We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't expect much more for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't expect much more for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We got a room, semi-last minute, at this motel in Banff for $60/night. Not a bad rate in Banff, although it is off-season. I wasn't expecting a lot, and we didn't get a lot. We really only needed a clean place to shower and sleep. The hotel room was plain, but appeared clean. The furniture is quite worn, and there are a lot of scratches etc on the dresser and counter tops, but it isn't dirty. Just in desperate need of an update. They did give us $7 breakfast vouchers, but the vouchers only get you the "cold" breakfast items, so you have to pay an additional $7 for access to the "hot" food which was bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs (very dry) and some hash brown potatoe cubes. It was food, which we needed, and it wasn't fancy, but that's ok. Honestly, if you need a place to sleep and a hot shower but don't care for the extras, this is a fine place for the price. The hot tub was empty and out of service, and the lounge is kind of sketchy. The computer was broken (I see from another review that it was broken back in August, so still not fixed), but they DO offer free WiFi, which is more than a lot of high-end hotels offer. All in all, we got what we paid for and I can't complain about that.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a "good room", they are all pretty plain and need updating, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    43
    31
    33
See reviews for
35
46
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Entrance, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very pleasant stay. The Voyager connects with the hotel next door where you'll find a cosy bar with friendly locals. The inn itself has some quaint rooms facing the street. The rear ones lack a view. Rooms were comfy, but corridors were unattractive & somewhat grotty. Its a fair walk into town but buses pass the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

stayed two night in aug first impressions were not good In foyer I noticed computer broken ,mens toilets out of order ,and fire exit sign falling off wall.Hotel was clean but very tired really needing upgraded Bed was uncomfortable and I had broken glass on balcony which had obviously not been cleaned or swept for a while Continental breakfast consisted of 3 kinds of cereal,It was very poor toast and yogurt he only brjght spot was the friendly barman in what was obviously a locals bar

Room Tip: would not stay here unless there were no alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Every town has the best and the worst - the Voyager is the latter in Banff. Dirty, dated, disappointing. Every time. Unfailingly. Stayed here - unwillingly - several times a year for the past 4, and it never stops to amaze me how bad the place is. The service has been a bit of a hit and miss, ranging from flippant to arrogant to couldn't care to almost pleasant. If you plan to walk to the center of town, wear a some good walking shoes, it is a hike! Or catch the transit bus. The only benefit is that there is a liquor store located in the lobby, so if you must stay here, you don't have to walk far to get some liquid tranquility!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for one night at the Voyager Inn, and were very disappointed. It is an old and dirty hotel. The parking lot was muddy, the floor inside was filthy, and the room smelt musty even though it was non-smoking. The beds were old and uncomfortable (and very squeaky!), and the "balcony" was a concrete slab facing a concrete wall. The hot tub was full of sand, and the floor of the pool room was muddy. The bathroom in the pool smelled like mold and mildew.

The one positive was that the staff were friendly and the hotel let us bring our dog. However, for $150/night, we certainly expected it to at least be clean. This hotel room would have cost $50/night anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay. First the good stuff. We got a room in Banff for a long weekend in August (after the flood -- I imagine that part of the hotels in Canmore were closed for repairs, etc.) and the price was reasonable. We were also surprised to find that we would be getting a free breakfast. This is where the positive review ends. The room was, how should I put this, not precisely clean (pubic hair, dust, soap scum, mold, the works). We sucked this up, of course, but on the second day we came back from a grueling hike after 4 PM and found we could not get into our room as it was being cleaned. After waiting for 20 minutes to speak with the manager (who was astonishingly rude, though possibly due to being overworked and pressured), she got someone to clean our room. We don't really know what had been done in the room (possibly change the towels and make the bed), as said pubic hair, dust, etc. were still there. Just FYI, we're a couple of progressive, socially inclined academics who have spent quite some time backpacking in developing countries -- don't have very high standards when it comes to cleanliness, and are very sensitive to the plight of hospitality workers. But god, this was just annoying.
The breakfast. Okay, so we did get a nice share of bread, coffee and fresh fruit, so I shouldn't complain. That being said, the hotel has this weird policy of putting a "hot breakfast" table next to the regular (i.e., free), and they charge 7.95 for access to the table. The hostesses were very sweet and tried to explain the (bizarre) system to every person who entered the room, but many of the guests appeared not to speak a word of English and this caused quite a bit of bitterness (we didn't mind as we're vegetarians and weren't interested in the bacon, sausage, etc).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I purchased a Groupon ticket for this hotel, as an inexpensive way to have a mountain getaway during high season in Banff. I didn't have huge expectations, and I figured it was only for one night so how bad could it be? Similar to a previous review, we also probably had less than 6 hours of sleep. The beds were really uncomfortable, and the room was very warm without the ability to change the thermostat. That meant we had to open the patio door, but then it was quite noisy. The room itself was what I was expecting - it's an older property so the décor was dated and tired, but clean nonetheless. Same with the bathroom, and the shower worked well with decent water pressure. The breakfast in the morning was the usual continental fare, with an additional charge for the hot portion, but having to pay an extra $7 each for eggs and bacon seemed a little high.

I'll be more careful next time when purchasing discount hotel deals....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your review, observations and comments the Hotel always welcomes & encourages constructive feed back as it is very helpful in the ongoing quest to improve our Guests experience.

You are absolutely correct when saying the Hotel is an older property (built back in the 1960's) and as such it does not have some of the amenities that newer properties do have - such as A/Cs (there are a few older properties in Banff that are similar i.e. no A/Cs), but every room does have a small balcony and therefore a full balcony door (with screen door) to help air flow but on the down side it does mean one hears more of the passing noise unfortunately.
Being an older property means that in some areas it can show its age somewhat - i.e. less modern decor etc. - but the Housekeeping team work to ensure it is clean & tidy; as far as beds are concerned it is difficult to ensure that all beds meet the many various preferences. The Hotel does continue to have an ongoing up grading & renewal process that does includes the beds.

The breakfast is a buffet that means all Guests can eat as much as they want (with numerous visits to the buffet) and correctly the Continental (cold section) is Complimentary but we do charge for the Hot part of the Buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns) but one still gets all of the Continental as well.

As we are an older property as well as being some 15 mins walk from downtown the room price reflect this hence the lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.