We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in a family room with kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The kids really enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We enjoyed that we were close enough to walk to everything that Banff had to offer. The room included breakfast which was the only negative. The kids liked Eggos but the remainder of the breakfast was lacking any passion. I could not imagine eating another day there, which is notable as I am very frugal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    188
    98
    37
    26
See reviews for
134
233
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love this hotel, the staff is excellent, the pool, hot tub and steam room were wonderful. The room was spacious and the beds were great. We never heard our neighbors and the hotel was sold out. We loved being able to walk downtown. They serve a decent breakfast of cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, breads, and coffee/juice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here in May and can't rate it highly enough. The room was huge and had two queen sized beds with the thickest mattresses i have ever seen. They do seem to be the norm in Canada but these were exceptional. Very large bathroom with huge shower and the room also had a large hall with lots of storage space for our cases and we had 4 as we were on a long holiday. The buffet breakfast was very good with fresh stuff being put out all the time. There was also a swimming pool and jacuzzi on the ground floor which was heaven last thing at night as i had it all to myself and a wonderful view outside with the fairy lights on all of the trees. The hotel was situated on the main through street in Banff and so was perfect for shopping and eating out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank-you for letting the Trip Advisor community how much you enjoyed your stay. You are describing our Deluxe rooms with 2 queen beds. Those particular rooms were renovated a coupel years ago to offer the large bathroom. All of our room categories boast those comfy pillow top matresses. We hope to see you again in Banff !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardston, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very happy with our stay in Banff. The hotel was nice with friendly and efficient staff. My kids had a really fun time in the pool. We were glad we had air conditioning and a continental breakfast included - something not in every hotel in Banff. We really liked the location and it was nice to be able to have no hassle parking right under the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my first negative review of a hotel. I booked three rooms at this hotel for three nights during a wedding. First off I requested a king bed and was given a queen, I was checked in late at 5pm with no refund, the lock on my door was broken the whole time, and the hotel staff are rude. The rooms are outdated and dingy, no views from the inside rooms, the breakfast is not very good, and the rooms have very little privacy in terms of noise. I have stayed in Banff many times and would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest;
Your opinion is strong and we are aware of your situation as Hotel Management.

We know that your stay was off to a bad start when you did not get the bed type you preferred. For the sake of potential guests it is important to mention that the booking was made on a "discount price/mystery hotel" site. The booking policy on the site states that "The room will sleep the number of guests, bed bed types and sizes aren't guaranteed." We absolutely try to accomodate any special requests that come in with the booking but we cannot guarantee that they will be met. This style of reservation can be very appropriate for some travellers, and we work to try to keep all information on all booking sites as accurate as possible. Where travellers have specific needs, however, the best way to know what you are getting is by booking with the hotel directly.

It is unfortunate that you did not have agood stay with us. We hope that overall you did enjoy your stay in Banff and will continue to visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So this will be my first negative review - ever! My boyfriend and I came to Banff to celebrate our anniversary and see a musician (yay!). This is a brief explanation of why our stay was unpleasant:
The bathroom light was broken (only stayed on for 2-10 min). We were showering, going to the washroom, brushing our teeth, getting ready in the dark or constantly turning the light back on.The hotel sent maintenance men in & out of our room for the next 2 hrs - very romantic! We didn't feel comfortable leaving our valuables with 2 strangers and ended up being late for the show. I also opted to use the hotel bathroom since ours had men in it.
We understand things go wrong, but we expect compensation and a little understanding from the hotel - which did NOT happen. The hotel said they would call me monday, I had no voicemails/missed calls. I called again tuesday. The woman I spoke to apologized; unfortunately, with a message it was our own fault. I.E. it was our "personal choice" to stay in the room due to being uncomfortable and that others don't feel uneasy in that situation. That "how else is something going to get fixed if we don't send maintenance people", like I said, we understand that but we didn't pay $200 to share our anniversary with maintenance men and be in a blacked out bathroom. Move us to another room maybe. Most importantly, we just expect a professional response. After two heated discussions with the manager we finally got a SMALL discount *face palm....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Management is aware of your situation and you have expressed your disappointment clearly.

We take great pride in having our rooms ready for the guest, but sometimes maintenance issues arise and we try to address them as quickly as we can. I would like to assure you and all future guests that our room maintenace team has been with us for many years and having them work in occupied rooms when the guests are away is not a cause for concern.

We know that you will choose a different hotel for your future stays in Banff. However, we urge those researching the hotel to read through a number of reviews before basing their decision on this one review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were vacationing in the Banff area for the first time. Our expections for a wonderful stay were accomplished by staying at Charlton's Cedar Court. We were there on a Canadian "long weekend" so the hotel and town were full of traffic and people, but the location was great, easy to walk to town or any restaurant. Our room was a loft and we enjoyed it. The window view was over the courtyard and was nice. I noticed some rooms had a less desirable view, so perhaps be careful of which room you book. Moving our suitcases up the spiral staircase was slow going, but managable. Parking is tight for larger vehicles, but also managable. Breakfast was fine, but not a lot of room. Overall, we'd stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.