We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Banff
Wasthington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were happy with the location of the hotel which was easy walking distance to shopping. Room was clean and we had a view of the River. We were impressed with Dan who was working the front desk (alone) and quite busy. He ignored a consistly ringing phone to give full attention to those checking in. We wondered if another employee didn't show up. But he was pleasant and patient nevertheless.. Later in the evening the fire alarm went off. Didn't smell smoke but decided to evacuate the motel. We joined other guests gathered outside the lobby while the fire department was called and came to check out the building. It turned out to be a false alarm (thankfully)and we got the OK to return to our rooms. Dan continued to keep his cool through that stressful event. We commented he had quite a day....and we want management know he did good! We did have to pay a fee for WiFi which didn't seem necessary...The breakfast was included in our stay...it was next door to our motel in a "sister" property. It was a fantastic buffet with just about anything you could want! Servers came around with coffee and other beverages. Very nice. There isn't air conditioning at Bow View but it was rainy during our stay so we were OK. So knowing how expensive Banff is to stay we were satisfied with this motel and the value.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    126
    61
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
125
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bow View Lodge is a real surprise: it could very well be the best place to stay in Banff and the price is excellent. We stayed here late in May in a room with river view for less than 100 CAD per night, a real bargain.

The hotel is beautifully located on the Bow River with nature right across the water. On the other side of the hotel the center of Banff with all kinds of restaurants and shops is only one block away. Also a large Safeway grocery store is nearby, though it’s hard to find if you don’t know where to look.

The room is fine and pleasantly light with its room wide windows. A room with river view is highly recommended and doesn’t cost much more than the most economic rooms. Bow View Lodge itself has only rooms, but guests may use all the facilities of the adjacent Banff Park Lodge. For breakfast we can recommend to buy your groceries at the Safeway and eat them at the dining table in your room while enjoying the view.

Room Tip: A room with river view is highly recommended and doesn’t cost much more than the most economic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have 8 nites of accommodation in the Rockies, where we splitted 3 nites at Jasper (Patricia Lake Bungalows), 2 nites at Banff (Bow View Lodge) and 3 nites at Canmore (Falcon Crest Lodge) and we have to rate this hotel as average as compared to other two. The room itself is quite large but the wash area is small. The only good part is that they have a separate wash basin outside of the washroom which helps. The furnishing was quite dated too and really needs some upgrading. Wifi comes with a nominal fee of $5/- a day which we thought is pretty reasonable but of course, we'll like it better if it's free :) The Bow River is just besides the hotel and it would have been a pleasant and lovely walk or just to chill out sitting at the river area except that the mosquitoes are hard at work there. Guess this is summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the lodge in a river view room. Nice view of the river from our balcony. The hotel does not AC but that is quite common in hotels in Banff. The sun sets behind the mountains and the town cools off. The rooms are small but well laid out, clean and cozy. The room does have a small fridge. The queen bed was quite comfortable and sleeping was no problem. The hotel is about two short blocks off the main street,Banff Avenue and in the heart of the restaurant and shopping area, which means you can easily stroll without trying to find parking. Since you are away from the main street, it is nice and quiet. The parking is free but cramped, the hotel does offer courtesy secured parking at the adjacent "sister" property that does contain restaurants, shops, etc. Having stayed at the two properties, I prefer this one for its serenity. Price was $200 a night without tax. This may seem pricey to some but you are in Banff downtown. You can pay more for less at other locations in this area.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vittoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 6 nights. It is an older style hotel. We were disappointed no air conditioning, but the nights cooled down significantly and with a fan was quite comfortable. The bed was quite firm, so if you want a soft bed this is not it. The decor is dated and could use an update. The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job. We had a river view , and was quiet .shopping is only 2 blocks away. We enjoyed our stay here front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: River view second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while travelling Alberta. Small rooms but clean and we didn't spend much time inside the room (why would you in Banff). Did use the pool next door as it was very warm this past week and it was lovely. Enjoyed the shared balcony and met some fellow Canadian travellers.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple nights while in Banff, the price was right and the location was good. A good view of the bow river and a short walk to most places. The rooms are very outdated, no air conditioning, no in hotel restraunt or bar. The beds were by far the worst bed I have ever slept in and felt like I needed a chiropractic treatment after the first night. The staff were good they definately didn't go out of their way for you.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.