We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Back to the basics".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“"Back to the basics".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this lodge- my daughter and I have stayed at Bow View Lodge every October for the past 3 years. It's basic - it's clean, comfortable , affordable and has a fantastic river view.No fuss free parking so we just park our vehicle during our stay as its a short walk to the restaurants and shops from the lodge.The manager and staff team are friendly and available for anything we need. Can't ask for more than that. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    143
    68
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
142
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The day was cold, the conference was draining, I arrived at the hotel and felt like I had come home. The clerks were beyond courteous. They were caring, empathetic, and eager to help, even offering suggestions about things one might never have dared to ask. The room itself was comfortable...remember that lovely word "cozy"?...well, it was cozy. My room even afforded me a restful view of Mt. Rundle. Need more shampoo? No problem. Need an extra glass. With pleasure! I almost hated going home, but then, after all, home really is home. This experience, however, was the next best thing. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we stayed at the Bow lodge for 3 nights on our journey through the Rockies from Vancouver to Calgary. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the Bow River.....'What a View to see first thing in the morning'.
Our room was a large room with a nice size bed which was very comfortable, coffee maker, fridge, shower over bath with plenty of toiletries. A balcony to sit outside & a large, if not a bit outdated TV (but who watches a lot of TV when you are staying in one of the most beautiful places in the world).
The room was warm very clean...maybe to some the décor would be considered outdated, but to us on only paying $80.00 per night we were more than happy, especially when we had stayed in other hotels for a lot more money per night during our trip and were considerably more outdated.
The sister hotel was very glamorous, but their rooms did not have the lovely river views, however it was nice to be able to use the pool, steam room & Jacuzzi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a nice clean accommodation with a lovely view (just request a river view room).
Would definitely stay again......without a doubt.

Room Tip: River View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a room at the back of the hotel facing the Bow river. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I loved being able to go out on the balcony and look out over the river and up at the mountains. The hotel is a few blocks away from Banff Ave but it's a quick walk and you're right in the action. The only drawback to the balcony is that it's connected all the way around and they advise locking the door to keep your belongings safe. Still worth having the balcony. We had a great stay and want to book our next trip back at the Bow View.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean. We enjoyed the river view and little balcony. There was a very large buck on the property, just laying down and chewing, so that was our first wild animal sighting upon arriving in Alberta. Close to the rest of town to walk to dinner but on a side street and quiet. We appreciated the service at the front desk. Warning: Wifi is not free. There is no restaurant in the motel so we ate at Melissa's around the corner which was adequate. This was a good choice for a one night stay on our way to Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or all you will see is the parking lot and the rear of the sister hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here (2) nights as part of a Canadia Rockies bus trip. The location is very good and beautiful. The rooms are small but comfortable with a small deck with sliding doors. Easy walking (2) blocks in to town surounded by mountains. Wi-fi available for $5 dollars per night, although they let us have it for free. The only negative was that you could here the ajacent room doors when guests were leaving or returning to their rooms. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a 3rd floor room with views of the Bow River and a small balcony to enjoy. The sliding door was hard to open and I called front desk. The gentleman on duty came up immediately to open and explain how to open. We had a king size bed, coffee maker and refrigerator in this room. The bathroom was large and adequate. The location of this hotel was excellent to downtown and to walks along the Bow River to see the Falls. This hotel was also close to the Catholic Church. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.