We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms basic, but comfortable. Lovely location right next to the turquoise river and short walk to town. Hotel swimming pool was small but pleasant, had a hot plunge pool and jacuzzi as well as a eucalyptus steam room. There was a small gym as well.

The only drawback was that the heating was non existent and the air conditioning kept both rooms awake and reception were not too helpful with this. Also there were no extra pillows or blankets in the rooms.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    169
    93
    16
    4
See reviews for
72
175
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 4 nights in this hotel with my wife and my 3 little kids.
We got a standard room, with two double beds and no place around, on bottom floor, just front of the parking. Maybe it was because we booked it over an obscure website (otel.com), but it was definitely not the best one!
Amenities are poor: a tiny fridge and a coffee machine; even no spool. But it was clean and functional.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect choice
It is so hard to choose from far away, ahead of time with so many choices.
We're so glad we found this, right on the river with a view and the river walk right there, but still close enough to walk to downtown and dinner.
It was quiet at night, very friendly staff, parking right there
Room very clean and beds comfortable

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked into Bow lodge for one night while on a road trip. Our room was clean and spacious with a verandah overlooking the Bow River. The staff were friendly and although the hotel is a little old I thought for the area the value was OK.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're like me, you're reading this review looking for a decent hotel in Banff that won't destroy your wallet. If you can afford to stay at the Banff Springs, like I could before kids, then you aren't reading this. We've stayed here twice over the past 8 years - they even remembered me on check in, which was nice. It is an older hotel, and the hallways show it, but the room inside, aside from the carpets, have been redone nicely. It was clean every day and the beds were super comfortable - we had room 213, which had a queen and loveseat in one room and two doubles in and adjoining room which my 15 and 19 year old boys loved having to spread out on. The bathroom is quite tiny, reflecting its age, but functional. Use the Upper Hot Springs if you want a real bath. It has a super location next to the river and only a block from the main strip, but seems worlds removed. If you book early enough you'll pay less than half of what you will at other hotels in Banff, and you really only spend time in your room to relax in after a long day hiking and being outside - at least you should - or else you're staying at the Banff Springs and don't need this review. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible - Room 213 has an extra room with 2 doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is a little old. Nice location though. If you stay request a room on the river side. Price is good for Banff. Close to main drag. Only complaint was sign out front advertises pool when there is no pool on sight. You have access to a pool but need to travel to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to extend our mountain vacation and stay in Banff for a night before heading back home from Miette. We ended up calling hotels listed in the 'Where - Canadian Rockies Edition' and the Bow View was the first reasonably priced hotel we found with an opening, so we took it, not really knowing too much about it, other than it had a good rating on TripAdvisor, which is always a good sign.

When we arrived the next day we were pleasantly surprised! It is in a great location, right along the Bow River and within a 5-10 minute walk of the main area of Banff with restaurants, shops, etc. Behind the hotel is a walking path along the Bow River with a canoe rental nearby. It is a sister property of the Banff Park Lodge and we were able to access the pool there included in the room fee.

We were surprised that there wasn't any A/C, but there was a fan in the room which provided adequate ventilation. You are asked not to sleep with the patio doors open, which I would say is a good idea as there isn't really anything stopping anyone from walking from balcony to balcony as they're all connected.

The room decor was a bit dated, but it was clean, so that was fine by us. There is a full size tub and toilet in one room with the vanity in an alcove just outside of the washroom, but separated from the main living/sleeping space. We had a two double room which also had a single pull-out couch. There was a mini-fridge, coffee maker and TV, which was housed in an armoire with lots of drawer space. There was a chest at the foot of one bed which had extra blankets, but was easily used as a luggage rack. There was a smallish closet with no doors in the entryway with a small drawer/stand to use as a luggage rack as well. There was also a round table with two chairs to sit at.

Overall we liked the Bow View Lodge and would stay here again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above have balconies; you can upgrade to a river view room for a fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.