We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If the heat was turned on it was toooo warn up stairs, and if you turned down the heat it was cold down stairs. The stairs were difficult to navigate with your suit cases, and you had to go outside to enter the pool.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    177
    93
    34
    25
See reviews for
125
213
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We were disapointed. The layout and facilities are not ideal. Hotel is clean however the cutlery and crockery in our kitchenette was not.
Furniture and decor is dated
Walls offer no sound insolation. Fans are noisy. Babies are crying.
Very limited in facilities. One ice machine in the parking lot. No water fountain at pool.
Shall I carry on;
We enjoyed our weekend and the staff is very friendly

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

WE really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We originally stayed in a loft suite (room 222) but it was very drafty--we could see daylight around the door. When we turned the heat up it was still chilly and the upstairs loft became unbearably hot. When we mentioned this to the front desk the next morning we were put in a beautiful queen suite, which was all on one level. Thoroughly enjoyed the roominess and the gorgeous bathroom with the soaker tub. I was happy it had a little fridge. We had dinner at the Evergreen restaurant at the Delta (their sister hotel) a couple of doors down. Terrific food and service. The complimentary continental breakfast was simple but adequate.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter I would suggest not getting a loft suite. It's too hard to regulate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this hotel using hotwire (indicated it was a 3-star property) shortly after New Year's. I was very impressed with the hotel. Our room was on the smallish size, but was very comfortable and cozy. A simple continental breakfast was offered, which was a nice touch. Hotel seems to be operated by Delta Hotels - so it would explain the standard to which everything was maintained and kept up.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end seem of the floor seem to be on the smaller side. Get a room in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a Kitchenette which has two bedrooms, separated by the kitchenette/bathroom area. My Mother in law took the one bedroom with my wife and I in the other. Ongoing througout the night there were bursts of noise outside our door from people walking by/stopping to converse, yelling, playing tag, etc. Politely asking people in the walkways to keep it down didn't achieve anything as there was a constant stream of newcomers. There is no way to secure the area as the hallways and stairways are outside (general public can come and go as they please). There was no one downstairs (the front desk is unmanned after hours). I was expecting that it was only my sleep that was constantly interrupted. In the morning I found out that my Mother in law didn't sleep either. It seems there were similar activities taking place outside the door at the other end of the kitchenette. In the morning I was asked by the Front Desk Clerk during checking out, "How was your stay?", to which my response was "Of the thousands of hotel stays i've had, this is by far the second worse". The response was "I'm sorry about that. I'll let management know.". We were so exhausted the next morning that instead of taking in more touring of Banff, we simply headed home. Lastly, no one from the hotel (management) contacted me for follow up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster SK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the confusion at the front desk and the miscommunication with the two hotels, to the uncleaned carpets to having someone walk into our room to not telling the guests you have to walk outside for the pool, we will never stay there again.We asked when booking about restaurant on site, said yes found out later it was at the other hotel. It was not a good experience for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went up with a group of four families on Boxing Day to stay for a few days skiing. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately it didn't seem as though that extended to housekeeping. The rooms weren't ready on arrival and on the second evening when we returned from skiing nothing had been serviced. It appeared that we were not the only ones as there were a lot of people at reception complaining about the same issue. We decided to let it rest and housekeeping finally turned up to change the towels at 7PM. The next day a similar issue.

The rooms are alright but in need of some TLC. We had a kitchenette which is pretty good for a family albeit a little more cost than is reasonable. The beds were very comfortable with good linens and decent towels. The kitchen was fairly well equipped and everything functional. I probably would not stay again by preference unless the cost was much lower.

Room Tip: The loft suites look pretty good for a couple and the kitchenettes are better for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.