We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Birmingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

They are in a convenient location, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean, but the furnishings were rather dated. They provided a small refrigerator, however there was no microwave. Television was at least 10-15 years old. No air conditioning in the rooms. We were part of a tour group and did not pick this as our lodging location. There are probably better choices available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

You have everything you need here. Nice enough room, very clean, river view, near town ( restaurants etc), access to a pool from sister hotel and restaurant.
Downside : bit pricey for a motel and pool full of screaming kids til 9.00 pm. So stay away til then.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just recently completed our second stay in this hotel in the popular resort town of Banff.
The location on the river is unique and there is also a walking path along the river. Close to
restaurants, shops, and the Safeway market. We would definitely chose this hotel for any
return to Banff.

Room Tip: Although more expensive the view of the river is a must, so ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After reviewing quite a few accommodation options in and around Banff, my wife and I decided to give Bow View Lodge a shot. We were on a budget and it's always tough to find the 'best bang for buck'. Bow View reviewed well so we gave it a try.

Our first impressions were good. We booked the room over the phone because I like the human touch versus the internet. I found staff very friendly and accommodating. I had to call back to confirm a detail or two, and once to change the dates and I was never given any grief.

It's easy to get there from the highway and is very close to the town so you can park your car and walk everywhere. It's nestled right beside the river and if you get a view room (we got one on the 3rd floor), it's a pleasant view.

Check-in was easy and we were told to park either outside, or, if we wanted underground, we could also use the Banff Park Lodge underground parking. We opted for covered parking and they gave us good directions.

The rooms were nothing fancy but were very clean. We asked for non smoking and no pets and were very satisfied with the room. Small updates to keep things maintained were noted. The bed was comfortable and there were a few pillow options to choose from.

Cleaning / building staff were friendly and always acknowledged you.

The other perk about staying here was the ability to use the Banff Park Lodge amenities for free (Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam room & Gym).

In summary, I can highly recommend this hotel as a good best bang for buck option.

Room Tip: Try and get a view room, 3rd floor, and don't forget to ask about being able to use the Banff Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagin_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great little hotel. Close to downtown and restaurants. Make sure you book a river view room since the view is terrific. The other rooms overlook the parking lot - not so great view! Price is not low, but is fair for Banff. We have stayed there twice before for a couple of days each time and are going again next week. It's good to know what you will encounter before you leave home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rflleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Chose this hotel for 2 night stay during trip to the Rockies as good value (other rooms in Banff were more expensive). Good points: The hotel is in a very good central location - restaurants and shops of Banff Avenue 5 mins walk. Friendly staff Excellent buffet breakfast included at the sister hotel (more upmarket) next door which was included in bed & breakfast rate. Downside: Beds were the most uncomfortable out of the 11 hotels stayed in during the holiday - poor quality mattresses - both had bad backs in mornings. Rooms a bit on the small side and really quite tired - drain smell from sink in vanity unit. Overall not bad - average and for price paid probably couldn't expect much more - perhaps splash out on more upmarket sister hotel if you can afford??

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grh55556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmagor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visited my brother in Calgary a few years back and we took a trip to Banf so that I could snowboard for a few days. This please was a perfect place and location. When you drive out of Banf town towards the slopes this is the last Hotel in the town that you pass, and when you travel back, its obviously the first. It has a covered lay-by in front of it for the transfer buses to stop at, meaning you're the last on the bus on your way to the sloes, and the first off it on the way back. That's 5 stars for location in my book. Being next to the Bow River with an easy walk to all the hustle of Banf town either along the riverside or through the streets, reaffirms it's great location score.

It is not a palace, but it's not basic either. It's good North American three star accommodation in my book. I didn't sample all of it's facilities so I couldn't tell you if it has anything that would drag it up to 4 star. However, the rooms are huge and great value for money. I stayed in a family room with my brother and his family, they had a huge room with two double beds for him and the kids, and I had a room of my own with a double bed, Tv etc. But this was all one 'two-room' family room. And I'm sure it was little over $100 CAD on 29th December.

It was clean, comfortable, warm, had great facilities, parking, great location, helpful staff, tourist information and help buying ski&bus passes and good value for money.

If you look at my other reviews you'll notice I score quite highly, as I am doing here also. This is probably because I do my research online before I stay anywhere and I also don't fuss over the little things. And above all, I remember what I paid for my room, and set my expectations accordingly.

Room Tip: The family rooms have three double (or possibly queen) sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewmagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#5 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing