We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Jerusalem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 1 week here and enjoyed it thoroughly. Nice setting, at the end of the main street, so within a comfortable walk to all shops. Staff was very accommodating, polite, helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was basic - coffee, toast, hard eggs, juice and diced fresh fruit that most likely was packaged (not tasty). Coffee is available in the lobby at all times. The fireplace in the lobby was a nice feature. The beds were most comfortable, ample pillows(4) on each of our queen size beds, and warm comforters.
It's a welcoming place.

Room Tip: We requested and received a walk-in shower. We do not like a shower curtain. Ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We appreciate your feedback regarding our continental breakfast and I am pleased to inform you that we now offer a larger selection of items including cereal and fresh baked goods. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    197
    104
    37
    27
See reviews for
137
241
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Charlton Cedar Court in May, 2013. We stayed in a loft room. Our stay was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, continental breakfast were very good. It is about a 10 min walk to the downtown area, but is a beautiful walk. Lots of restaurants close by. We will be staying here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am so pleased to hear that your received the quality stay that our guests deserve while. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff, your room and our continental breakfast. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to having you back to our hotel!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

So here it is, it was terrible! To be fair it was not the staff, loft room or location of this hotel that made it terrible, it was the misfortune to have our stay be ruined by the loud voices and other noises from a couple in an adjoining room. The walls are super thin, they might as well been in the same room as us. Calling security at 3 AM to alert them to this disturbance, they came around and could not hear or locate the room causing this disturbance. By this time we had already conceded and packed and left this property. I contacted the hotel later that same morning and they apologized and did not charge us for the room, there was no debate, just an apology and that was good. They also gave us reduced rates for another stay at the Delta Banff Lodge, their sister property, which we appreciate and will take them up on. I will say the staff was very courteous at check in, there was a minor billing error as they posted someone else's payment on our room account, but did correct. The loft room was spacious for 2, four would find it tight in this room. The bathroom was very clean with good quality towels and amenities. The king bed was firm and had good quality sheets. There were two flat screen t.v.'s, 30 " i think. Lighting in the room is good. Had A/C and a ceiling fan. Room was in good condition, walls very clean and no damage, furniture was a bit tired, but was clean in appearance and rug was clean and in good condition. Note the stairs leading the loft are a spiral stair case and very narrow, a large person or elderly would find some difficulty on these. I would however not stay here again and will book newer and better star rated accommodations in this town for future visits. Oh yes, the clerk did say the GM was sending me a follow up email, but it has now been 48 hours and nothing as yet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in the 2 queen kitchenette suite. The furniture was old and stained and we didn't want to sit down because God only knows why the chairs are so stained. The sheets were stained. And the room was extremely hot - there was only one air conditioner in one of the bedrooms so the other guest was extremely uncomfortable. And although this hotel is affiliated with Delta, the staff wear nametags with the Delta logo on it, and you're given vouchers for the restaurant at the Delta, this isn't a property that will honour Delta gift cards. The only reason we booked this hotel is because it was listed as a Delta property in Banff according to online searches. Truly disappointing trip and a dirty, grubby property.

Room Tip: Pay an extra $50 and stay somewhere nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Director of Sales at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post this valuable feedback. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

For yourself and for other potential guests, we want to clarify that Charlton Cedar Court is not a Delta property. Our company owns a number of hotels in Banff that include the Cedar Court and The Delta Banff, therefore we will refer guests from one property to enjoy the restaurant at the other. However, we make every effort in our marketing to reflect that they are 2 very different properties with different star ratings. If you have found other information on a website that says something else, please contact our hotel so that we can follow up in an apropriate manner.

That said, we absolutely strive to offer cleanliness and comfort in all of our guest rooms and this matter has been put forwaed to our Housekeeping and Maintenance team to ensure they are meeting our expectations. Thank-you again for voicing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the loft rooms when we visited here in June 2012. The main area you walked into was very small and old looking. There was a narrow winding staircase which lead upstairs to the bedroom (which was fun for our 3 year old son). The bedroom upstairs was actually very roomy and bright; it even seemed to be updated. The pool area looked like it could use some updating but it was still clean and fun. Over all it was a nice, clean place to stay if you don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Cedar Court, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us last June. It is reviews like yours that allow us the opportunity to improve our facilities and increase guest satisfaction. We hope to have the opportunity of having you back to our hotel during your next visit to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than I expected. Room sizes were good. Large bathroom. Comfortable beds.

Was hard to regulate the temperature in the room. Heat was way down and still had to sleep with the window open.

Breakfast was very minimal. Not even cereal. That could be improved.

Otherwise very good room for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been staying at this property for over 8 years now. When ever we pass through Banff it is our frist choice, and never disapoints us. The room clean and spacious, as well the staff helpfull and polite. The walk along the outside pedways to the pool, hot tub and sauna area can be cool in the winter but is soon forgotten once back inside this great facility. The aid of a supplied robe from the room is a nice touch. We have recommended this property to our family and friends. Our only complant when the property is booked and we need to stay elsewhere. We have stayed in a room with the loft and found the loft quite warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.