We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...Rooms look nothing like the pictures” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Boise, ID
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average...Rooms look nothing like the pictures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The place was about average. It's a bit further walking distance from some other hotels closer to the middle of town. The rooms look nothing like the pictures. We were told upon check-in that we were upgraded to a different room. It was nice because we were able to have a mini kitchenette (with a washcloth stuck underneath the high top table to keep it balanced), but the kitchenette was in the same space as the sink for the bathroom and therefore really close to the semi clean bathroom. Not only that, this space separated the room with the queen bed from the room with two twin beds. My daughter is a toddler, so being in separate rooms from her was a bit uneasy. In addition, each of the bedrooms had their own entrance doors. I had my husband prop a chair in front of her door to the outside for added security at night (as the hotel doesn't have any staff present between 11pm and 7am). The TV was also in the room with the twin beds (not convenient for parents to watch). The breakfast was sufficient, not anything over the top. Cereal, pastries, juice, yogurt, canned fruits (peaches and pears), and bread or waffles to toast. Overall it was average, not anything spectacular, but a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    203
    108
    40
    27
See reviews for
140
253
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose to ignore the negative reviews on tripadvisor and booked a room for two nights. George and Dimple were working at the registration desk when we arrived. We could not have been more pleased with the service we received! They bent over backwards to assign us to a room that had good internet reception when they found out we had four devices requiring passwords. Later, George gave us recommendations on places to go for dinner. At check out, Dimple inquired about our stay and wished us a safe trip to Jasper.

We were assigned room 112. The room looks exactly like the pictures on the website. It opens out into the covered parking deck making loading and unloading convenient and you stay dry when it is raining! You enter the room into a small foyer area with a large closet. The room has a sofa, dresser with ample storage space, bathroom with granite counter top, good size shower and a soaking tub, mini fridge - no microwave. The queen bed was very comfortable with nice linens. Towels were large and fluffy. You would think the room would be noisy because of the parking deck - not so! We never heard noise from outside or either side of us. Location is perfect for an easy walk to the downtown area.

Breakfast is typical continental nothing special. Boiled eggs are available. No microwave.

The price of the room was very reasonable considering other options in Banff. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the five star review! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your accommodation in one of our Deluxe Rooms! I have already passed along your great comments to the Front Desk Manager who will ensure they are given to the agents as well. Since access to a microwave is important to you I would recommend booking a Kitchenette Suite next time as they offer an efficiency kitchenette which includes a microwave. Thank you again for the fantastic feedback and I hope you enjoyed your time in Jasper!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went away for a romantic weekend and we couldn't have asked for a better resort! As soon as we arrived we were immediately helped with a friendly front desk and sent off to a room that was better than what we initially reserved! Two floors with a spiral staircase and fireplace, it was fantastic! Later on we went down to the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Unfortunately the sauna wasn't working during our stay but we had the pool and hot tub entirely to ourselves. The resort was fairly close to town, only a 10 minute walk away which was fine. But the costumer service was fanastic! Ready to give advice, answer questions and fulfil requests! Overall, i'm looking forward to booking another getaway there! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a more affordable resort!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review!! I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that our staff provided the excellent service you deserve! I apologize that the steam room was not available during your stay however I am happy that you enjoyed our pool facilities regardless. I have shared your feedback with the staff and we all look forward to having you back at our hotel during your next visit to Banff!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nothing special, but clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable, but we had a loft suite and even with the air conditioner on the bedroom was too warm...and we were there on a cool day.
Not much around and a bit of walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay in Banff. I am glad you found the cleanliness of our hotel to your liking and I am sorry that your guestroom did not meet your expectations. At this time we do offer additional floor fans upon request to assist with airflow however the Owners are investigating a permanent solution so temperature will be better controlled in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a lovely weekend getaway and that is exactly what we got.

We stayed in a loft room, it was clean and very cute. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Continental breakfast was great and was served for a decent amount of time (7-10).
It was a 10 minute walk to downtown Banff with an excellent selection of restaurants and pubs within walking distance.
We booked online with a hot springs package and we received exactly what was specified online.

All in all very satisfied with this hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in a Loft Suite and received excellent service from our staff! I hope you had a good time at the Banff Upper Hot Springs during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Banff is an extremely pricey town, so at $250+ per night, we got a room with kitchenette, and two queen beds. not too roomy, but enough for our family of four.
the positives: hotel location is very good, close to downtown banff.
negatives: kitchenette suites, though expensive, have no mountain views. the rooms are dark and stuff.
we got a $50 voucher for their restaurant, the evergreen, and two adult passes to the hot springs.
clean rooms and beds.
nice swimming pool and hot tub.

negatives: kichenette is equipped with old, outdated utensils and appliances.
room cleaning was altogether skipped one day. we had to complain twice, and finally our room was cleaned at night.
the following day and all days after that, the person who cleaned our room did not touch the couple of dishes we had in our sink. we had ONE rinsed pan in our sink one day, and they did not have the courtesy to wash it up.
there was no dishwasher, so we rinsed our dishes everyday, but no one even touched the washing up.
breakfast was complimentary, but very minimal. no hot chocolate pouches for the kids, only canned fruit, cold hard-boiled eggs.
the reception staff was nice enough, but overall, service was impersonal, especially at breakfast.we were there four nights,
recommended for families, but dont expect them to go out of the way to accommodate your kids' needs.

Room Tip: ask for a room with mountain views. the interior room we got was stuffy and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room that we got was not the one that I have booked. I talked to the lady at the reception and she said that I shold have mentioned that I wanted to have the same room that was displayed at their website when I booked online. Furthermore, she said that she couldnt offer us a better room because the hotel was booked out. However, we did not get a discount. In addition to that the price I for the breakfast is in my opinion too high- 22 dollars per person.
The room was also located near the stairs so we woke up by other people all the time, who used the stairs.
To sum it up, I would not recommand anyone to stay at this place. I have booked tis hotel because I hoped it is going to be a very good one. However, the accomodation of the room was old and by far not the one that was shown at the website. Totally disappointing.

Room Tip: Take another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.