We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Return visit, we like this little unpretentious spot in downtown Banff with it's quiet riverside location. Outdated decor yes, but very clean and everything in good repair. We like the big windows and balconies. We also like the free and easy access to the beautiful pool and hot tub of its sister hotel next door, the Banff Park Lodge. Friendly front desk staff.

Room Tip: Bow River view rooms are worth the little extra as the hotel is just steps from the river's edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello BenLar137

Thank you for staying with. I am pleased to hear that you are a returning guest as well. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We are older than most hotels in the area. But we make sure the building and our guests are well taken care of. Being able to use the pool at the Banff Park Lodge is one of the nice perks our guests receive, and I am glad you enjoyed.

Thanks again,

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    155
    80
    14
    4
See reviews for
64
153
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay here while seeking to visit the Banff area again. We hoped for a quiet room which was close to "nature" while not being too costly. We found what we were looking for at the Bow View. It is very close to the scenic walking/biking path and park along the Bow River, and an easy walk to shopping and close to the canoe rental place. We hope to stay here again despite the extra charge for the wifi!

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars get a room which overlooks the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Carl C,

I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our repeat guests refer to our hotel as a hidden gem. Its so peaceful along the Bow River but we are still just minutes from downtown.

Thanks again!

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As others have stated the hotel's location is fantastic. The hotel itself and the ammenities are a bit older but we felt like we got good value for the price we paid. The staff was friendly, though our interactions were brief and the hotel was generally quite clean. We didn't use the facilities in the sister hotel (pool/gym) though we did make use of their parking. The lot in front of the Bow View was always cramped but there were plenty of covered spaces just across the street.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello corduroy79,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a lot of pride about our hotel and make sure that we do the everything possible to make sure our guests have an memorable stay.

Thanks Again

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. The hotel was within short walking distance of the main commercial area of the town. It's located off the main street which made it nice and quiet. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly. The only negative was a surcharge for internet if you want to use it for searching activities or planning (we didn't bother). Not sure why it's not free given most places don't charge separately. Use of the pool at the Banff Park Lodge next door was also available for hotel guest . Overall a very good hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: request room facing the Bow River if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Peterm5555

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bow View Lodge. The reason we charge for Wifi is so we can make sure our guests are always getting the lowest rate possible, Most hotels will hide certain charges, such as Wifi and parking, within the room rate. We seperate them so guests dont pay for things that they are not using.

Thanks again,

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for Christmas 2014.

Stayed for two nights for a pretty good price. The location was pretty nice, loved not being on the main road, felt quieter and was so close to the river. The view from our window of the bow river was so beautiful, best part of the stay.

The room itself wasn't great. There were two single beds which made the room feel fairly small, and it was very outdated. The walls seemed paper thin as I could hear the people below us and around us.

If you are looking for a place to rest your head for the night after a day of exploring Banff I would recommend! If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, I would definitely recommend looking else where.

Room Tip: River view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello CaperGirl86,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bow View Lodge. I agree the views over looking the river are amazing. Being the only hotel along the Bow River gives our guests a unique experience.

I hope we will be able to be your hosts again,next time your in Banff

Chris Jonah
Bow View Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bow View Lodge is named as such because it definitely has a view of the Bow river. The Bow River is right behind the hotel with a nice walking path.

The hotel is just a few steps away from Banff Ave, just park your car and walk. It's also a few minutes away from the hot springs, Fairmont Banff hotel, etc.

The hotel is nicely kept, and is very clean. The staff were also friendly.

My problem with this hotel is it's outdated, and looks like your walking into the 1990's. It has extremely slow wifi internet, and old-school tube televisions.

This hotel is also very noisy. The walls are thin, and you can hear people in the next room, toilets flushing, and I even could hear someone going to the bathroom in the next room in the middle of the night.

The walls make noise, and for some reason there was a constant "click click click" noise from the plumbing or heating that would not stop in my room which drove me crazy.

It was a clean hotel with a good location, but I wouldn't stay here again.

The bed was rock hard, and the pillows were so-so.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello MikeyB0101,

Thank you for staying with us! I hope you enjoyed your visit to Banff. You are right when you say our hotel seems dated. The Bow View Lodge is 51 yeards old this year. For how old the hotel is I beleive the buidling is still in good condition. We do not have the modern ammenitties that new hotels have. But we take pride how well maintained the hotel is.

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As retirees, we are able to take advantage of the Bow View's special offers, which we have done on several occasions. We are impressed with the location on the river near the main street, the friendly, helpful staff, and the quality of the rooms.The pool, hot tubs, fitness and restaurant are next door in the big sister, the Banff Park Lodge and are available to guests. The riverside pathway offers a great walk to Bow Falls. The lodge meets our needs with our only negative the Wifi which we had to pay for this last visit.

Room Tip: Always ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Elliott D

Thank you for staying with us at the Bow View Lodge. I am pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of one of our specials. Watch your inbox for more exciting deals in the future.

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.