We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & affordable but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Kent, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location & affordable but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location as it's based only a few minutes from Banff's restaurants and shops and right by the river. However the hotel is looking quite dated now and could definitely do with a little modernising.

The swimming pool, jacquzzi and steam room that you can access in the sister hotel right next door is lovely, clean and modern, and we had such a relaxing time in here but unfortunately both my partner and I came out in itchy rashes after visiting here which perhaps was to do with the chlorine levels.

Also the bed is rock hard.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    149
    77
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
147
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Bow View Lodge for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The hotel is nothing fancy or luxurious but the rooms are decent and it is located right next to the river.
My room (205) even had a river view, which was wonderful in the morning!

The receptioniste was also very nice and helpful.

One of the best features is the fact that you can use the pool and steamroom of the Banff Park Lodge, right opposite the hotel! Wonderful after a day if skiing!

I would definitely stay again! For that price you can't stay anywhere else in Banff

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay here for 4 nights. My room had a lovely view of the frozen river, and although it was too cold to stand outside to enjoy the view, it could easily be admired from inside the room. The bed was nice and comfy, the room cozy, and the receptionists were all very friendly. It was abit cold, so borrowed an electric heater. Melissa's Missteak is just down the road and they serve such delicious meals. Just a short ten minutes walk to town. Would definitely stay here again if I can!

Room Tip: Get a room with the river view. It's worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this room for one night as it was the only available room left in Banff at a reasonable rate. We had a river view on the second floor which was nice. The room was large, clean and comfortable. WiFi is an extra fee which in this day seems cheap on the hotel's part. The staff were friendly. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Second floor with a river view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, General Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Daniel J

Thank you for choosing the Bow View Lodge. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our river view rooms.

I am sorry to hear about your thoughts regarding our WiFi charge. The reason we have this additional charge is because not everyone uses Wifi and we prefer to offer the lowest possible rate to our guests. This way, our guests have the option to pay instead of having the charge hidden into their room rate.

Again, thank you for choosing the Bow view Lodge. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Banff.

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Bow View Lodge
Hello Daniel J

Thank you for choosing the Bow View Lodge. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our river view rooms.

I am sorry to hear about your thoughts regarding our WiFi charge. The reason we have this additional charge is becuase not everyone uses Wifi and we prefer to offer the lowest possible rate to our guests. This way, our guests have the option to pay instead of having the charge hidden into their room rate.

Again, thank you for choosing the Bow view Lodge. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Banff.

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Bow View Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel's River Suite this past weekend, and enjoyed our stay very much.

From the moment we reserved our room, we felt welcome. Olga,in reservations was very knowledgeable and helpful with her suggestions.

Chris, the Lodge Manager, was also friendly, professional, and efficient.

We enjoyed the coziness of our unit, and the amazing shower, with five shower heads!

The room was very clean and comfortable, and we highly recommend this hotel (particularly this unit) for anyone traveling to Banff in the future!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, General Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Gazpacho16,

Thank you for staying at the Bow View Lodge. I am very pleased that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Our River Suite is very spectacular and is often referred as "one of the best rooms in Banff". Eventually, our plan is to have all rooms renovated to that style.

I hope next time you are in Banff, we can meet again!


Regards
Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We stayed at the Bow View Lodge for five nights while we attended the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed and we were especially grateful for the fridge.The location of the hotel is excellent with easy access to a pleasant walk along the river. Downtown is a stone's throw away. We will certainly stay here again and have already booked for next fall.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear canadatraveljunkie39

Thank you for choosing the Bow View Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you have already made reservations for your next visit. We will see you in the fall!

Thank You

Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Dan and his team made us very welcome for our wonderful week in Banff.

The rooms were very comfortable, warm and quiet.

The facilities and breakfast in the Banff Park Lodger were excellent .

We look forward to returning in 2016.

Well done all

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.