We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heater in room was way too loud and prevented sleep!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heater in room was way too loud and prevented sleep!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in king loft room. The staff was excellent, very friendly and professional. The continental breakfast was lovely, tasty and great that it lasted til 10:00am. Unfortunately, the heater in our room was exceptionally loud, it kept us awake at night. When we asked to be moved to another quieter room, we were told that all rooms were like that. They did have other available rooms, and we were very disappointed that they wouldn't move us even though we were unhappy with our room. I would not go back for those two reasons.

Room Tip: The loft room has the bed upstairs and it gets very warm due to heat rising. We had to keep the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    175
    92
    34
    25
See reviews for
124
212
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel staff was so helpful and pleasant in accommodating a change in our plans. We were delighted that the room actually looked like the photo on the website and the heated floor in the bathroom was awesome. All in all, we found the Cedar Spring package made an excellent spring break trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the loft king room, it was very nice. The spiral staircase and the gas fireplace topped it all off. We went in the busy season, and still had a great room for a very reasonable price. It's walking distance to a lot of nice restaraunts and downtown! Very happy with my experience. The only issue was that the upper half of the room got very hot if the heat was on or the fireplace on too long, but that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the outside or all you view is other rooms and the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the loft suite. The room was very nice and comfortable but when we arrived the room was very cold. It had a cozy atmosphere and the bed was great to sleep in. The location is very close to the where the little shops are. If the weather was better we certainly would have walked but it is was only a couple minute drive. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hello

The room was nice but we did notice a 'smell' of old sweat as we sat in the lower part of the room watching TV. Smell likely came from the sofa. Needs to be cleaned more often.

Otherwise the rest of the room was a 4/5.

Gil

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangudo, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel. Staff is very friendly and service was excellent. We had the loft suite and if we kept the heat off and window open upstairs, it was comfortable sleeping, otherwise it was just too hot. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was super. Great variety and tasty. Above average for continental

Room Tip: Choose a regular suite as the loft suites can get hot and stairs are steep for old people or small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Charlton's Cedar Court through Living Social coupon. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but definitely showing it's age. Loft room with fireplace is very cute, however the upstairs bedroom gets very warm with all the heat funnelling up. Complimentary breakfast not fancy, but adequate. Would stay here again, but would choose a different type of room. If using Living Social coupon, make sure you understand the rules for your dinner discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.