We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked this room as it was the least expensive I could find. Even so, I was impressed at getting a room Saturday night in Banff for this price. The Inn has the feel of a typical older ski resort hotel with locking ski racks outside the front door. It's an old concrete construction and each room has a small balcony. The rooms were typical - nothing special, but nothing wrong either. The morning buffet was ok. Cold continental breakfast is included in your room rate. for $7 more, you can partake of the hot buffet of scrambled eggs, hash browns, bacon and sausage. It was worth the extra $7. Overall, a perfectly fine place to stay if you don't want anything fancy and if you don't mind the ski bum atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good day,
It is always helpful & good for the Hotel and its staff to receive Guest "Feed Back", observations & comments as constructive "feed beck" (both good & bad) always helps in the on-going quest to improve Customer Service and Guest "Experiences".
The Voyager Inn is an older property that does not try to be a "high end" property, we are a basic "family style" hotel with a number of amenities (restaurant, lounge, pool, hot tub etc.) that appeal to both families as well as the "budget" traveller & sporting visitor (especially during the winter ski season).
It is always good to hear that the hotel is providing for the above Guests and that they are getting to enjoy the hotel and its amenties.
Once again many thanks for your "feed back" and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to ski in the beautiful Rookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    42
    31
    29
See reviews for
33
42
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We read reviews before staying at this hotel and were a little concerned, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Jasmine at the front reception who could not do enough for us, her knowledge of Banff and activities was excellent, our rooms were neat and tidy and very comfortable and the standard continental breakfast was lovely!
Yes i agree that the hotel is one of the further hotels from the main centre of Banff but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and in a town as beautiful as Banff people should walk and enjoy the amazing views of the surrounding mountains! For skiers Shuttle Buses do pick ups from just outside hotel and will take you to all the fantastic activity spots!
This hotel was lovely and a huge thank you to Jasmine for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very many thanks for your comments and observations, it certainly helps the Hotel's continuous efforts to improve, provide good & helpful service as well as in the on-going employee training - constructive "feed back" both good and bad always helps so again many thanks.
It is wonderful to hear that your stay was very enjoyable and you got to experience the amazing beauty of the Rookies & Banff whilst enjoying a great hotel stay.
I have absolutely passed your praise on to Jazmin in regard to her excellent & helpful service; it is so pleasing when one can acknowledge staff for excellent work & excellent "feed back" from Guests especially when one knows that the staff make every effort to try and help Guests.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back should ever be visiting the beautiful Rookies & Banff again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked online and discovered upon arrival that they did not have a room. However, the sales manager personally stepped in and upgraded us to a lovely room in the sister inn, Spruce Grove Inn which is next doors.
The advantage was that we had undercover parking. The negative was that our specific room did not have any wireless. Somehow the hotspot did not reach our area and I had to sit in the lobby to try and complete important correspondence.
The real negative was the strange behavior of the senior front desk manager who literally rolled her eyes and pulled faces at me when I informed her that our room did not have wireless and that the guest service directory states that we had to get patch cords to plug into our computers. She then proceeded to point out that I was incompetent and hence this was not her problem. I noticed her bully some other staff earlier on, so I assume this is her style. The other challenge was that they were understaffed, so the reception staff simply do not answer the phone. I literally had to walk to the one building to speak to the front desk.
The positive is that I did not have to deal with her at checkout and instead had a wonderful, warm experience from the Spruce Grove front desk this morning which redeemed the Inn.
Overall the two inns are easy distance from downtown. It was full of ski and snowboarding enthusiasts which always creates a fun and relaxing vibe.
Our room 404 overlooked the mountain which is a lovely way to wake up. Good size bathroom and lots of luggage space.

Room Tip: Avoid room 404 and two others at the back of the hotel as they do not have any wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your observations and comments, it is always helpful to the Hotels to receive constructive "feed back" as it assists in the on-going goals of improving.
I do know that December 1st did catch the Hotel off guard somewhat as it turned out to be a very busy day (a one off) in the middle of a normally very quiet time of the year - i.e. begining of November until the Christmas Holidays is normally the slowest time of the year - hence the shortage of available staff.
Because of the day being a very busy one I am very glad to hear that the Guest Service staff were on the ball and upgraded you from the Voyager Inn to the sister Spruce Grove Inn next door. The Spruce Grove is a much newer property with larger rooms etc but it is only rooms and Guests have to use all the facilities - lounge, pool, hot tub, restaurant, liquor store - at the Voyager, fortunately (especially during winter months) there is a connecting underground corridor.
Also the free wireless internet is available in all areas of both Hotels but as you pointed out sometimes (it can be dependant on the wireless supplier service) the signal can very weak in certain areas: thank you for the observations re connection cords which should be at the Front Desk but obviously were not.
Your observations with regard to Guest Service staff are very helpful and will certainly be used in the continuous departmental training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early winter season. The rooms are very average, small and with little storage space for ski gear (also, skis and boards are not even allowed in the hotel which I found very strange and annoying. If you do not have a car to store them in, they have to sit outside all night). There is a sauna and heated pool as well as a bar, restaurant and liquor store which was very convenient. It is a bit of a trek into the main part of Banff, 15 minute walk maybe but there are buses and taxis if necessary . Service was great and the staff seem to be knowledgeable about the local scene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good day to you and very many thanks for your informative "feed back" review.
It is always very helpful to the Hotel(s) to receive good constructive comments & observations (both good ones as well as not so good ones) as they help the properties move forward and develop especially in the areas of Customer Service and Guest Experiences.
The Banff Voyager Inn is certainly an older (1960/70s) property and as such the rooms tend to be smaller that is the trend with modern/recent built properties - i.e. the sister Hotel right next door to the Voyager Inn; the Spruce Grove Inn (in fact the two hotels are linked by an underground passage) built in early 2000's and as such has larger rooms etc.
The facilities for both properties (Voyager & Spruce Grove) such as Lounge, Restaurant, Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Liquor Store are all located on-site at the Voyager Inn: which is helpful for Guests as it is a good 10 to 15 minute walk to Downtown.

