We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a family on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for a family on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Voy.
We did have problems getting into our room and had to ask for a new room. A mini fridge would be a great addition to rooms!
Our room was clean, the beds comfy,the staff was kind. We were blown away by the food at the restaurant!! After a day of skiing and touring we didn't feel like leaving the hotel so we decided to use the in house establishment. What an amazing, tasty feast! It's a shame more people don't try it out.

Thank you to the staff at the Voy for making our trip to Banff a great one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good day to you,
Many thanks for your review and observation in regard to your recent visit to the Hotel - it is great to hear opinions & feed back from Guests as it helps towards the continual training etc.
I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Banff & the Ski Hills as well your stay at the Hotel was comfortable and enjoyable.
Many thanks with regard to your comments with regard to the Hotel/Restaurant meals & food, I do agree & personally I feel the food selection and quality is of a good to high standard: the Head Chef is always working on new items & improving the current selection.
The Hotel has recently re-decorated the restaurant whilst at the same time re-launched it under a new theme (i.e. a Smoke House, with on-site smoking of many of the menu items!!) hopefully with promotion over the summer (we will be attending with samples the annual Food & Wine Show in May at the Banff Springs Hotel) the name will get out there.
Once again many thanks for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you next time you visit beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    51
    32
    45
See reviews for
44
51
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Only stay here if you are on a budget. Its aprox 10-15 minute walk from anything. Room was dirty and like 15 degrees inside. This place is a dump but if you are in pinch it will do the trick. If you have an extra $10 I would opt for something better downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your observations, it is always helpful to the Hotels operations to get constructive Guest "Feed Back" (both good & bad feed back) as it helps towards the ongoing goals of improving quality and "guest experience".

You are absolutely correct the Hotel is away from the "Downtown" area of Banff and yes it is approximately a 10 to 15 minute walk to the central area of Town.
The Voyager Inn is one of the older hotel properties in town and as such it is geared more for the "Budget" or "Family" Guests and this is reflected in the Hotel's prices: attached to the Voyager Inn (via an underground passage) is the Spruce Grove Inn which is a more modern property (built 2003/2006) and it just has rooms - the Voyager has the amenities such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Pool & Sauna.

The goal is always to present a clean & welcoming establishment even though the property is older, unfortuantely it appears that on this occassion the Hotel was not up it desired standards: hence it is helpful to receive your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

- Average service at reception
- No hair dryer in room
- No remote TV controller
- No service personnel after 10 p,m,
- Water puddles in parking area
- People talking loud in corrider and with room doors open between 2:30 to 3:00 a.m.
- Check carefully before booking this hotel

Room Tip: Check carefully before booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for an impromptu ski trip with friends and were simply looking for an inexpensive place to sleep (as we have a trip to Vegas planned in two weeks.) The front desk staff was kind and helpful and I have zero complaints about any of the service we received, but the hotel itself is very worn out (which I expected for the price.) Room and bathroom were clean, the mattress, while obviously not new, was at least firm and not sagging, and we did have a small balcony. For what we paid, it's a perfectly acceptable hotel, reasonably quiet and an okay base if you're planning to spend the day on your skis and the evening in the pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review as it helps towards the hotels' goal of always improving both its product and service.

The Voyager Inn is an older Hotel property and as such it caters for the "Budget" & "Family" Guest; the hotel has amenities that appeals to these markets - such as Restaurant, Lounge, Liquor Store, Hot Tub, Sauna and outdoor heated Pool.

