We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

showed up at 3:45 and was told our room was not ready although they had a vacancy sign outside. So after sending someone to check we finally got in 30 minutes latter. Lobby had threadbare chairs and the hallways had tears in the carpet. Our room showed its age. Noisy with pounding on the ceiling and water flushing.
Breakfast was spartan and messy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    50
    32
    43
See reviews for
42
49
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights last week after getting a great price through Priceline. I was very concerned after reading reviews but went with an open mind. The positives were that they had a great complimentary breakfast, the beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. The negatives are that it is far from the main part of town, they could do a better job cleaning (but really most hotels could!) and that the walls were paper thin. You could hear way too much from the other rooms and the doors close loudly. I probably wouldn't stay here again but if you are just looking for a comfortable inexpensive hotel I'd recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

In a drunken stupor I booked my hotel for the Slush Cup; unfortunately this meant I booked my room for the Saturday night, rather than the appropriate Sunday night. So when I showed up and was told I missed my reservation, it's needless to say I was butt hurt. Thankfully Ben was able to move my reservation without any additional charge!
When we got to our room we noted our key didn't work, they sent up a chap right away and after getting us into our room and changing our locks we shotgunned a beer together.
To say the staff at the Voyager is dope, would be a complete understatement.
(the rooms themselves are pretty low profile, as expected with the discounted price)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We made this booking on-line with booking.com the day before we arrived. The hotel is excellent and the facilities very good. The staff were most helpful. The outdoor pool and hot tub are a great asset.

Room Tip: Excellent location in beautiful Banff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We checked in and the Front Desk clerk was very fast and effecient with the whole heck in process. She was very knowledgeable and welcoming. The Hotel was very clean and welcoming. will recommend this hotel to all my family and friends

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

There is nothing overly special about this hotel. Basic rooms with basic décor. The complimentary breakfast very limited. If you are looking for a place to just crash for the night, this place would work. However, for a family trip I would suggest finding something else. Our first stay was on the weekend and the hotel was loud, walls thin, so family and I had to listen to the neighbors going at it for half the night and multiple load patron wandering up and down the hall. Our second stay was mid week, so hotel quieter as less people around. I guess in the end all I can say is if you pay for a 2/3 star hotel don't expect 5 star services or lodging.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have stayed in a lot of hotels through my life and I will start by saying I have stayed in a lot worse for a lot more. Luxury this is not, would I come here for a romantic break?? no, definitely not. Would I come here for a 2 week family holiday…probably not, but for a crash pad after celebrating my sons 18th, or a couple of nights if skiing locally then yes! actually I would. Like I said, its not luxury, far from it, but it was clean (if a bit on the dusty side), the staff were friendly, the breakfast was ok, and the bar had character. Yes it was noisy at times, the artex on the ceiling was peeling a bit and the carpets were thread bare in places, but it had a good vibe about it, oh and it was pretty cheap and convenient for town. No hair dryer in room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.