We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Banff Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early winter season. The rooms are very average, small and with little storage space for ski gear (also, skis and boards are not even allowed in the hotel which I found very strange and annoying. If you do not have a car to store them in, they have to sit outside all night). There is a sauna and heated pool as well as a bar, restaurant and liquor store which was very convenient. It is a bit of a trek into the main part of Banff, 15 minute walk maybe but there are buses and taxis if necessary . Service was great and the staff seem to be knowledgeable about the local scene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good day to you and very many thanks for your informative "feed back" review.
It is always very helpful to the Hotel(s) to receive good constructive comments & observations (both good ones as well as not so good ones) as they help the properties move forward and develop especially in the areas of Customer Service and Guest Experiences.
The Banff Voyager Inn is certainly an older (1960/70s) property and as such the rooms tend to be smaller that is the trend with modern/recent built properties - i.e. the sister Hotel right next door to the Voyager Inn; the Spruce Grove Inn (in fact the two hotels are linked by an underground passage) built in early 2000's and as such has larger rooms etc.
The facilities for both properties (Voyager & Spruce Grove) such as Lounge, Restaurant, Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Liquor Store are all located on-site at the Voyager Inn: which is helpful for Guests as it is a good 10 to 15 minute walk to Downtown.

You are absolutely correct when you mention that Skis, Snowboards etc are not allowed in Hotel Rooms - this is the case with most all Hotels in the area - this is purely due to the damage that can be done to Rooms when the equipment is stored in the Rooms: as I mentioned this is the policy for most all accommodations in the area.
At the Voyager Inn the hotel provides Ski/Snow Board Storage Racks - with chains & locks - directly outside the front doors of the property (in full view of the Hotel Front Desk): the Spruce Grove has Ski Lockers (again with locks available) in it underground parkade.

It is good to hear that the Staff were both friendly and helpful as the Customer Service and Guest Experiences qualities from the Staff is always the ongoing goal of the two very "family" style properties.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotels should you be returning to Banff and if during the Ski season please enquire to rooms at the Spruce Grove as they may suit your needs better (larger size rooms; as well as underground secure ski lockers).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    48
    32
    41
See reviews for
40
49
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why this lovely hotel is getting horrible ratings. Well, let me just say that this hotel was perfect!! I felt, comfy, cozy, safe, and at home here!!! The staff was AMAZING!!!!! The location and scenery cannot be beat!! I hope to come back here, next time I'm in the area! This hotel gets a solid five stars!! 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your "Review" - all constructive such "Reviews/Observations & Comments" both good & bad truly help the Hotel & its Team in their continuing efforts to provide for Positive Guest Service & Experience.

It is was pleasing to read that your stay was both very enjoyable & well met expectations: we are a small, older "Family" Hotel that strives to cater to Families and Budget minded Guests; we do not pretend to be a 4 or 5 Star Hotel which we are definitely not.
We always strive to provide good, friendly and welcoming service for Guests; it is lovely to hear that you were treated in such a way.

Banff is a very special & beautiful place and the Hotel is positioned to take advantage of some of those lovely sights.
I am so pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay and we would be very happy to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the wonderful mountains & beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Late season still few rooms left at last minute, then Voyager took us in for one night, apparently closing off many rooms next day. Anyway, a confusing place, apparently built in stages, clumsy to manoever hallways if hauling luggage carts. NO CENTRAL HEAT turned on although previous night was 35F! So they sent up a space heater. We snuggled, survived. Room antiquated. Ice about a half-block of hall-ways away. Staff nice.

Room Tip: Try for "near elevators" as long corridors lead off in unclear directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for your review comments & observations all Guest "Feed Back" is very helpful.
Yes as you say the High Season is coming to an end as Fall sets in with cooler nights for sure (fortunately so far this year the Fall days have been beautiful & the nights not as cold as usual).
Your observations with regard to the age and lay out of the Voyager Inn are interesting as the property is one of the older Hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) but was built as one & on a simple - Lobby & Amenities in the middle & then 2 wings (with 2 floors in each) off this central area (one to the right & one to the left). You mentioned that a Guest should try to get "near to an elevator) but there are no elevators in the Voyager Inn - the sister property next door the Spruce Grove Inn does have 2 elevators!
The Spruce Grove Inn is a very much newer property (built in 2003 & 2006), it is a "Rooms Only" property (Guest use the facilities at the Voyager Inn) and its Ice Machines are on the second & third floors & close to one of the elevators.
But with regard to the Central Heating - the Voyager Inn as it is an older property has a central system for the whole hotel which was turned up mid month: whilst the Spruce Grove Inn has individual HVACs in each room so the Heat & Cool can be controlled by the Guest.
It is very pleasing to hear that you were treated well by nice & welcoming staff; hopefully you got to enjoy the beauties of both the mountains & Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Banff Voyagar Inn is located on Banff ave but is at the extreme corner of the street. You would not be able to walk to the center of the town. I had to stay here one night and I knew going in to keep expectations low. The hotel room key itself is testament to how old the hotel is. It is like a computer punch card from the 80s.
The folks at the check-in counter were efficient and helpful. The breakfast was quite decent. There are much better properties in Banff. You should stay here if you have to not because you want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for your observations and comments it is always beneficial to receive constructive guest feed back.
Absolutely correct the Banff Voyager Inn along with 2 other properties are at the very begining of town on Banff Avenue (there is also one other Resort that is closer to the Highway) and it is about a 15 minute leisurely flat walk to downtown - pleasant in the lovely summer months less so in the cold winter!!
The Hotel is one of the older Hotels in town and is very much geared towards budget/family guests; the amenties do include (amoungst others) a restaurant and we are glad to hear that it provided well for you; the restaurant is currently under going some development to increase it's service times as well as new 'themed" menus etc.

