We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed one night on Easter weekend, could have booked other hotels for the same rate but chose this one because it had a fairly high rating on tripadvisor and staff were friendly on the phone. Not the best decision I have ever made. Right away the lobby bathrooms were disgusting which pretty much set the mood for the rest of the stay. Our room was fine, but obviously no vaccuming done because there was loads of dust and hair around the corners of the floor. There was an old mess of something left on the side of one of the beds (looked like vomit) but we only realized after we got all settled in. I called the front desk and said we could just share the other bed for the night and they offered a discount "to be determined the next morning." They ended up giving us $30 off our rate of $120 which in my opinion is pathetic considering the issue. I understand that it was a busy weekend and they can bump the rates but there is no way this facility is worth $90 per night on it's best day. The room should have been free after finding what we found on the bed. Not to mention the "free wifi" included in the price didn't work at all. We were told that when a concrete building of that size is full of people, the wifi signal cant reach most places. Poor excuse in my opinion, bigger concrete buildings have figured it out. Also, free parking is advertised but there's only about 20 stalls and otherwise you have to park in a dirty back alley. Unless you are getting this hotel for an amazing deal, I advise to stay away. The only thing it has going for it is nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your review & observations on Trip Advisor, the Hotel always welcomes constructive comments/observations (both good & poor/bad ones) as they help towards the continual on-going process of striving to improve.
Housekeeping department have been given your observations so they can immediately investigate, correct & improve with regard to the issues highlighted.
Unfortunately I am not sure where the figure in regard to parking bays has come from as the Hotel has 60 parking bays (30 on either side of the building) that are semi covered plus the bus lane pull in directly behind the hotel.
With regard to the wi-fi (which is always free) it does slow down when there is a "full house" and so many guests are using it at the similar time; but this past long weekend (always a bad time - Long Weekends - for equipment issues!!) an equipment issue/break down did occur (a Telus Modem crashed) and a tech from the IT Company was called and eventually arrived from Calgary to replace the faulty piece of equipment & get the Internet back to being in full service.

Once again the Hotel very much welcomes your observations and they will be used to help the continual process of striving to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    64
    38
    49
See reviews for
51
62
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Voy.
We did have problems getting into our room and had to ask for a new room. A mini fridge would be a great addition to rooms!
Our room was clean, the beds comfy,the staff was kind. We were blown away by the food at the restaurant!! After a day of skiing and touring we didn't feel like leaving the hotel so we decided to use the in house establishment. What an amazing, tasty feast! It's a shame more people don't try it out.

Thank you to the staff at the Voy for making our trip to Banff a great one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good day to you,
Many thanks for your review and observation in regard to your recent visit to the Hotel - it is great to hear opinions & feed back from Guests as it helps towards the continual training etc.
I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Banff & the Ski Hills as well your stay at the Hotel was comfortable and enjoyable.
Many thanks with regard to your comments with regard to the Hotel/Restaurant meals & food, I do agree & personally I feel the food selection and quality is of a good to high standard: the Head Chef is always working on new items & improving the current selection.
The Hotel has recently re-decorated the restaurant whilst at the same time re-launched it under a new theme (i.e. a Smoke House, with on-site smoking of many of the menu items!!) hopefully with promotion over the summer (we will be attending with samples the annual Food & Wine Show in May at the Banff Springs Hotel) the name will get out there.
Once again many thanks for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you next time you visit beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Only stay here if you are on a budget. Its aprox 10-15 minute walk from anything. Room was dirty and like 15 degrees inside. This place is a dump but if you are in pinch it will do the trick. If you have an extra $10 I would opt for something better downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your observations, it is always helpful to the Hotels operations to get constructive Guest "Feed Back" (both good & bad feed back) as it helps towards the ongoing goals of improving quality and "guest experience".

You are absolutely correct the Hotel is away from the "Downtown" area of Banff and yes it is approximately a 10 to 15 minute walk to the central area of Town.
The Voyager Inn is one of the older hotel properties in town and as such it is geared more for the "Budget" or "Family" Guests and this is reflected in the Hotel's prices: attached to the Voyager Inn (via an underground passage) is the Spruce Grove Inn which is a more modern property (built 2003/2006) and it just has rooms - the Voyager has the amenities such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Pool & Sauna.

The goal is always to present a clean & welcoming establishment even though the property is older, unfortuantely it appears that on this occassion the Hotel was not up it desired standards: hence it is helpful to receive your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

- Average service at reception
- No hair dryer in room
- No remote TV controller
- No service personnel after 10 p,m,
- Water puddles in parking area
- People talking loud in corrider and with room doors open between 2:30 to 3:00 a.m.
- Check carefully before booking this hotel

Room Tip: Check carefully before booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for an impromptu ski trip with friends and were simply looking for an inexpensive place to sleep (as we have a trip to Vegas planned in two weeks.) The front desk staff was kind and helpful and I have zero complaints about any of the service we received, but the hotel itself is very worn out (which I expected for the price.) Room and bathroom were clean, the mattress, while obviously not new, was at least firm and not sagging, and we did have a small balcony. For what we paid, it's a perfectly acceptable hotel, reasonably quiet and an okay base if you're planning to spend the day on your skis and the evening in the pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review as it helps towards the hotels' goal of always improving both its product and service.

The Voyager Inn is an older Hotel property and as such it caters for the "Budget" & "Family" Guest; the hotel has amenities that appeals to these markets - such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Sauna and outdoor heated Pool.

Again many thanks for your observation and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked this room as it was the least expensive I could find. Even so, I was impressed at getting a room Saturday night in Banff for this price. The Inn has the feel of a typical older ski resort hotel with locking ski racks outside the front door. It's an old concrete construction and each room has a small balcony. The rooms were typical - nothing special, but nothing wrong either. The morning buffet was ok. Cold continental breakfast is included in your room rate. for $7 more, you can partake of the hot buffet of scrambled eggs, hash browns, bacon and sausage. It was worth the extra $7. Overall, a perfectly fine place to stay if you don't want anything fancy and if you don't mind the ski bum atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We read reviews before staying at this hotel and were a little concerned, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Jasmine at the front reception who could not do enough for us, her knowledge of Banff and activities was excellent, our rooms were neat and tidy and very comfortable and the standard continental breakfast was lovely!
Yes i agree that the hotel is one of the further hotels from the main centre of Banff but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and in a town as beautiful as Banff people should walk and enjoy the amazing views of the surrounding mountains! For skiers Shuttle Buses do pick ups from just outside hotel and will take you to all the fantastic activity spots!
This hotel was lovely and a huge thank you to Jasmine for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very many thanks for your comments and observations, it certainly helps the Hotel's continuous efforts to improve, provide good & helpful service as well as in the on-going employee training - constructive "feed back" both good and bad always helps so again many thanks.
It is wonderful to hear that your stay was very enjoyable and you got to experience the amazing beauty of the Rookies & Banff whilst enjoying a great hotel stay.
I have absolutely passed your praise on to Jazmin in regard to her excellent & helpful service; it is so pleasing when one can acknowledge staff for excellent work & excellent "feed back" from Guests especially when one knows that the staff make every effort to try and help Guests.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back should ever be visiting the beautiful Rookies & Banff again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#31 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.