You are absolutely correct when you mention that Skis, Snowboards etc are not allowed in Hotel Rooms - this is the case with most all Hotels in the area - this is purely due to the damage that can be done to Rooms when the equipment is stored in the Rooms: as I mentioned this is the policy for most all accommodations in the area.
At the Voyager Inn the hotel provides Ski/Snow Board Storage Racks - with chains & locks - directly outside the front doors of the property (in full view of the Hotel Front Desk): the Spruce Grove has Ski Lockers (again with locks available) in it underground parkade.

It is good to hear that the Staff were both friendly and helpful as the Customer Service and Guest Experiences qualities from the Staff is always the ongoing goal of the two very "family" style properties.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotels should you be returning to Banff and if during the Ski season please enquire to rooms at the Spruce Grove as they may suit your needs better (larger size rooms; as well as underground secure ski lockers).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why this lovely hotel is getting horrible ratings. Well, let me just say that this hotel was perfect!! I felt, comfy, cozy, safe, and at home here!!! The staff was AMAZING!!!!! The location and scenery cannot be beat!! I hope to come back here, next time I'm in the area! This hotel gets a solid five stars!! 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your "Review" - all constructive such "Reviews/Observations & Comments" both good & bad truly help the Hotel & its Team in their continuing efforts to provide for Positive Guest Service & Experience.

It is was pleasing to read that your stay was both very enjoyable & well met expectations: we are a small, older "Family" Hotel that strives to cater to Families and Budget minded Guests; we do not pretend to be a 4 or 5 Star Hotel which we are definitely not.
We always strive to provide good, friendly and welcoming service for Guests; it is lovely to hear that you were treated in such a way.

Banff is a very special & beautiful place and the Hotel is positioned to take advantage of some of those lovely sights.
I am so pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay and we would be very happy to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the wonderful mountains & beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Late season still few rooms left at last minute, then Voyager took us in for one night, apparently closing off many rooms next day. Anyway, a confusing place, apparently built in stages, clumsy to manoever hallways if hauling luggage carts. NO CENTRAL HEAT turned on although previous night was 35F! So they sent up a space heater. We snuggled, survived. Room antiquated. Ice about a half-block of hall-ways away. Staff nice.

Room Tip: Try for "near elevators" as long corridors lead off in unclear directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for your review comments & observations all Guest "Feed Back" is very helpful.
Yes as you say the High Season is coming to an end as Fall sets in with cooler nights for sure (fortunately so far this year the Fall days have been beautiful & the nights not as cold as usual).
Your observations with regard to the age and lay out of the Voyager Inn are interesting as the property is one of the older Hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) but was built as one & on a simple - Lobby & Amenities in the middle & then 2 wings (with 2 floors in each) off this central area (one to the right & one to the left). You mentioned that a Guest should try to get "near to an elevator) but there are no elevators in the Voyager Inn - the sister property next door the Spruce Grove Inn does have 2 elevators!
The Spruce Grove Inn is a very much newer property (built in 2003 & 2006), it is a "Rooms Only" property (Guest use the facilities at the Voyager Inn) and its Ice Machines are on the second & third floors & close to one of the elevators.
But with regard to the Central Heating - the Voyager Inn as it is an older property has a central system for the whole hotel which was turned up mid month: whilst the Spruce Grove Inn has individual HVACs in each room so the Heat & Cool can be controlled by the Guest.
It is very pleasing to hear that you were treated well by nice & welcoming staff; hopefully you got to enjoy the beauties of both the mountains & Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Banff Voyagar Inn is located on Banff ave but is at the extreme corner of the street. You would not be able to walk to the center of the town. I had to stay here one night and I knew going in to keep expectations low. The hotel room key itself is testament to how old the hotel is. It is like a computer punch card from the 80s.
The folks at the check-in counter were efficient and helpful. The breakfast was quite decent. There are much better properties in Banff. You should stay here if you have to not because you want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for your observations and comments it is always beneficial to receive constructive guest feed back.
Absolutely correct the Banff Voyager Inn along with 2 other properties are at the very begining of town on Banff Avenue (there is also one other Resort that is closer to the Highway) and it is about a 15 minute leisurely flat walk to downtown - pleasant in the lovely summer months less so in the cold winter!!
The Hotel is one of the older Hotels in town and is very much geared towards budget/family guests; the amenties do include (amoungst others) a restaurant and we are glad to hear that it provided well for you; the restaurant is currently under going some development to increase it's service times as well as new 'themed" menus etc.

Once again many thanks for your comments as they will be helpful in our ongoing efforts to improve Guest Service & Experience at this Budget/Family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff
Banff Voyager Hotel
Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.