We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel! Stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 10 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Hotel! Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my first negative review of a hotel. I booked three rooms at this hotel for three nights during a wedding. First off I requested a king bed and was given a queen, I was checked in late at 5pm with no refund, the lock on my door was broken the whole time, and the hotel staff are rude. The rooms are outdated and dingy, no views from the inside rooms, the breakfast is not very good, and the rooms have very little privacy in terms of noise. I have stayed in Banff many times and would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest;
Your opinion is strong and we are aware of your situation as Hotel Management.

We know that your stay was off to a bad start when you did not get the bed type you preferred. For the sake of potential guests it is important to mention that the booking was made on a "discount price/mystery hotel" site. The booking policy on the site states that "The room will sleep the number of guests, bed bed types and sizes aren't guaranteed." We absolutely try to accomodate any special requests that come in with the booking but we cannot guarantee that they will be met. This style of reservation can be very appropriate for some travellers, and we work to try to keep all information on all booking sites as accurate as possible. Where travellers have specific needs, however, the best way to know what you are getting is by booking with the hotel directly.

It is unfortunate that you did not have agood stay with us. We hope that overall you did enjoy your stay in Banff and will continue to visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    175
    92
    34
    25
See reviews for
124
212
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So this will be my first negative review - ever! My boyfriend and I came to Banff to celebrate our anniversary and see a musician (yay!). This is a brief explanation of why our stay was unpleasant:
The bathroom light was broken (only stayed on for 2-10 min). We were showering, going to the washroom, brushing our teeth, getting ready in the dark or constantly turning the light back on.The hotel sent maintenance men in & out of our room for the next 2 hrs - very romantic! We didn't feel comfortable leaving our valuables with 2 strangers and ended up being late for the show. I also opted to use the hotel bathroom since ours had men in it.
We understand things go wrong, but we expect compensation and a little understanding from the hotel - which did NOT happen. The hotel said they would call me monday, I had no voicemails/missed calls. I called again tuesday. The woman I spoke to apologized; unfortunately, with a message it was our own fault. I.E. it was our "personal choice" to stay in the room due to being uncomfortable and that others don't feel uneasy in that situation. That "how else is something going to get fixed if we don't send maintenance people", like I said, we understand that but we didn't pay $200 to share our anniversary with maintenance men and be in a blacked out bathroom. Move us to another room maybe. Most importantly, we just expect a professional response. After two heated discussions with the manager we finally got a SMALL discount *face palm....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Management is aware of your situation and you have expressed your disappointment clearly.

We take great pride in having our rooms ready for the guest, but sometimes maintenance issues arise and we try to address them as quickly as we can. I would like to assure you and all future guests that our room maintenace team has been with us for many years and having them work in occupied rooms when the guests are away is not a cause for concern.

We know that you will choose a different hotel for your future stays in Banff. However, we urge those researching the hotel to read through a number of reviews before basing their decision on this one review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were vacationing in the Banff area for the first time. Our expections for a wonderful stay were accomplished by staying at Charlton's Cedar Court. We were there on a Canadian "long weekend" so the hotel and town were full of traffic and people, but the location was great, easy to walk to town or any restaurant. Our room was a loft and we enjoyed it. The window view was over the courtyard and was nice. I noticed some rooms had a less desirable view, so perhaps be careful of which room you book. Moving our suitcases up the spiral staircase was slow going, but managable. Parking is tight for larger vehicles, but also managable. Breakfast was fine, but not a lot of room. Overall, we'd stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a second time on our anniversary and it was a fantastic experience. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The location is a short walk from downtown, which made for a quiet weekend. Overall, a great experience. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Despite some negative reviews, we booked a room here for a week and were very happy with our choice. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. It was well furnished, beds comfortable and the bathroom with a walk-in shower was very spacious. Everything was kept absolutely spotless. We also found the pricing very reasonable for the quality. The breakfast is a nice extra that makes life easier, as you are ready to hit the trails by 7 am - way before most people. The hotel is conveniently located about a 10 min walk from the heart (and hustle) of Banff town. I don't know about the other rooms in the hotel, but the deluxe room met all our expectations. The only downside is that the room was a bit dark and did get pretty hot - but the airco worked just fine. Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room on the second floor - better view and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you really made the most of a vacation in Banff. With our unique categories of rooms and a light continental breakfast, we think that this is as you said an excellent "base". Thank-you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel was comfortable and quiet. The layout of the room with the bed in a loft at a higher level connected by a circular staircase to the lower level was awkward. The air conditioning was located on the first level and the cold air did not rise to the second floor so the bedroom level was was always to hot and the lower level was too cold. The complimentary breakfasr was nice. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from downtown Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is all on one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in Banff in July. It wasn't overly hot but warm. We stayed at this hotel for one night. The location is a bit far from town if you are planning to walk (20 - 25 minutes) but it is in a quiet location. Our loft room was clean and ready before the check in time of 4. On the ground floor of the room is the sitting area with a long dresser and a T.V., the bathroom with just a shower is also on this floor as is the air conditioner. There is a set of open spiral stairs that leads up to the sleeping area and you can feel the heat building as soon as you hit stair 6 (there are 12). There is a ceiling fan but it is high up and does little to cool you. My husband did open a window but this did little to cool off the room. The king bed is comfortable and we did manage to sleep with just a sheet on. There is also a T.V. upstairs. I'm not sure I would stay in the summer again, unless I brought my own fan but I think it would be nice in the winter. The stairs can be tricky to navigate during a middle of the night bathroom trip. Can't comment on the free breakfast as we did not eat here. Looked like your typical continental breakfast, toast, bagels, cereals, juice and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list