We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a good location only 5 mins walk into the centre of town, other than that the hotel has nothing special to offer, tiny rooms and rather tired decor in need of a revamp.

If you're only looking for a clean bed and a hot shower this hotel might do, but not for a prolonged stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    145
    73
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
143
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lac La Biche Alberta
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking for a basic, cheap but clean room for an overnight on the way to Lake Louise. Print a map before you go, as the street layout in Banff is confusing if you're not used to the exits/entry points to and from the townsite, and it's easy to get turned around.

The hotel and rooms are small but clean, and the price is about half of what you'd pay in many other places. It's close to a gas station & liquor store, and shopping and restaurants are just two blocks away, so no complaints about location. Not close to any nightclubs or bars, so no noise issues from outside, but the walls are thin (not soundproof), so you may hear more than you want to from the room next door, or you may be woken earlier than you'd expected if your neighbors check out early.

Better than many roadside motels. Nothing fancy. Cheap for Banff. We'd stay here again, based on location and price.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs just in case. No views to speak of from rooms, so room location doesn't seem to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here to break up a trip to Edmonton. Good location with easy access from the highway and to center of town. Room was adequate if a bit cramped. Bathroom had mostly older fixtures and appeared not to have been updated for several decades, although it was clean. Fridge and TV were inside cabinets, which was awkward. Temperature control consisted of an old thermostat and a floor fan - no A/C. Pillows were large and uncomfortable. There were no parking spaces in the hotel's surface lot - we were told to "Go past the building with the two lights" (part of the adjacent Banff Park Lodge) and there would be parking there if we used our room access card. After a few attempts, we realized that meant the Banff Park Lodge underground parkade. Underground parking was a bonus, but clearer instructions would have been helpful. Recommended for a cheaper option while staying in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just one night as we were passing through Banff. The hotel itself is a bit run down and needs a bit of a refurbishment but that didn't really bother us as we didn't spend much time in the room. However, the bed was extremely uncomfortable (unless you like rock hard matresses!) and we could hear freight trains going past blaring their horns at all hours of the night which constantly woke us up. This is no fault of the hotel but if you are a light sleeper, I suggest staying somewhere else! The room was fairly cheap though, only $114 for a nice lake view.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East,UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms are a little dated and the corridors are a little dark, but it was a reasonable price and if you get a river view it is quite a nice hotel in a good location. I'd stay here again, as it is value for money compared to most other hotels in Banff,

Room Tip: Get a river view for a few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my first experience in a hotel in a Canadian national park. I have stayed at many places in American national parks which award one company a monopoly to manage concessions and lodging in each park. I was blown away by Bow View Lodge.

It was CLEAN! And didn't have any old room/old carpet/old sheet smells. In fact, the decor was relatively new and quite nice, if simple. It had a TV! And a hair dryer! I didn't use either but marveled at its presence. We did enjoy the little table and two chairs, though, which apparently, is a luxury item for many US national park lodges. We had a view of the parking lot from the second floor but the breeze was so crisp and there was so much greenery around, I barely noticed it.

I loved the location of the Bow View Lodge. It is next to a nice river-side walking path, 2 blocks to a grocery store, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the many restaurants of "downtown" Banff.

I would absolutely stay at Bow View again and again. In fact, we stayed at a "nicer" hotel for the third night down the street (prior reservations, not a reflection of Bow View) but I would go back to Bow View.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area and is a very short walk to downtown. Originally we were going to stay for one night, but after seeing the room we decided to stay 2 nights. We stayed in a King bedroom with a view of the Bow River. Staff was very friendly and were more than eager to answer all of our questions. The only problem we had is that the entertainment centre was in front of the window and blocked part of the view. Will definitely stay at the Bow View again!

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.