We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Banff
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location and Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are an Australian couple who enjoyed our stay at Bow View Lodge. The views were fantasic, the walks along the Bow River in the evening and early morning were something to remember - especially the reflections in the river, and the deer also enjoying the walk.

The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was very comfortable, the downtown location was convenient and the breakfast included with our booking at the associated and adacent Banff Park Lodge was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    126
    61
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
125
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bow View Lodge still has the best view of the Bow River and I feel great while staying there. The very clean, comfortable and quiet rooms made my stay very pleasant. My late husband and I had spent many anniversaries at B.V.L. and this year would have been our 61st. so I had VERY happy memories. Receptionists were very considerate , efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: third floor River view rooms are my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Bow View Lodge for many years. We would not stay anywhere else. We find the staff very friendly, rooms clean and perfect for couples. Ask for a river view and you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Third floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travel quite a bit and it's a breath of fresh air to find a great place with an awesome view and super nice and helpful staff. It's location is fantastic for a several reasons-The view, Walking trails next to the bow river just across the quiet street, a short walk to lots of shops: just to name a few. The room was very clean and this review would not have happened if there was even one thing not clean. We will be staying there again. I've uploaded a few pictures. Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bow View Lodge from August 12th thru August 14th, 2012. My wife and I were on a 53rd Anniversary celebration trip. We had stayed at the Lodge on our Honeymoon in August 1959. It was a memorable stay then. The Lodge had been remodeled in the ‘70s on the same site and bore no resemblance to the one in the ‘50s. BUT – it is still the only hotel on the Bow River in Banff and our river-view room on the 3rd floor was delightful. The balcony is open and you can see other guests – but they wave and say “Hello” as we watch the canoeists boating on the Bow River. The Lodge is only minutes away from all of the down-town activities. The very economical shuttle to various locations in Banff is two blocks away. Our room was spacious and met all of our needs. The desk personnel were very helpful and personable. The parking lot is small – it would have been nice to know at check-in that overflow could be accommodated at the Banff Park Lodge garage at no charge. There is no air-conditioning but the weather was good for us in mid-August. We’re sure that the Lodge will be remodeled in the near future to bring it up to the new tourist expectations. For us, it was a great revisit to this place on the Bow River! For newcomers, it’s a great value for Banff lodging on the Bow River.

Room Tip: A river-view room is the only way to go. Beautifully tranquil views of the river flowing by and peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent two nights here on our Rockies Cosmos tour. A one minute walk to the Bow River. Make sure you see the wonderful reflections in the river, first thing in the morning. Free internet available. Friendly counter staff. Reasonable size rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I came to Banff to relax and get away from home. The hotel was basic but it did what I needed it to do. The room was small but perfect for me. I think for 4 people it would be a little crowded but for 2 people it would be perfect. The bathroom was small but I always had hot water. There is a fridge in the room. The room is older but clean. No complaints there. You pay for wireless but it is very reasonable. $10 for 72 hours. Much cheaper than in other hotels. Location is perfect. You can walk right to the main strip within minutes. The Bow River is behind the hotel. Perfect view of the river. There are trails right there that you can walk or run down. I have found the service to be very good. Everyone has been friendly and more than accommodating. A bonus is that parking is free too. If you want a pool or hot tub you can go across the parking lot to the Banff Park Lodge which is the sister hotel. I did not take advantage of this but noticed others did. Good value for the price I paid in Banff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.