We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice enough place to stay. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river, and it was a short couple of blocks to the town center. The pool and hot tub next door were a great place to relax. Amenities were simple, the shower drain was slow and the toilet ran constantly. For a basic no frills hotel it does well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    114
    51
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
101
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this lodge- my daughter and I have stayed at Bow View Lodge every October for the past 3 years. It's basic - it's clean, comfortable , affordable and has a fantastic river view.No fuss free parking so we just park our vehicle during our stay as its a short walk to the restaurants and shops from the lodge.The manager and staff team are friendly and available for anything we need. Can't ask for more than that. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The day was cold, the conference was draining, I arrived at the hotel and felt like I had come home. The clerks were beyond courteous. They were caring, empathetic, and eager to help, even offering suggestions about things one might never have dared to ask. The room itself was comfortable...remember that lovely word "cozy"?...well, it was cozy. My room even afforded me a restful view of Mt. Rundle. Need more shampoo? No problem. Need an extra glass. With pleasure! I almost hated going home, but then, after all, home really is home. This experience, however, was the next best thing. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we stayed at the Bow lodge for 3 nights on our journey through the Rockies from Vancouver to Calgary. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the Bow River.....'What a View to see first thing in the morning'.
Our room was a large room with a nice size bed which was very comfortable, coffee maker, fridge, shower over bath with plenty of toiletries. A balcony to sit outside & a large, if not a bit outdated TV (but who watches a lot of TV when you are staying in one of the most beautiful places in the world).
The room was warm very clean...maybe to some the décor would be considered outdated, but to us on only paying $80.00 per night we were more than happy, especially when we had stayed in other hotels for a lot more money per night during our trip and were considerably more outdated.
The sister hotel was very glamorous, but their rooms did not have the lovely river views, however it was nice to be able to use the pool, steam room & Jacuzzi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a nice clean accommodation with a lovely view (just request a river view room).
Would definitely stay again......without a doubt.

Room Tip: River View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a room at the back of the hotel facing the Bow river. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I loved being able to go out on the balcony and look out over the river and up at the mountains. The hotel is a few blocks away from Banff Ave but it's a quick walk and you're right in the action. The only drawback to the balcony is that it's connected all the way around and they advise locking the door to keep your belongings safe. Still worth having the balcony. We had a great stay and want to book our next trip back at the Bow View.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean. We enjoyed the river view and little balcony. There was a very large buck on the property, just laying down and chewing, so that was our first wild animal sighting upon arriving in Alberta. Close to the rest of town to walk to dinner but on a side street and quiet. We appreciated the service at the front desk. Warning: Wifi is not free. There is no restaurant in the motel so we ate at Melissa's around the corner which was adequate. This was a good choice for a one night stay on our way to Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or all you will see is the parking lot and the rear of the sister hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here (2) nights as part of a Canadia Rockies bus trip. The location is very good and beautiful. The rooms are small but comfortable with a small deck with sliding doors. Easy walking (2) blocks in to town surounded by mountains. Wi-fi available for $5 dollars per night, although they let us have it for free. The only negative was that you could here the ajacent room doors when guests were leaving or returning to their rooms. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Hotel
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.