We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another ski trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been staying at this property for over 8 years now. When ever we pass through Banff it is our frist choice, and never disapoints us. The room clean and spacious, as well the staff helpfull and polite. The walk along the outside pedways to the pool, hot tub and sauna area can be cool in the winter but is soon forgotten once back inside this great facility. The aid of a supplied robe from the room is a nice touch. We have recommended this property to our family and friends. Our only complant when the property is booked and we need to stay elsewhere. We have stayed in a room with the loft and found the loft quite warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    207
    109
    41
    27
See reviews for
141
259
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We did not sleep the first night. Service was amazing. Hotel very clean but we got the loft and we could not sleep at all it was so hot from the fireplace. Which sucked because I got these accommodations because they had a fire place. Second night was even worse we slept with the door open to seek comfort Hotel room was way to hot. It's kinda annoying when you spend so much to have a great time to be so disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Justed stayed for one night as just passing through Banff and picked it off the internet not knowing what to expect. The room was beautiful with a large bedroom on a mezzanine and sitting area with a fireplace below - very comfortable. No bar or restaurant but it is in easy walking distance of town centre and it's sister hotel where you can use all it's facilities and charge them to your room. Complimentary continental breakfast that was very good as was the pool and hot tub. Will return next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay at this quaint, very clean, quiet hotel. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Our loft room was fresh and clean included a king bed and fireplace! Be sure to ask about regulating the heat as it is a loft...We had dinner at the Evergreen down the road, a few minutes walk, It was one of the best meals my fiance and I had ever eaten out! It was all I could do to keep myself from licking the plate spotless! I would not think twice about booking this hotel and eating at the Evergreen! Top notch dining, be prepared to spend some money for excellent cuisine!

Room Tip: The loft room near the centerof the hotel were quiet, be sure to see about the heat before you settl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were glad to find Charlton's for our recent ski trip to Banff with two exchange students. We needed a unit providing some privacy for my husband and I...and the family unit worked well. We had a partially private bedroom with queen bed, and the two boys had twin beds in a private bedroom with a small kitchen/eating area and bathroom between the two rooms. The unit was in great repair - looked like it had been fairly recently renovated. Great large walk-in shower. The ony improvement I could suggest to the room is to have a door on both the bedrooms to provide complete privacy.

The price couldn't be beat in usually pricey Banff - it included a very nice breakfast bar with a very helpful attendant, and a welcome package with a half bottle of wine and chocolates (part of a Spring Special). Also included was a $30 credit for the Evergreen Restaurant at their sister property - this was the only disappointment of the stay - the restaurant was quite pricey, but the food didn't stand up to the complexity of the menu or the prices.

Also appreciated finding a pet free hotel as I develop asthama when exposed to cats & dogs. I find it frustrating that so many hotels are becoming "pet friendly" with no rooms set aside as "pet free" for those of us with allergies! Seems like the pet owners receive priority over those of us with a medical condition we cannot control.

Overall a pleasant stay. We usually stay in a condo unit in Canmore, but found this to be a good alternative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Kitchennette suite. We liked that our girls each got their own beds, the pool area was nice & not busy! Breakfast was fine...not a lot of choice on the 3rd day (which was Tuesday) maybe because hotel was less busy then? Room got very hot at night, had to sleep with windows open. Good location - walking distance to main street & many restaurants. Only downside was our daughter's wallet going missing (stolen??) from our room, no idea what happened possibly someone slipped in when housekeeping was cleaning our room...in the process of searching the room for the wallet we found a bottle under the bed, used kleenex under the dresser, underwear under the mattress, dust bunnies in the corners... we thought the room was clean until doing a search of it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in king loft room. The staff was excellent, very friendly and professional. The continental breakfast was lovely, tasty and great that it lasted til 10:00am. Unfortunately, the heater in our room was exceptionally loud, it kept us awake at night. When we asked to be moved to another quieter room, we were told that all rooms were like that. They did have other available rooms, and we were very disappointed that they wouldn't move us even though we were unhappy with our room. I would not go back for those two reasons.

Room Tip: The loft room has the bed upstairs and it gets very warm due to heat rising. We had to keep the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.