We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice loft rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Cedar Court

Save Saved
You added Charlton's Cedar Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlton's Cedar Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice loft rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Room was very nice and different from anything we have stayed in. Very comfortable! Bed was huge! It was really hot the first night in the room b/c we had turned up the heat too much but the second night was a much better sleep once we tweaked our heater and ceiling fan.
The continental breakfast was nothing special. Didn't get to try the restaurant at the Delta. Service desk was very nice and very helpful. Had some key malfunctions at 2am which was not fun since there is no one at the Cedar Court desk after 11pm, but we were able to call a number and got some help fairly quickly - just a bit of an annoyance at that time when it's cold out and all you want to do is hit the sack. Overall great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    197
    104
    37
    27
See reviews for
136
241
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Free parking was the biggest perk in this busy resort town! A parking spot is always a search. We have stayed at the Caribou next door several times, but our kids wanted a pool to play in. It was COLD! The kids had the place to themselves and enjoyed the pool area but said it was disappointing. The room was a deluxe double room with 2 queen beds, a large bathroom and sitting area. Very spacious! I did not mind the open hallway. I found we were more independant and did not run into a bunch of other guests. The continental breakfast was OK. Cold eggs, Eggo's, yougert and fruit. The yougert was full of aspertane, a non diet option would have been nice. Overall a positive experience, the price was right and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was a nice property in a spectacular and expensive town. We had the family room which was not huge but suited our needs. This property had free parking and a continental breakfast which was good, but note it is not like a Hampton Inn breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, we used the pool and hot tub which were very nice, note the pool was pretty fresh. Easy walking distance to downtown. The room had a small kitchenette, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a great loft room with a fireplace. It was comfortable and clean and the front desk girls were great! We did not venture into the pool or the sauna, so can't really say much other than they looked nice. The complimentary breakfast is a leaves a bit to be desired...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good location - nice welcome - clean room
We would really appreciate if the air conditioning units (mainly outdoor noise) would be more silent. Otherwise the stay we pleasant, although weather so so... and the Rockies are really impressive. A lot of nice walks all around - easy walking and more difficult for those who like it!

Room Tip: Loft rooms with mezzanine are nice Air conditioning is too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Charlton again on a snowy cold evening this month. Our first visit was 33 years ago and we have been back 4-5 more times.
The loft suite is not the best idea in the cold (having to venture to the outdoor stairs to reach your rooom) but nice in summer.
Being cold when we arrived we tried the firepalce and no go, we called down and were told the help but be right up.We waited quite a bit in the col and he never came so we called again. This time we reached a different girl and she told us we could go for supper as we were starving and it would be working when we returned.
Not as cozy as it could be but still unique.
We were happy for the fridge as I had a great deal of leftover shrimp, too bad when we went to retrive it in the morning it was not cold or even cool. So much for $20 worth of shrimp.
Where are you supposed to plug in the coffee machine and where is the blow dryer?
Decent enough for one night but I wouldnt stay longer. You could hear the stairs in the next apartment creeking but our was fine.The front desk clerk was lovely though and since our biscotti didnt arrive she found us some, nice touch. Thanks for an interesting night.

Room Tip: Not the loft in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night at this fine establishment, and I hope to never revisit. I've travelled fair bit, but I've never had such an awkward stay in a hotel before. Husband and I got the loft suite. Let's just say it was far from cozy and romantic. The suite was weird, it featured a narrow, wobbly, spiral staircase and a DIY bathroom. It was also super cold. It all would have been acceptable for a 2-3* hotel, have the walls been at least somewhat soundproof. But no, I could hear EVERYTHING people in the rooms next to ours were doing. And I don't mean a little louder chat or high volume TV. It was like actually being a part of conversation someone was holding feet away. it got worse as the stay progressed - our neighbours engaged in some carnal activities and trust me, it was as if they were actually doing it in my bed. Add some more horny neighbours behind the other wall and I you get an adult movie set in stereo. Not staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton's Cedar Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Cedar Court

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Cedar Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton’s Cedar Court is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charlton’s Cedar Court the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charlton's Cedar Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Cedar Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.