We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, yet away from city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, yet away from city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Canadian Rockies are very very picturesque. I want to sing "The hills are alive with sound of music" most of the time, but I've heard my voice and didn't want to disturb the rest of the tourists. Banff is three blocks long and two and a half blocks wide and is overlooked by all the mountains you ever want to look at. But, be aware, the LOCALS told us, BANFF stands for Be Aware Nothing For Free. They weren't kidding! Actually I think Banff suffers from Gstaad-envy and want to charge like a Swiss.

Being a block and a half off the main street, the Bow Valley Lodge was a smaller room, with not air (we were in the middle of a heat wave) and could easily walk the town. The Safeway was two blocks away, as was the excellent Whyte Museum.

The room passed muster.

Room Tip: If you need anything go to the Safeway, the [not] dollar store or the Thrift Store. You might leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    163
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
162
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was super. The room was clean and large and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Though it did not have air conditioning, the small fan was just enough to keep air moving. Guests get free Wi-Fi and can use the pool facilities at the Banff Park Lodge next door. While the hotel could use some updating, we forgot all about that after settling in to the room.
The location is great; just a short walk to the Bow River and the many stores and restaurants in Banff. Banff is an amazingly beautiful town with mountains dominating the skyline on a clear day. Stay a few days at least to see all the area has to offer.
The price was just right - much less than other hotels in the area at the time we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived in Banff mid afternoon and went hotel hopping...first three were booked solid but we got referred over to this one. Got a corner room with Queen and two singles or twins I'm not sure but it was a separate room for our teenagers which was nice and not too much more than a reg room. desk was helpful, location was great. only downside and they are not alone but very few hotels in Banff have a/c and the fans just don't make for a good nights sleep when it's been a hot day. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if/when I return.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a great motel within walking distance to shopping and dining. Roomed overlooked the river and even had a caribou standing at the rivers edge. Also has a walking trail along the river! Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Amazing customer service when a fellow traveller caused a disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You cannot put a price on the River view from this hotel - it's just perfect. Basic but ultra clean room with veranda. Views & location are perfect & if you need more amenities they're right next door in the sister hotel Banff Park Lodge. I would highly recommend staying here. Professional, polite & helpful staff in both hotels. We had breakfast & Dinner at the sister hotel & these were excellent dining experiences. Menu is interesting & food is of excellent quality with class A service. There is a Swimming pool & sauna which we didn't use due to a packed itinerary. The Lodge is perfectly situated for river walks, canoeing, town, bars & restaurants. We didn't have a car & didn't need one, we walked, used the local bus (2$ any stop in Banff) & went on some coach tours. Perfectly relaxing, no stress travel. Pick ups for Tours from hotel. Wildlife was brilliant, saw Elk, Bears, Beavers, Kayote - a truly amazing place to visit. Service at all local bars & restaurants is an absolute delight. Never met such friendly & genuine people. Everyone seems to have an extra happy gene ... But then the place is a perfect place to live & visit. Go see it!!!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently spent a week here.The room was very clean,comfortable, and quiet.We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the river.It was an easy 5min walk to all downtown had to offer.The staff(especially Teegan) were wonderful.I would definitely stay here again.PS Don't miss the Sun.buffet at the Banff Park Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent two days in Banff, and the Bow View is on the edge of town. The downtown is tiny, so the hotel is within walking distance of the main shopping and dining areas. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was neat and clean. It isn't the type of place you would want to spend a lot of time in- especially during summer because there is SO much to do in Banff- hiking, biking, etc.

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.