We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton's Banff to your Saves list
Charlton's Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a great loft room with a fireplace. It was comfortable and clean and the front desk girls were great! We did not venture into the pool or the sauna, so can't really say much other than they looked nice. The complimentary breakfast is a leaves a bit to be desired...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    244
    129
    44
    33
See reviews for
169
308
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good location - nice welcome - clean room
We would really appreciate if the air conditioning units (mainly outdoor noise) would be more silent. Otherwise the stay we pleasant, although weather so so... and the Rockies are really impressive. A lot of nice walks all around - easy walking and more difficult for those who like it!

Room Tip: Loft rooms with mezzanine are nice Air conditioning is too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Charlton again on a snowy cold evening this month. Our first visit was 33 years ago and we have been back 4-5 more times.
The loft suite is not the best idea in the cold (having to venture to the outdoor stairs to reach your rooom) but nice in summer.
Being cold when we arrived we tried the firepalce and no go, we called down and were told the help but be right up.We waited quite a bit in the col and he never came so we called again. This time we reached a different girl and she told us we could go for supper as we were starving and it would be working when we returned.
Not as cozy as it could be but still unique.
We were happy for the fridge as I had a great deal of leftover shrimp, too bad when we went to retrive it in the morning it was not cold or even cool. So much for $20 worth of shrimp.
Where are you supposed to plug in the coffee machine and where is the blow dryer?
Decent enough for one night but I wouldnt stay longer. You could hear the stairs in the next apartment creeking but our was fine.The front desk clerk was lovely though and since our biscotti didnt arrive she found us some, nice touch. Thanks for an interesting night.

Room Tip: Not the loft in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed one night at this fine establishment, and I hope to never revisit. I've travelled fair bit, but I've never had such an awkward stay in a hotel before. Husband and I got the loft suite. Let's just say it was far from cozy and romantic. The suite was weird, it featured a narrow, wobbly, spiral staircase and a DIY bathroom. It was also super cold. It all would have been acceptable for a 2-3* hotel, have the walls been at least somewhat soundproof. But no, I could hear EVERYTHING people in the rooms next to ours were doing. And I don't mean a little louder chat or high volume TV. It was like actually being a part of conversation someone was holding feet away. it got worse as the stay progressed - our neighbours engaged in some carnal activities and trust me, it was as if they were actually doing it in my bed. Add some more horny neighbours behind the other wall and I you get an adult movie set in stereo. Not staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service is good, location not too close nor too far to walk downtown. Love the loft & fireplace. Continental breakfast is okay though they could have a better tea selection. Pool & hot tub are great. My favorite place to stay, am there about twice a year.

Room Tip: I rated the pool/hottub in the fitness section, don't know if they have an actual fitness/ exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful room. Looked renovated within the last few years.
Loved the large soaker tub and separate shower.
Beds, linen, pillows very comfortable.
Unusually sound proof for a Banff hotel... didn't even hear the night trains.
Hot tub was nice.
Front desk staff very friendly.
Breakfast was typical fare... nothing special, but beats paying $15/person for breakfast anywhere else in Banff!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cedar Court is a long established hotel (in sort of motel style), which like all Banff hotels is overpriced compared to others towns, but reasonably priced for Banff itself. Situated on the Main Street, but a bit from the centre, it is well placed and easy to find, and quiet at night. There's not enough parking on site and it can also be difficult to find parking on the surrounding streets. The staff are welcoming and check in reasonably quick. (My reservation was done through Booking.Com, which does not describe the room types very clearly, so we ended up with twice as much accommodation as we needed: the kitchen suites essentially have two bedrooms, though perhaps better suited to families with young children than pairs of friends). The rooms are smallish, but clean, the kitchens well equipped (extra marks for the coffee supplied for the machines - much better than the norm in North American hotels) and the bathrooms have a spacious shower. There's no restaurant but the Cedar Court comes up with a good breakfast buffet with two of the very nicest of ladies to help with your selections - one young, the other more mature, but both charm itself. They brought smiles to all the guests. The whole place is a little old fashioned, but has a distinctive style which is very attractive. I would definitely go back and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton's Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton's Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.