We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tourist hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good tourist hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

While this wasn't one of the nicest place in Banff which were charging $275 and up at the time, I think it is a good tourist grade hotel. We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel to be clean and staff very accommodating. We had a room with two queen beds for 4 people which was crampted with only a walkway at the end and between the beds but we made the best of it since we really only were in the room at bedtime. As someone else said, it was a good place to stay and spend our money on other things. Our room through trip advisor was $149. The location was just a block or two from the main streets of town. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    141
    68
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
139
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to the Bow river, close to the supermarket, and main street shopping. Clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and help full. Stayed there for three nights and would recomend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Bow View Inn for three nights prior to a bike trip. I found the accomodations to be adequate but pricey $200/night for what you get. Room was clean, but very small. Front desk (one person) seemed to be very overworked trying to answer new incoming guests, make new reservations, and then answering to current guests. Bright spot is they provide access to the nearby Banff Lodge access to pool, hot tub, and a modest gym. This sister hotel also has an excellent buffet breakfast which is very worth the extra $10 for a breakfast package. Granola was quite good which I stocked up on for my day hikes.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here last week in June, and booked directly online with the hotel. Price was good for the area (about £100 per night for river view room with breakfast included).

Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. I had a number of queries throughout the stay and they were always happy and able to help.

The breakfast package was definitely worth adding. At about £5 extra you get a full buffet option in the Park Lodge hotel next door, and this includes cereals, continental breakfast options and cooked items (sausages, eggs etc), with plenty to go around. Again, welcoming friendly staff here too.

The room is ok, nothing exceptional, but that comes with it being a relatively budget hotel (given the other more expensive options in the vicinity). Bit dated, but the room was very clean, included bath/shower, fridge and TV. Balcony view over the Bow River too.

Great location, less then 5 mins walk from town centre and close to shops and the river with its path and canoe rental across the road.

Only downside is the noise from the freight trains at night. The horn of the passing trains is very loud and can be heard everywhere in town, but this hotel is probably one of the closer ones to the tracks, however people in town complain of noise from the main street so no difference I guess, and the only way to avoid it would be to stay at the Rimrock or Banff Springs.

You do however get access to the gym and swimming pool at the Park Lodge hotel which is an added bonus, as you get the better view from the Bow View and still get these features.

In summary:
Pros:
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Good value for the area (Banff is expensive)
- Decent room (size, cleanliness and facilities)
- Excellent location (river and shops / restaurants etc)
Cons:
- Noise from passing trains

Would definitely recommend if on a budget but still want better than average hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, on either the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

They are in a convenient location, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean, but the furnishings were rather dated. They provided a small refrigerator, however there was no microwave. Television was at least 10-15 years old. No air conditioning in the rooms. We were part of a tour group and did not pick this as our lodging location. There are probably better choices available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You have everything you need here. Nice enough room, very clean, river view, near town ( restaurants etc), access to a pool from sister hotel and restaurant.
Downside : bit pricey for a motel and pool full of screaming kids til 9.00 pm. So stay away til then.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just recently completed our second stay in this hotel in the popular resort town of Banff.
The location on the river is unique and there is also a walking path along the river. Close to
restaurants, shops, and the Safeway market. We would definitely chose this hotel for any
return to Banff.

Room Tip: Although more expensive the view of the river is a must, so ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.