Again many thanks for your observation and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked this room as it was the least expensive I could find. Even so, I was impressed at getting a room Saturday night in Banff for this price. The Inn has the feel of a typical older ski resort hotel with locking ski racks outside the front door. It's an old concrete construction and each room has a small balcony. The rooms were typical - nothing special, but nothing wrong either. The morning buffet was ok. Cold continental breakfast is included in your room rate. for $7 more, you can partake of the hot buffet of scrambled eggs, hash browns, bacon and sausage. It was worth the extra $7. Overall, a perfectly fine place to stay if you don't want anything fancy and if you don't mind the ski bum atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good day,
It is always helpful & good for the Hotel and its staff to receive Guest "Feed Back", observations & comments as constructive "feed beck" (both good & bad) always helps in the on-going quest to improve Customer Service and Guest "Experiences".
The Voyager Inn is an older property that does not try to be a "high end" property, we are a basic "family style" hotel with a number of amenities (restaurant, lounge, pool, hot tub etc.) that appeal to both families as well as the "budget" traveller & sporting visitor (especially during the winter ski season).
It is always good to hear that the hotel is providing for the above Guests and that they are getting to enjoy the hotel and its amenties.
Once again many thanks for your "feed back" and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to ski in the beautiful Rookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We read reviews before staying at this hotel and were a little concerned, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Jasmine at the front reception who could not do enough for us, her knowledge of Banff and activities was excellent, our rooms were neat and tidy and very comfortable and the standard continental breakfast was lovely!
Yes i agree that the hotel is one of the further hotels from the main centre of Banff but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and in a town as beautiful as Banff people should walk and enjoy the amazing views of the surrounding mountains! For skiers Shuttle Buses do pick ups from just outside hotel and will take you to all the fantastic activity spots!
This hotel was lovely and a huge thank you to Jasmine for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very many thanks for your comments and observations, it certainly helps the Hotel's continuous efforts to improve, provide good & helpful service as well as in the on-going employee training - constructive "feed back" both good and bad always helps so again many thanks.
It is wonderful to hear that your stay was very enjoyable and you got to experience the amazing beauty of the Rookies & Banff whilst enjoying a great hotel stay.
I have absolutely passed your praise on to Jazmin in regard to her excellent & helpful service; it is so pleasing when one can acknowledge staff for excellent work & excellent "feed back" from Guests especially when one knows that the staff make every effort to try and help Guests.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back should ever be visiting the beautiful Rookies & Banff again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked online and discovered upon arrival that they did not have a room. However, the sales manager personally stepped in and upgraded us to a lovely room in the sister inn, Spruce Grove Inn which is next doors.
The advantage was that we had undercover parking. The negative was that our specific room did not have any wireless. Somehow the hotspot did not reach our area and I had to sit in the lobby to try and complete important correspondence.
The real negative was the strange behavior of the senior front desk manager who literally rolled her eyes and pulled faces at me when I informed her that our room did not have wireless and that the guest service directory states that we had to get patch cords to plug into our computers. She then proceeded to point out that I was incompetent and hence this was not her problem. I noticed her bully some other staff earlier on, so I assume this is her style. The other challenge was that they were understaffed, so the reception staff simply do not answer the phone. I literally had to walk to the one building to speak to the front desk.
The positive is that I did not have to deal with her at checkout and instead had a wonderful, warm experience from the Spruce Grove front desk this morning which redeemed the Inn.
Overall the two inns are easy distance from downtown. It was full of ski and snowboarding enthusiasts which always creates a fun and relaxing vibe.
Our room 404 overlooked the mountain which is a lovely way to wake up. Good size bathroom and lots of luggage space.

Room Tip: Avoid room 404 and two others at the back of the hotel as they do not have any wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your observations and comments, it is always helpful to the Hotels to receive constructive "feed back" as it assists in the on-going goals of improving.
I do know that December 1st did catch the Hotel off guard somewhat as it turned out to be a very busy day (a one off) in the middle of a normally very quiet time of the year - i.e. begining of November until the Christmas Holidays is normally the slowest time of the year - hence the shortage of available staff.
Because of the day being a very busy one I am very glad to hear that the Guest Service staff were on the ball and upgraded you from the Voyager Inn to the sister Spruce Grove Inn next door. The Spruce Grove is a much newer property with larger rooms etc but it is only rooms and Guests have to use all the facilities - lounge, pool, hot tub, restaurant, liquor store - at the Voyager, fortunately (especially during winter months) there is a connecting underground corridor.
Also the free wireless internet is available in all areas of both Hotels but as you pointed out sometimes (it can be dependant on the wireless supplier service) the signal can very weak in certain areas: thank you for the observations re connection cords which should be at the Front Desk but obviously were not.
Your observations with regard to Guest Service staff are very helpful and will certainly be used in the continuous departmental training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.