We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Slopes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Banff
andrewmagor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for the Slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visited my brother in Calgary a few years back and we took a trip to Banf so that I could snowboard for a few days. This please was a perfect place and location. When you drive out of Banf town towards the slopes this is the last Hotel in the town that you pass, and when you travel back, its obviously the first. It has a covered lay-by in front of it for the transfer buses to stop at, meaning you're the last on the bus on your way to the sloes, and the first off it on the way back. That's 5 stars for location in my book. Being next to the Bow River with an easy walk to all the hustle of Banf town either along the riverside or through the streets, reaffirms it's great location score.

It is not a palace, but it's not basic either. It's good North American three star accommodation in my book. I didn't sample all of it's facilities so I couldn't tell you if it has anything that would drag it up to 4 star. However, the rooms are huge and great value for money. I stayed in a family room with my brother and his family, they had a huge room with two double beds for him and the kids, and I had a room of my own with a double bed, Tv etc. But this was all one 'two-room' family room. And I'm sure it was little over $100 CAD on 29th December.

It was clean, comfortable, warm, had great facilities, parking, great location, helpful staff, tourist information and help buying ski&bus passes and good value for money.

If you look at my other reviews you'll notice I score quite highly, as I am doing here also. This is probably because I do my research online before I stay anywhere and I also don't fuss over the little things. And above all, I remember what I paid for my room, and set my expectations accordingly.

Room Tip: The family rooms have three double (or possibly queen) sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    121
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
51
112
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while on a coach tour. Great location right in town and right next to the river which was beautiful. Lovely to be able to walk to everything like restaurants and shops etc. There is a great restaurant only 2 minutes walk away called Melissa's we had dinner and breakfast there. Also had a good meal at the Spaghetti Factory which was about 7 minutes walk away. Beds were good and the bathroom was fine. Rooms a bit smaller than most but you don't spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a good location only 5 mins walk into the centre of town, other than that the hotel has nothing special to offer, tiny rooms and rather tired decor in need of a revamp.

If you're only looking for a clean bed and a hot shower this hotel might do, but not for a prolonged stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche Alberta
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking for a basic, cheap but clean room for an overnight on the way to Lake Louise. Print a map before you go, as the street layout in Banff is confusing if you're not used to the exits/entry points to and from the townsite, and it's easy to get turned around.

The hotel and rooms are small but clean, and the price is about half of what you'd pay in many other places. It's close to a gas station & liquor store, and shopping and restaurants are just two blocks away, so no complaints about location. Not close to any nightclubs or bars, so no noise issues from outside, but the walls are thin (not soundproof), so you may hear more than you want to from the room next door, or you may be woken earlier than you'd expected if your neighbors check out early.

Better than many roadside motels. Nothing fancy. Cheap for Banff. We'd stay here again, based on location and price.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs just in case. No views to speak of from rooms, so room location doesn't seem to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here to break up a trip to Edmonton. Good location with easy access from the highway and to center of town. Room was adequate if a bit cramped. Bathroom had mostly older fixtures and appeared not to have been updated for several decades, although it was clean. Fridge and TV were inside cabinets, which was awkward. Temperature control consisted of an old thermostat and a floor fan - no A/C. Pillows were large and uncomfortable. There were no parking spaces in the hotel's surface lot - we were told to "Go past the building with the two lights" (part of the adjacent Banff Park Lodge) and there would be parking there if we used our room access card. After a few attempts, we realized that meant the Banff Park Lodge underground parkade. Underground parking was a bonus, but clearer instructions would have been helpful. Recommended for a cheaper option while staying in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just one night as we were passing through Banff. The hotel itself is a bit run down and needs a bit of a refurbishment but that didn't really bother us as we didn't spend much time in the room. However, the bed was extremely uncomfortable (unless you like rock hard matresses!) and we could hear freight trains going past blaring their horns at all hours of the night which constantly woke us up. This is no fault of the hotel but if you are a light sleeper, I suggest staying somewhere else! The room was fairly cheap though, only $114 for a nice lake view.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms are a little dated and the corridors are a little dark, but it was a reasonable price and if you get a river view it is quite a nice hotel in a good location. I'd stay here again, as it is value for money compared to most other hotels in Banff,

Room Tip: Get a river view for a few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.