We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not unless you have to!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not unless you have to!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Every town has the best and the worst - the Voyager is the latter in Banff. Dirty, dated, disappointing. Every time. Unfailingly. Stayed here - unwillingly - several times a year for the past 4, and it never stops to amaze me how bad the place is. The service has been a bit of a hit and miss, ranging from flippant to arrogant to couldn't care to almost pleasant. If you plan to walk to the center of town, wear a some good walking shoes, it is a hike! Or catch the transit bus. The only benefit is that there is a liquor store located in the lobby, so if you must stay here, you don't have to walk far to get some liquid tranquility!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    47
    32
    41
See reviews for
40
49
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for one night at the Voyager Inn, and were very disappointed. It is an old and dirty hotel. The parking lot was muddy, the floor inside was filthy, and the room smelt musty even though it was non-smoking. The beds were old and uncomfortable (and very squeaky!), and the "balcony" was a concrete slab facing a concrete wall. The hot tub was full of sand, and the floor of the pool room was muddy. The bathroom in the pool smelled like mold and mildew.

The one positive was that the staff were friendly and the hotel let us bring our dog. However, for $150/night, we certainly expected it to at least be clean. This hotel room would have cost $50/night anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay. First the good stuff. We got a room in Banff for a long weekend in August (after the flood -- I imagine that part of the hotels in Canmore were closed for repairs, etc.) and the price was reasonable. We were also surprised to find that we would be getting a free breakfast. This is where the positive review ends. The room was, how should I put this, not precisely clean (pubic hair, dust, soap scum, mold, the works). We sucked this up, of course, but on the second day we came back from a grueling hike after 4 PM and found we could not get into our room as it was being cleaned. After waiting for 20 minutes to speak with the manager (who was astonishingly rude, though possibly due to being overworked and pressured), she got someone to clean our room. We don't really know what had been done in the room (possibly change the towels and make the bed), as said pubic hair, dust, etc. were still there. Just FYI, we're a couple of progressive, socially inclined academics who have spent quite some time backpacking in developing countries -- don't have very high standards when it comes to cleanliness, and are very sensitive to the plight of hospitality workers. But god, this was just annoying.
The breakfast. Okay, so we did get a nice share of bread, coffee and fresh fruit, so I shouldn't complain. That being said, the hotel has this weird policy of putting a "hot breakfast" table next to the regular (i.e., free), and they charge 7.95 for access to the table. The hostesses were very sweet and tried to explain the (bizarre) system to every person who entered the room, but many of the guests appeared not to speak a word of English and this caused quite a bit of bitterness (we didn't mind as we're vegetarians and weren't interested in the bacon, sausage, etc).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I purchased a Groupon ticket for this hotel, as an inexpensive way to have a mountain getaway during high season in Banff. I didn't have huge expectations, and I figured it was only for one night so how bad could it be? Similar to a previous review, we also probably had less than 6 hours of sleep. The beds were really uncomfortable, and the room was very warm without the ability to change the thermostat. That meant we had to open the patio door, but then it was quite noisy. The room itself was what I was expecting - it's an older property so the décor was dated and tired, but clean nonetheless. Same with the bathroom, and the shower worked well with decent water pressure. The breakfast in the morning was the usual continental fare, with an additional charge for the hot portion, but having to pay an extra $7 each for eggs and bacon seemed a little high.

I'll be more careful next time when purchasing discount hotel deals....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your review, observations and comments the Hotel always welcomes & encourages constructive feed back as it is very helpful in the ongoing quest to improve our Guests experience.

You are absolutely correct when saying the Hotel is an older property (built back in the 1960's) and as such it does not have some of the amenities that newer properties do have - such as A/Cs (there are a few older properties in Banff that are similar i.e. no A/Cs), but every room does have a small balcony and therefore a full balcony door (with screen door) to help air flow but on the down side it does mean one hears more of the passing noise unfortunately.
Being an older property means that in some areas it can show its age somewhat - i.e. less modern decor etc. - but the Housekeeping team work to ensure it is clean & tidy; as far as beds are concerned it is difficult to ensure that all beds meet the many various preferences. The Hotel does continue to have an ongoing up grading & renewal process that does includes the beds.

