We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel on Banff Avenue, though dated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable hotel on Banff Avenue, though dated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. Though the hotel is old (perhaps the oldest in Banff) and dated, the premises is very clean and comfortable. We had a very pleasant stay and would certainly stay here again, though only if the price was low enough (we paid $70 per night... wouldn't pay much more than $75 per night, or I would feel like we got ripped off). The hotel is right on Banff Avenue just as you enter town, and it is a bit of a walk into the heart of the town, but still walkable. I would recommend this hotel to budget conscious travellers, though I know better deals can be found in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review and comments; it is very helpful to hear what & how Guests feel about their stays and the Hotel - constructive comments (both good & bad) always help in the continual striving to improve.
I am very glad to hear that your stay - at the winter/low season rate (this type of rate will most likely always be the case in low season; except for "Long Weekends") - was comfortable and met your needs.
You are correct the Voyager is one of the oldest hotels in town & it is located at the begining of Banff Avenue as one enters town, therefore the walk downtown is about 10 to 15 mins but it is flat and providing the weather is kind it is a pleasant walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    53
    32
    45
See reviews for
44
54
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here March 29-30, 2013. First off they over charged us by about two nights extra.. not a big deal because it was sorted out eventually. Then we discovered that the wifi wasn't working.. which I understand it was a long weekend but when I called, all I was offered was "keep trying". What made it worse was there was about 7 fuzzy channels on the tv. When we got down to breakfast, the "free continental" breakfast had fruit and a few muffins and we would have been charged extra for the hot table food. Also, when we were checking out and voiced our complaints, the front desk really had nothing to say except "sorry, there's nothing we can do". Not impressed with anything about this hotel. Also, there was no parking because you would have had to have dragged your luggage through a lake in the middle of the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed one night on Easter weekend, could have booked other hotels for the same rate but chose this one because it had a fairly high rating on tripadvisor and staff were friendly on the phone. Not the best decision I have ever made. Right away the lobby bathrooms were disgusting which pretty much set the mood for the rest of the stay. Our room was fine, but obviously no vaccuming done because there was loads of dust and hair around the corners of the floor. There was an old mess of something left on the side of one of the beds (looked like vomit) but we only realized after we got all settled in. I called the front desk and said we could just share the other bed for the night and they offered a discount "to be determined the next morning." They ended up giving us $30 off our rate of $120 which in my opinion is pathetic considering the issue. I understand that it was a busy weekend and they can bump the rates but there is no way this facility is worth $90 per night on it's best day. The room should have been free after finding what we found on the bed. Not to mention the "free wifi" included in the price didn't work at all. We were told that when a concrete building of that size is full of people, the wifi signal cant reach most places. Poor excuse in my opinion, bigger concrete buildings have figured it out. Also, free parking is advertised but there's only about 20 stalls and otherwise you have to park in a dirty back alley. Unless you are getting this hotel for an amazing deal, I advise to stay away. The only thing it has going for it is nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your review & observations on Trip Advisor, the Hotel always welcomes constructive comments/observations (both good & poor/bad ones) as they help towards the continual on-going process of striving to improve.
Housekeeping department have been given your observations so they can immediately investigate, correct & improve with regard to the issues highlighted.
Unfortunately I am not sure where the figure in regard to parking bays has come from as the Hotel has 60 parking bays (30 on either side of the building) that are semi covered plus the bus lane pull in directly behind the hotel.
With regard to the wi-fi (which is always free) it does slow down when there is a "full house" and so many guests are using it at the similar time; but this past long weekend (always a bad time - Long Weekends - for equipment issues!!) an equipment issue/break down did occur (a Telus Modem crashed) and a tech from the IT Company was called and eventually arrived from Calgary to replace the faulty piece of equipment & get the Internet back to being in full service.

Once again the Hotel very much welcomes your observations and they will be used to help the continual process of striving to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Voy.
We did have problems getting into our room and had to ask for a new room. A mini fridge would be a great addition to rooms!
Our room was clean, the beds comfy,the staff was kind. We were blown away by the food at the restaurant!! After a day of skiing and touring we didn't feel like leaving the hotel so we decided to use the in house establishment. What an amazing, tasty feast! It's a shame more people don't try it out.

Thank you to the staff at the Voy for making our trip to Banff a great one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good day to you,
Many thanks for your review and observation in regard to your recent visit to the Hotel - it is great to hear opinions & feed back from Guests as it helps towards the continual training etc.
I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Banff & the Ski Hills as well your stay at the Hotel was comfortable and enjoyable.
Many thanks with regard to your comments with regard to the Hotel/Restaurant meals & food, I do agree & personally I feel the food selection and quality is of a good to high standard: the Head Chef is always working on new items & improving the current selection.
The Hotel has recently re-decorated the restaurant whilst at the same time re-launched it under a new theme (i.e. a Smoke House, with on-site smoking of many of the menu items!!) hopefully with promotion over the summer (we will be attending with samples the annual Food & Wine Show in May at the Banff Springs Hotel) the name will get out there.
Once again many thanks for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you next time you visit beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Only stay here if you are on a budget. Its aprox 10-15 minute walk from anything. Room was dirty and like 15 degrees inside. This place is a dump but if you are in pinch it will do the trick. If you have an extra $10 I would opt for something better downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your observations, it is always helpful to the Hotels operations to get constructive Guest "Feed Back" (both good & bad feed back) as it helps towards the ongoing goals of improving quality and "guest experience".

You are absolutely correct the Hotel is away from the "Downtown" area of Banff and yes it is approximately a 10 to 15 minute walk to the central area of Town.
The Voyager Inn is one of the older hotel properties in town and as such it is geared more for the "Budget" or "Family" Guests and this is reflected in the Hotel's prices: attached to the Voyager Inn (via an underground passage) is the Spruce Grove Inn which is a more modern property (built 2003/2006) and it just has rooms - the Voyager has the amenities such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Pool & Sauna.

The goal is always to present a clean & welcoming establishment even though the property is older, unfortuantely it appears that on this occassion the Hotel was not up it desired standards: hence it is helpful to receive your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

- Average service at reception
- No hair dryer in room
- No remote TV controller
- No service personnel after 10 p,m,
- Water puddles in parking area
- People talking loud in corrider and with room doors open between 2:30 to 3:00 a.m.
- Check carefully before booking this hotel

Room Tip: Check carefully before booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for an impromptu ski trip with friends and were simply looking for an inexpensive place to sleep (as we have a trip to Vegas planned in two weeks.) The front desk staff was kind and helpful and I have zero complaints about any of the service we received, but the hotel itself is very worn out (which I expected for the price.) Room and bathroom were clean, the mattress, while obviously not new, was at least firm and not sagging, and we did have a small balcony. For what we paid, it's a perfectly acceptable hotel, reasonably quiet and an okay base if you're planning to spend the day on your skis and the evening in the pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review as it helps towards the hotels' goal of always improving both its product and service.

The Voyager Inn is an older Hotel property and as such it caters for the "Budget" & "Family" Guest; the hotel has amenities that appeals to these markets - such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Sauna and outdoor heated Pool.

Again many thanks for your observation and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.