We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently and it wasn't as bad as some of the reviews posted. Sure it's older but it was clean, comfortable and the room was HUGE! I liked having a balcony to enjoy the view and we were disappointed that we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor pool because of the weather. It even had a jet tub. It was a nice walk to downtown but there's also a bus stop right handy.

Room Tip: We were in 236 and on this side street many of the tour buses park so first thing in the morning it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    48
    32
    41
See reviews for
40
49
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've stayed here twice now over the course of a few years and never had any problems. Rooms are clean and location is convenient. It isn't fancy but it's a great place to stop for the night. We booked online and paid around $125 for a double room including taxes - that's a budget hotel in Banff. All in all, I would say it's good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in years. If had some weird relationship with the hotel next door but was very confusing who you were dealing with. Rooms were smelly and cramped. No wifi which is reasonably important when you are an international traveller. I don't recommend this hotel at all. It's not even good value for money. Just generally s poor experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannevirke, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Not a nice place to stay. Smelly rooms, poor service, uncomfortable beds. Nothing positive to say. The breakfast was disgusting. Spend an extra 20 bucks up the road. Wierd arrangement with the hotel next door but no one manned the front desk

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I would never stay here again. Our room had a huge wet stain on the floor. We asked to be moved and were charged for another room. Service was slow to non-existent. Hotel smelt like cigarettes. Breakfast dishes were dirty. I've stayed in nicer hostels in Eastern Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've being traveling for the last twelve weeks and have never been treated so rudely. Our experience was so bad we didn't stay @ the inn. We did go back the next day and spoke to management. Management was just as rude. If you want friendly customer service or any customer service do not stay here! We were also told that staff weren't trained (countless times) by management and this was a big part of the issue.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place was very poor.
The staff were really bad..slow and attitude.
We stay in a lot of hotels and this was bad enough for me to write a review.
Tight parking spaces and plenty of stairs...no luggage cart and no elevator.
No room access until 4 pm. and 4-5 is a line up to register.
I understand that rooms need to be cleaned but once a room is ready to go, allow access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.