The breakfast is a buffet that means all Guests can eat as much as they want (with numerous visits to the buffet) and correctly the Continental (cold section) is Complimentary but we do charge for the Hot part of the Buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns) but one still gets all of the Continental as well.

As we are an older property as well as being some 15 mins walk from downtown the room price reflect this hence the lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

After reading the reviews I was nearly put off going here but I also like to see for my own eyes. This hotel is a short 15 minute walk from the centre of town and buses regularly depart from a minute's walk outside the hotel. Banff is expensive as a destination in summer and so this hotel was very reasonable in price considering this fact. The staff were courteous and helpful the food was okay, with no frills but of a fair standard. The breakfast was a buffet which was about $7 for the hot mealoption. The hotel was generally quiet and we had fans in the room as there was no aircon. The room was fine as we only needed the basics. If you are a very light sleeper and are woken at the sound of a bird tweeting then don't get a room right near the road as there is a slight hum from traffic. We did not find this an issue. We were pleased with the service and wifi worked fine . Definitely a good option if you don't want to pay through the nose for expensive accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A very good day to you,

Very many thanks for your comments, observations and review as such constructive "feed back" is always very helpful for the Hotel and its staff.

I am very glad to hear that the staff were polite, helpful and courteous, as the Guest Service area is were a lot of effort is focused to try and ensure a good experience for our Guests.
The Hotel restaurant aims to provide good and basic fair, as there are no shortage of high end restaurants in downtown Banff so we aim for good home cooking.

The Voyager Inn is an older property hence it does not have A/C but all the rooms do have balcony doors (with screens) that can be opened and as you mentioned we can provide fans of the few really hot days/nights: this is an area (A/Cs) that is being looked into for possible future renovations.

As an older property the Hotel aims to provide a more reasonable price geared towards the budget traveller.
The noise hum as you mentioned does come from the busy traffic on the main avenue plus the trains and the birds; I guess all of these add to the Mountain experience? but not always kind to the "light sleeper" as you so correctly said.

I am very glad that the Hotel and the staff were able to make your stay & experience enjoyable and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we probably sleep for less than 6 hours. Our room is next to the parking lot where all the tour buses or trucks parked. They start the engines around 4am in the morning. The trains pass all night long. I don't think there is air condition in the room and it was very hot during the time we stayed here. The room is outdated and the bathroom door can not close. the parking lot is run down and It looks kind of scary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your observations & comments; it is always helpful to receive such.
Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done with regard to the trains as they pass through town (& can be heard from every hotel in town) during the night.
With regard to the buses & trucks most of the ones that start up that early in the morning are in fact parked out on the road as it is very rare for any that stay in the hotel to be leaving much before 7am.
The parkades (1 on either side of the hotel) are infact semi covered - as they are below the first floor rooms but are open on 3 sides - tend by nature to be somewhat dark or dull even with lights but they are safe, monitored by cameras and patrolled at night by a security company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room on Priceline without knowing what hotel I would be getting. I was scared when I looked it up on Trip Advisor afterwards but Luckily my experience wasn't like some of the other reviewers. Although my carpet wasn't vacuumed very well, everything else was ok. It doesn't have any curb appeal whatsoever, but it was a good enough place to sleep for what I paid. There is a restaurant on site and a bar as well as a liquor store. There is also a pool which I didn't use so cannot comment on. It is located about 1Km from downtown right on Banff Ave but there is a bus stop right outside if you don't want to walk it. There is also a couple of restaurants and a gas station in the close vicinity. I hope an exterior renovation will be taking place soon as it is one of the most run down looking places I saw in all of Banff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Good day,

It is always heplfull to hotel operations to receive Guest "feed back"; it is used in the on-going efforts to improve Guest Experience.
Absolutely the Hotel is one of the furthest properties from the downtown area but as you mentioned the good local bus service stops just by the hotel and it runs on a regular basis: the property is only a 15 minute (level) walk from the downtown area.
The Voyager Inn is one of the older hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) and as such does not have the same curb appeal as the newer properties - which include the Spruce Grove Inn (sister property to the Voyager Inn) which is next door (built in early 2000's) - slowly the Voyager Inn is getting continual upgrades and eventually these will include the exterior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.