We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
1 review
“Not a bad place ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A Very nice place, quiet, very clean and cozy. For the price it's a great little lodge. The only thing is we paid extra for a premium room and we're given an accessible room and the bed was old and sunk in we both woke up with back pain other then the bed everything else was good. I would recommend it. For the price.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    145
    72
    13
    4
See reviews for
61
143
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is small,old and dark, with the balcony window facing the parking area. In the early morning, we can hear people talk loudly under the balcony, in the parking area. The TV didn't work for the 2 nights I was there, though that was compensated for later. We tried to spend most of our time outside, trying not to stay at the hotel apart from sleep.

There is a cramped reception area, no larger than one of the actual rooms itself.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jenny L.

Thank you for choosing the Bow View Lodge as your place to stay while visiting Banff. I hope you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful little town. I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Bow View Lodge was disapointing.

Our hotel is one of the older buildings in Banff. That being said, our rooms are smaller compared to newer built hotels. We try our best to make up for this, by making sure our rooms are cleaned to perfection. In fact, our hotel has won many housekeeping awards.

I would like to apologize about the TV not working for the first couple nights, during your stay. We were having an issue and our maintenance department was unable to fix it. We had to wait until our service provider was able to come to the hotel and fix the issue.

I hope next time you are in Banff, you can give us a second chance to give you the service that we are known for. If you would like to discuss your stay any further, please feel free to contact me directly by email, at Lodgemanager@banffparklodge.com or by phone 1-403-762-2261

Regards,
Chris Jonah
Lodge Manager
Bow View Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently spent a girls weekend in Banff and booked this hotel through a deal from Travelzoo.

Pros: The best thing about this hotel is its location, right beside the river. It's a very close walk to all the shops/restaurants and alongside beautiful walking trails. Being at the end of a street, there's not a lot of traffic. Although the hotel is dated, it is very clean. We were upgraded to a river view room (thank you Hanna), which had a balcony and was very private. You didn't look out at anything except nature. The room also had a small refrigerator and was a good size. The only staff we had interaction with was the front office staff who were very helpful and personable.

Cons: If you plan to stay here, do bring some ear plugs. The walls are very thin, and we could hear our neighbours. Unfortunately, there was a family staying across the hall who let their children run wild everywhere with no regard for others. Also, any time a door was closed, our door rattled as well. There are train tracks not too far away so you may also hear the occasional train.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was good value for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear flamesgal,

Thank you staying at the Bow View Lodge. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Travel Zoo voucher was such an amazing deal! Keep checking Travel Zoo for more exciting deals with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location to walk downtown to shops and eating. Room is very clean and quiet and very comfortable. We hiked the fens from the hotel and visited the upper hot springs twice. There are many choices for dining in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Have stayed here a few times now and have always been happy with the room.
The staff has always been friendly and helpful.
Rooms are clean and well equipped with all the standard things.
This is not a fancy dressed up hotel, just good clean basic accomidation. Attached to a larger hotel accross the parking lot so you can use the facilities there at no extra cost.
When I made my reservations the site said free internet but they ended up charging me for it. Something new since my last visit which I was disappointed about as I dont use it a lot but do check emails in the morning and again in the evening. The room rate is low enough that its not a big deal, but they really should make sure there sit is up to date.
The hotel is so close to the center of town, next to the river and trails. Yet just out of the way so there is not a lot of traffic.
If your not into super new with all the bells,whistles and high prices to pay for them, then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The rooms are quite small, clean. The beds in our first room were terrible, the second room they were a little better. The staff was polite and helpful. This was the best value I found for Banff, even cheaper then the Y . It's pretty basic but if your watching expenses it was OK. The parking lot was always full but they found overflow spots for me as I had to haul stuff from my car. Can't give it a rousing recommendation but it met our needs.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This place has got a terrific location - in downtown Banff by the water. The negative is it's very much a motel and it looks like it too. It was clean thou and cheap for its location. I would give it a 3.5/5.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.