We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard beds, no heat in room or showers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hard beds, no heat in room or showers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed at this hotel one night while in banff Jan 4 2014. The room first off was extremly dated and i do not think the red carpet has been changed since the early 80s. The two twin beds in the room were like sleeping on a board. The room was cold upon arrival so i adjusted the thermostat to 25'C and it didnt turn on all night, average room temp of maybe 16 or 17 degrees. In the morning it took three or four minutes before the water in the shower got hot, then was either an extreme of too hot to stand under or too cold, with a twenty or thirty second delay between adjusting the taps and a temp change. When we checked out i informed the manager of my issue and offered a discount if we retuned at a later date as he could not offer a reduction since booking through expedia... Needless to say we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Dont go not worth it even at a cheap rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. The hotel has many options to remedy the issues that you brought to our attention.

We have a 24-hour front desk that can immediately assist you with moving rooms. We also have a maintenance department that is always on call. If moving rooms is undesirable we can provide a portable space heater that will quickly increase your room temperature while our maintenance team addresses heating concerns.

Our premier property Banff Park Lodge has new pillow-top mattresses in all their guest rooms. A room-move to our premier property would have been easily accomplished on this particular date had this been brought to our attention.

Unfortunately, when I asked the guests whether they reported the problem with the heat, the beds being uncomfortable or the appearance of the room they indicated that they did not contact anyone until departure.

We feel that we could have rectified the problem promptly had it been reported to us upon discovery. We offered a $40 room rate for a future visit this winter and we hope the guests will return for a stay with us or in our premier property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    144
    70
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
142
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a room in Dec 2013. We were excited to have an evening in Banff with our kids. However, within 1 hour of checking in, one of our kids had a medical issue and we had to rush to Children's hospital in Calgary. No one's fault. After a long night at the hospital, our child ended up being ok. However, Even though the hotel was not sold out that night and we only put our bags in the room (ie hadn't used the room yet), the manager said he could not refund our night.. He gave us his number and said he would give us a significant discount on our next visit. We called 1 week later and the significant discount ended up being a discount off their inflated regular rate which was significantly higher than what was being offered at various discount internet websites. In the end we would end up paying $10 bucks below the regular internet rate. Obviously this manager does not have kids. He is not thinking of his customers. This experience definitely will ensure we never go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have contacted you directly to assist you with resolving this matter.

Kind regards,

Bow View Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Bow View Lodge several times. This is an older hotel that is meticulously maintained, has a great front desk staff, and is very affordable. It's a short stroll to downtown to grab something to eat if you don't want to eat at the lodge next door (although they have a nice breakfast buffet). The front desk staff will give you directions around town or help with restaurant recommendations. I've always had a great stay on every visit and will continue to stay at Bow View Lodge on my travels.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel has a good location in Banff with plenty of parking and friendly, courteous staff. We were initially given a room with two queen beds and asked if we could change to a king bed, this was no trouble and the king room was ideal. We had a nice view from the balcony and the bed was huge and comfortable. The hotel has a 70's style vibe that we liked and the price was very fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice enough place to stay. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river, and it was a short couple of blocks to the town center. The pool and hot tub next door were a great place to relax. Amenities were simple, the shower drain was slow and the toilet ran constantly. For a basic no frills hotel it does well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this lodge- my daughter and I have stayed at Bow View Lodge every October for the past 3 years. It's basic - it's clean, comfortable , affordable and has a fantastic river view.No fuss free parking so we just park our vehicle during our stay as its a short walk to the restaurants and shops from the lodge.The manager and staff team are friendly and available for anything we need. Can't ask for more than that. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The day was cold, the conference was draining, I arrived at the hotel and felt like I had come home. The clerks were beyond courteous. They were caring, empathetic, and eager to help, even offering suggestions about things one might never have dared to ask. The room itself was comfortable...remember that lovely word "cozy"?...well, it was cozy. My room even afforded me a restful view of Mt. Rundle. Need more shampoo? No problem. Need an extra glass. With pleasure! I almost hated going home, but then, after all, home really is home. This experience, however, was the next best thing. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.