We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Martensville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“River Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I wanted to write this review since I myself had a really hard time finding any info/pics of this particular suite when I booked it. When I'm looking for a hotel I really prefer modern decor to anything traditional. In Banff, a room with modern touches is very hard to find as I realize most people appreciate decor which is in tune with the local feel and more inspired by nature. This room was exactly what I was looking for, it was huge and modern and did not dissapoint. As far as I can find, it is a one of a kind in both this particular hotel as well as the area in general.
That said, the hotel itself is dated, and the first impression based on the lobby and the hallway to this room are not great at all....to the point that I was a little worried at first. But once inside the suite it was fantasic. There is a huge bathroom, which is divided into two parts - toilet/sink with door and also a large two person shower, counter, and another sink. There is a kitchen and dining area, large livingroom with 2 couches, and of course 2 queen beds. I should also note that one entire wall is windows, and within 10 mins of checking in we had 2 deer standing right outside. The only thing that was a little off is that there was a slight metalic smokey smell in the room, not sure what that could be from but it was a little like the smell of a burnt vacum cleaner belt and it lingered the entire stay. The pool area at the sister property across the parking lot was newly reno'd/updated lovely as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    145
    73
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
143
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

First impression of front lobby was off putting and showing age. Front lobby staff put us at ease with professional service. We had basic king room which was quite small, but appreciated the fridge. What did it for us was location. Quiet area one block to movie theatres ,2 blocks to main street and walk around the back to the most beautiful scenery, watch for deer roaming on front lawn. Walk along the river which winds around under the stone bridge taking you over the gorgeous new foot bridge to other side of river. Over the foot bridge takes you to more trails. Take opposite direction from hotel and go to another trail. Park vehicle and walk every where. Take 50 steps from front lobby to back of sister hotel parkade entrance, open with key card and go to elevator, off elevator first door on right to pool area. (There locking lockers and towels.) very nice pool and steam room!! Breakfast was very nice at main hotel, upstairs, ask your front desk for 2/1 coupon. Hot cereal, eggs, sausage, French toast, variety of cold foods and fresh pastries,breads plus juice and hot drinks included, sit and relax . We will return to this hidden gem.

Room Tip: Non river view means parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had stayed at this hotel and its sister hotel Banff Park Lodge before, and choose this one again for its proximity to the downtown core and being able to walk to all the restaurants, shopping and pubs. Great Views of the Bow River. The room was A-OK and was comfortable. No complaints there. When we first walk in about 5;15 Pm on the 4th of April 2014, our hearts sank. The Entry way,main floor and Reception was absolutely filthy, It was obvious that they had not spent anytime vacuuming or maintaining the main rotunda, this stayed virtually the same throughout the 3 days we were there, as I mentally made note of debris that stayed in the same spot the whole time. The Main floor decor was very poor and dated, but it was mostly the filth that bothered us. So I said to the wife let’s just play it cool for now, and see what the rooms are like and not let this ruin our getaway to Banff. As previously mentioned the rooms were fine and quite comfortable. Staff at front desk and housekeeping was great. The first night We did go across to their Sister Property and Eat at Terrace Dining Room, the service was first class as well as the food, (we have been to many fine dining restaurants in our time, and Terrace Dining was top notch, great chef) the dinner with a bottle of wine was $203.00 We did enjoy our trip and stay overall. Suggestion to management First Impressions are lasting impressions, if your out front hotel vacancy sign said you had vacancy and someone just walked in they would have likely left before inquiring. Maybe put some money back into the hotel lobby area too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I bought a travel zoo voucher that gave us a nice room, with a view of the town, It is withing walking distance of most the town and the front desk man was lovely. The voucher included money off meals and the beds were great. We didnt get maid service the day we stayed over but then we didnt really need it. I wonder how long the elevators have been out of service?
It was a little noisy the first night due to our neighbors but they settled down and we had a great sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, ask if the elevators are working or you will be hauling all your stuff up several f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Comfy beds, great service, can enjoy all the amenities (including pre-purchase of lift tickets) provided next door at the well-run Banff Park lodge. Staff is very courteous and helpful. The view is beautiful and we enjoyed a quiet sleep every night.. Everything is walkable in Banff, one of the best towns in Canada. Sad to leave.

Room Tip: the suite on the first floor is exquisite - includes a great kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

When we booked, Dan was very helpful in setting us up with an excellent ski package.

The Rooms were very comfortable and we enjoyed the excellent breakfast and Hot Tub at the Banff Park Lodge.

A bid thank you to the teams at the Bow View and Banff Park for making our skiing trip to Banff so enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren Murphy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The aptly named Bow View Lodge is a perfectly nice hotel for the price, and you absolutely cannot beat the location if you're looking for something right in Banff. I've stayed here twice and have no complaints. The man who works at the front desk is lovely and very helpful. The rooms are adequate (pretty run-of-the-mill). The real selling point is the location - right on the Bow River, and right downtown without actually being on the main drag. Quiet, convenient - really perfect. The pictures I've attached were taken about thirty feet from the hotel's door. This part of Canada is breathtaking, so Banff shouldn't be your only stop, but while in town, the Bow View Lodge is a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.