We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got stuck here from Hotwire” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got stuck here from Hotwire”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you're paying full price (or almost full price) you might as well head to any of the other hotels around Banff. This place had concrete walls so it was quiet but left a lot to be desired in terms of cleanliness, decor and distance from downtown Banff.

We specified 3 people for our room but they wouldn't bring in a cot for us, citing it was a fire hazard. The TV was had a spotty connection and was an old tube style. The internet was free but was also spotty (more frequently off than on) and required multiple passwords for our one night stay.

If you're paying $60 it would be a deal, but not worth their listed $120 or getting stuck here from Hotwire. Use a site that allows you to specify where you stay, don't roll the dice.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    51
    32
    45
See reviews for
44
51
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Was staying here for 2 nights last weekend (21/Feb - 23-Feb)and this will definitely be the last time I ever come here. Beds were uncomfortable and had stains on the sheets (gross!!). Left our room at 7:30am to go skiing on the Saturday and returned at 6pm and the room hadn't been cleaned. A guy came past at 6:30pm and asked if he could clean it but we were getting ready to go out and and I asked if he could come back at 7/7:30pm once we had left. When we got back later that night it was very disappointing to discover the room had not been cleaned and that the stained sheets were still on the bed.

I spoke with the manager in the morning when we checked out and his response was "sorry, we were busy on the weekend". It was a pathetic response and in the future I will happily pay the extra $50 to get a room which is actually clean elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My daughter bought us a groupon for a weekend in Banff here....groupon is first mistake...all I heard was "you don't get this, you don't get that with groupon". Now for the room. All three of us woke up by 2 am. Terribly uncomfortable bed and pillows. Room was so hot and dry and no air circulation that we literally couldn't breathe. Also, the exit door kept slamming somewhere, and we heard voices in the halls on and off, which we found strange at this hour We checked out at 3 am because we couldn't sleep. To make matters worse, while we were leaving at 3 am, we were literally tripping over young transients and empty liquor bottles in the corridors. The front desk clerk seemed to know they were there, as he walked over to monitor the noise levels from the lobby at one point, but did nothing. Creepy. As we drove away, we figured out what all the slamming was about. More youth coming and going out the emergency exit to smoke all night. Did not feel safe here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was hesitant about staying here when I read the reviews, however I got a deal for Family Day weekend for $65/night with hotels.com and thought I'd give it a go. To my pleasent surprise I found the inn to be much nicer than I had read about. Yes it has old furnishings and outdated styling, but the beds were comfortable, the room was large, clean, the bathroom was clean, new tv and there was a balcony. It was also very quiet, has a pool, sauna, parking, free wi-fi and the continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Honestly, we had a great stay here, and we walked to downtown Banff in about 10/15 minutes. The staff were really friendly and when I asked for a 2nd floor room they were accomodating. I will definately stay here again. Honestly, I stayed one night in another hotel in Banff for more money and now wish I had stayed at the Banff Voyager Inn for that night as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor(avoids people above you) and we had a balcony. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel was not good. Thin walls, poor layout. We heard everything our neighbours did.
For the price we could have been closer to down town.
Breakfast was awful. We paid the extra $7 for hot breakfast buffet, which was dry scrambled eggs and sausage, flavourless potato cubes, and bacon. The free cold options weren't much better, stale pastry and muffins, and toast. There were no servers, and we got all of our food and drink ourselves yet the debit machine made you leave a tip- not optional.
Needless to say we will NOT be coming back to the Voyager or it's adjoining in, spruce grove.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel after getting what we believed to be a fantastic deal . Honestly I wish I would have just spent the $30 extra on a nicer hotel . The room itself was old and dirty. Sheets were full of holes ,squished bugs on the wall , a dried noodle next to our coffee pot not to mention "presents" smeared in the toilet from previous guests. Staff wasnt too friendly and It's pretty far from downtown. Honestly DO NOT stay here .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

its really dated and pretty poorly ran. go elsewhere. Many more places deeper in town with more amenities and closer location to the essence of Banff: tourism, partying, drinking, eating & spending money. If you want a nice couples retreat, book out of town a little further and enjoy the beautiful natural wonders of this park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.