We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bow View Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Lower Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bow View Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 8 days at the Bow View Lodge. The room had a small fridge which allowed us to pick up a a few items to have breakfast each morning. The Lodge is right next to the Bow River where there is a beautiful trail that takes you all thru the town following the river. If you are a runner it is a wonderful track to run and safe to do on your own as it is very well traveled. It was an excellent location...good price especially if you book in advance. We stayed in the second building so if you wanted to use the pool and hot tub you had to go to the Lodge itself which certainly wasn't any problem and the pool area stayed open until midnight, no children after 9pm. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the mountains and trail rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    145
    73
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
143
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

An excellent budget motel within five minutes of town where there are several restaurants. Had all the usual conveniences and was clean and comfortable. Front desk employees very friendly and quick!Parking was very handy and the location was perfect

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is set right by the lake running through Banff and just at the end of town. Open the curtains of your room to a stunning view of the water and mountains and if your lucky wildlife (including deer and Elk) right outside your window. The rooms were big, clean and equipped. The staff were really friendly and were always happy to assist. The pool area is also fabulous, clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: Get a room viewing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the Queen View Room and got the last one for that night. We really just needed a hotel to stay at between our nights of tent camping. And since we love nature, we decided to go for the lodge by the river! Although our room was on the ground floor, we still had a nice view. The room is quite large with floor to ceiling windows that span across the room. It had all the necessities with even a small fridge to keep our camping food nice and cold. I was very happy with the convenience and the overall coziness of this lodge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I was a little disappointed by the room this time around. The sheets were really old to the point of pilling and the room had a single and a queen instead of just the queen bed which made the room very small. It was a last minute ski trip so we basically drove in late and went skiing the next day so it worked for what we wanted but I enjoyed the previous room from my last visit more.

Staff was friendly. Unfortunately the pool was closed while we were there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed may long weekend 2013 just ok. Bow view budget price rather run down. View of river nice. Staff nice and pleasant. Stayed again may long weekend 2014 terrible from the front desk staff involving himself in our conversation, I didn't ask his opinion, to 5 hours of screaming and slamming doors from the room next to us . It was terifying. They were finally evicted at 4am and my bill full price is slipped under the door at 5am . I was still not calmed down from all the noise. When we went to the front desk later that morning and asked about the room charge nothing he could do!

Room Tip: Don't choose the main floor, I didn't but still was put there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great spot, Access to Banff Park Lodge pool. The hotel is old, from the red dirty carpet in the lobby to the weird wallpaper walls. Cigarette burns on our comforter. Room is clean, just small. But for sleeping who really cares. Didnt spend anytime at the hotel anyway. Would stay again if its cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.