sleep (oh p.s., we stayed in a King size loft suite.) The hotel room was clean though the carpets were badly, badly stained. The bathroom was decent, no tub, but for us that was okay. Liked the spiral stair case, but be careful at night because the bed is upstairs and the bathroom is down! Fireplace was nice, air conditioning worked great. I would personally not want to stay at this hotel in the winter season because you have to walk through outside corridors to get anywhere. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were greeted on a late evening arrival by friendly hotel personnel willing to help us not only check in but also get a sense of the area, answer our questions regarding food and drink and also describe activities available to us. That is a lot to provide after 11PM. No worries! We found the room to be clean and comfortable, and the reservations as requested. We think we got the last room in the establishment, since the car port was full (we found the last parking space). The hotel is located a few blocks from the downtown and so quieter but near enough for an evening stroll to the activity center. We had a wonderful time in Banff, and the hotel staff contributed to it in no small way. Our car battery ran down, and we got a jump, no problem. We needed to get a package delivered, no problem. Etc. Decor is sort of "faded" English/Canadian and comfortable. Nice without being luxurious. A great big bathroom with both tub and shower. We liked the refrigerator in the room. When we return, we'll look to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.