We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location clean comfy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bow View Lodge to your Saves list
Bow View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location clean comfy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Me and my partner stay in banff alot. We found this hotel on tripadvisor and thought we should check it out because of the cheap rates and high ratings. we werent let down. The location is perfect for walking around town and over looks the bow river which is really cute. we were upgraded to a king size bed at no charge. we got the added 10 dollar breakfast when we booked and it was totally worth it. It had a wide selection of good quality food hot and cold. I have horrible allergies and at several other hotels in banff they have acted up. here they were fine and the rooms were perfectly clean. the wallpaper is a lil dated and you dont have plasma t.v.s in every room but really if your going to banff to watch t.v. you probably should go. our stay was awesome and this has now become our staple banff hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    145
    73
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
143
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

we stayed at bow view lodge for ten nights for a ski holiday. the lodge is in the perfect location for a short walk to the centre of banff and for each of the three slopes we went to.
set on the bow view river we did pay extra for a room over looking it well worth it.
the rooms are fairly large plenty of room to hang up all the ski gear. also the rooms are very clean and tidy as is the bathroom. the rooms are cleaned every day. overall we had a great time in this lodge and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Arrived at hotel, checked in immediatly, without any hassle. Hotel located on a small quiet road off of of main road, making it in an ideal location to nearby ammenities. We were very pleased with room (standard double with 2 double beds). We booked with Crystal ski, I did request an upgrade prior to arrival but was told that Crystal Ski customers were allocated to inner rooms (which don't face out onto Bow River), I was told that we could upgrade, but at a cost, so we decided against it. Upon arrival at our room we were pleasantly suprised that we had actually been given a room with a view onto the river (which was subsequently covered in snow and ice....so you couldnt actually see it) but it was a pictuesque none the less!! The room was spacious, clean and warm (which was most important as we suffered minus 30-40 degrees for most of the week!!) Beds were comfy, the only bizaree thing was the pillows were actually full of static, causing the pillows to fully light up in the dark, aswell as sticky up hair in the mornings!!! We didnt see the room cleaner all week...but miraculously our room was clean every day!!!! The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I did ring down a couple of times to check buses and slope opening and they were able to give me the info I required. We did use the spa facilities over at the Banff PArk Lodge (sister hotel) which is a 10 second dash across the carpark if you enter via the underground car park. The communication between the hotels was very good and its well worth using the facilities (bar/resturaunt/spa). I would warn against the cost of breakfast at the Banff Park Lodge. We were quoted approx $8-9 per person per day by Crystal Ski, I declined this as we arent massive breakfast eaters, but one day we did decide to try breakfast. It was great, loads of choice, hot\cold, you name it, it was there. We thought it was great value (thinking it was under 10 bucks), until we got the bill to be told that for the two of us it was $42!!! On a positive note, keep an eye out the Bow Biew Lodge hotel for specials at the Lodge hotel for evening meals. We did the fish buffet night on Sunday night, $34 for the two of us for all we could eat (cheaper than brekkie), and it was fantastic choice and value.
The only negative issue with the hotel rooms (which may be something they cant change) but the rooms had extremley dry air, it felt like it had the air conditioning on some sort of setting that dried your throat and nose out to the extent that I woke for 2-3 hours per night and could only get back to sleep again if I had my head under the sheet\blanket.....and this is from a person who sleeps like a log every night normally. I did question this with the staff was told this was because of the dry air in Alberta....I wasnt convinced, if its true, theres some tired people out in Alberta!!
I think we had a particularly quiet week at the hotel as we hardly saw anyone else (which was a good thing). I didnt choose the hotel for its kerb appeal, as there are some lovely looking hotels in Banff, I chose it because of the reviews on Tripadvisor...and I wasnt disappointed. I would definatly recommend again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Don't let the outside fool you. If you get a river view room you won't be sorry. Even has a fridge for keeping drinks cold.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very affordable and offerred all we needed including access to a pool/sauna for a great family get away. Bright rooms, slightly smaller than most rooms in newer hotels, but well maintained. Comortable beds and pillows. No frills but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've just booked our second stay at the Bow View lodge in Banff! For the price (under $100), this is a great hotel. The decor may be a little outdated, with a "retro wallpaper border", and an almost sponge like effect on the walls, but if you stay on the river side, one wall is almost all windows and gives you a great view of the river. We had a king size bed, which was pretty comfortable, the bed linen had been updated recently, and most importantly the room was clean. Normally, I would not stay in a two star hotel, but I would pick this hotel over it's sister hotel right next door. It has a better view and is on a quiet street, while still being walking distance to Banff Ave, and a number of pubs/ restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided to spend 2 restful days over Christmas in Banff. We picked the Bow View Lodge from the internet and we were not disappointed. Our room was small but very charming and functional. All furniture was very compact and made from real wood. The view of the beautiful Rockys and the wooded areas were very nice. All conveniences like coffee maker and fridge were available. The bed was comfortable and we loved the soft pillows. Housekeeping seemed very efficient. We met the Director of rooms Andries who was very personable and gave us good directions. The Banff Park Lodge was available for use to all guests of the Bow View Lodge and also had 2 very good restaurants. Having been in Banff before we visited our favorite restaurant and pub,the Elk and Oarsman and can highly recommend this place for good reasonable prices and a very friendly relaxed atmospere. we enjoyed everything and will return to the Bow View Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.