Once again many thanks for your comments as they will be helpful in our ongoing efforts to improve Guest Service & Experience at this Budget/Family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Other reviews mention poor custom service, I disagree, Spoke to at least four different staff while staying there overnight and found them very courteous and helpful. They went out of their way to help me print some important information and I was very happy with them and the room which was clean and comfortable. The only negitive was the poor wi fi that kept dropping out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good day,

On behalf of the Hotel and all of the Staff I thank you very much for your positive "feed back" - all constructive "feed back" both positive & negative is very helpful to the hotel in the on-going quest to improve Guest Enjoyment, Experience and Satisfaction.
We very much accept that it is an always continuous process and sometimes we (the staff) do not perform to the best but it is truly encouraging that the on-going efforts are producing ever improving Guest Service!
Often the physical product & the age of the property can not produce the best results but then it is always up to the "employees" to go the extra mile to provide quality "care, service and experience" - it is always nice to hear that we have done just that, thank you.

I have to agree that sometimes the "wifi" can be pretty slow & not always available; these problems tend to occur either due to the hotel server not performing or when the property is busy and lots of Guests are online - it is definitely an area that needs to be looked into.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to beautiful Banff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We knew there was no A/C in the room but the outside temperature was 90+ degrees and they had no oscillating fans so our sleep was restless. After 2 nights, we were happy to move on. The front desk reception woman was brusque, short and in hospitable. The staff needs a review on manners and must understand travelers are important if they want to keep their job and wages; and the hotel definately needs refurbishing and some modern conveniences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments & observations; these sort of constructive comments are very helpful towards the Hotel's on-going goals of improvement.
The Air Conditioning situation is & has been a concern at the Voyager Inn but the property is like a number of similar Hotels in Banff that do not have AC mostly due to the fact that at the most it might be required for 3 weeks in the year. But it is definitely a case that there needs to be fans available for those really hot days - definitely something that will be looked into being provided.
With regard to your observations re the Front Desk staff this will certainly be investigated & if some refresher training is needed that will be done; it is surprising in that during the summer it has been the quality Customer Service given by the Front Desk Staff that has helped Guests over some of the "aged issues" at the Hotel (up grades are an on going but slow process) and as such the Guest Service has garned good praise, obviously on this occassion it was not the case and as such I thank you for your observations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tholen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. The Hotel looks like a bunker, it is concrete, square and from the seventies not to mention the”cozy” reception area that you want to flee from immediately. The rooms are small with furniture that has past its life time expectancy, it is squeaky and dodgy. Breakfast turned out to be a battle between the guests as there were two busloads of tourists that were squeezed in the restaurant between 8 and 9 AM. For the breakfast there were two areas one for the continental and one for the full breakfast with matching coupons yellow and blue. If you had the yellow coupon you could “upgrade” to the full for 6 CAD$. The hotel is outside the centre but for dinner you could go to Chili’s which is only 10 minutes away. In Banff there are better looking places but because of the high prime tourist area they are not cheap >150 CAD$.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Good day and many thanks for you review, it is always good to receive "feed back" from Guests (both good & bad as long as it is constructive) as it helps us in our continual striving to improve Guest Service & Experience.
Absolutely the hotel is old "1964" (one of the original Banff Hotels) and as such it was built in the then "top style" of concret form: internally it is also older in style but is continually every year trying to upgrade &/or renew various areas of the Hotel.
The hotel is popular with Budget Tour groups in the summer months and a number of them do have breakfast included with their package: the restaurant is open on a daily basis from 6;30am to 11:00am but of course the peak time (& therefore some capicity limits) is between 8 & 9am when the Tour Groups come in.
The Voyager being very much a Family/Budget property does sit at the lower end of the Banff price range - Banff being a "special place" & being in the Park does tend to be more expensive than outside the Park with most properties in the summer months having prices starting in the high 100s to low 200s; but the Voyager & some other similar (out of the centre of town) properties tend to be a bit lower in price.
We always try to greet & welcome our Guests with a friendly & warm family style care & service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.