We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations and freindly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great accomodations and freindly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times now and have always been happy with the room.
The staff has always been friendly and helpful.
Rooms are clean and well equipped with all the standard things.
This is not a fancy dressed up hotel, just good clean basic accomidation. Attached to a larger hotel accross the parking lot so you can use the facilities there at no extra cost.
When I made my reservations the site said free internet but they ended up charging me for it. Something new since my last visit which I was disappointed about as I dont use it a lot but do check emails in the morning and again in the evening. The room rate is low enough that its not a big deal, but they really should make sure there sit is up to date.
The hotel is so close to the center of town, next to the river and trails. Yet just out of the way so there is not a lot of traffic.
If your not into super new with all the bells,whistles and high prices to pay for them, then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    144
    70
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
142
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are quite small, clean. The beds in our first room were terrible, the second room they were a little better. The staff was polite and helpful. This was the best value I found for Banff, even cheaper then the Y . It's pretty basic but if your watching expenses it was OK. The parking lot was always full but they found overflow spots for me as I had to haul stuff from my car. Can't give it a rousing recommendation but it met our needs.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has got a terrific location - in downtown Banff by the water. The negative is it's very much a motel and it looks like it too. It was clean thou and cheap for its location. I would give it a 3.5/5.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bow View Lodge is a comfortable hotel in a great location. The view across the Bow River was beautiful and remained a tranquil setting during our four night stay, yet the shops and restaurants on Banff Avenue were only a short stroll away. Our only regret is that we did not pay the extra for a balcony. I would imagine the views from the other side of the hotel were not so good. The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate and provided a fridge, table and chairs, an arm chair and a reasonable amount of storage space. It was well maintained and clean, as was the bathroom. Facilities within the hotel were limited but the sister hotel just behind Bow View provided much more and was available for use by Bow View residents. Parking at the hotel was limited and on one occasion we could not park. Reception explained there was a large underground, secure garage under the sister hotel which we used. The entrance is a block away and I expected a bit of a trek to get back to Bow View but it amounted to an extra twenty meter walk with a key controlled door right opposite the main entrance. Banff is a good base to explore the many spectacular sights and if we return I would have no hesitation in staying at Bow View Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room with balcony if you wish to enjoy the beautiful view across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights in the "River Suite" - fantastic - could not be faulted.
Very good amenities and the location overlooking the river is a standout - very clean and well serviced - staff were super friendly and very helpful - the location by the river makes for a great walk along the river and into town - 2 minutes to a Safeway store - parking on site which is a bonus and you can also use the facilities at the neighbouring Bow View Resort(indoor pool and gym) - We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing special, but clean and affordable for Banff. Location was great...easy walk into town. Parking was fine, and staff was helpful and friendly. The elevator had issues while we were there, but they were working on it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

we stayed one night in this hotel and it was fantastic. We had a double room which was very nice and clean. The wifi and location were excellent. The staff were very friendly and even the smallest request was met with a smile. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.