We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort. The resort is in a wooded area outside of downtown Banff (just off the Canadian highway) with relative peace and the occasional elk. The rooms were comfortable, and the staff were friendly. You can drive into Banff (parking can be a challenge downtown), take the shuttle, or ride a bike. The drive is less than 5 minutes.

Room Tip: We liked our room facing the woods rather than the parking lot. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    254
    128
    44
    26
See reviews for
200
230
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised to enjoy a very comfortably rustic stay at this resort. The suites were quaintly charming with a nice layout and fireplace.The beds were very comfortable.
We had an upper unit and stayed through the week so there was no noise to worry about.
While the lobby was under going construction, it really didn't detract from our stay. The pool and restaurant are a little below par, but if you keep in mind that this is a bit like camping, but with some luxuries, then you won't be disappointed.
We would definitely stay here again. Hotel staff were friendly and polite and housekeeping was very good as well.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in one of the regular hotel rooms for 3 days with my husband and son. I was impressed upon entering the room with how nice and luxurious it was. Soft beds, huge bathroom, couch, fireplace, a desk and refrigerator. My son got sick while we were there and we had to stay in the room for a whole day, which we didn't mind at all because of how lovely it was. There was a cartoon channel on the television and the restaurant let us take food to go. Everyone in the restaurant was so friendly and asked constantly about my son's health. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited in a relatively quiet time. Location is out of the madness of Banff township which is all to the good. Had a condo at back of the resort - great for reduced noise. Kitchen was great - all utilities and plenty of kitchen utensils. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Bedroom - bed consumes the room - wardrobe difficult to open because of limited space and no drawers for clothes storage. On the down side - bathroom exhaust fan sounds like a jet taking off and dishwasher is very, very loud. Plus side is wildlife at the door- squirrels, coyote, chipmunks to entertain. Enjoyed the stay but feel it would be noisy in peak season. Good for a short stay but claustrophobic for long stays.

Room Tip: At the back, away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there in mid May and was overall OK with the choice. 1 bedroom condo. Was a bit tight but worked well enough for us. Tthe location is great and the price was reasonable. There was an issue with the fridge making a loud noise and the staff were excellent to quickly change it for something quieter. Thanks!

However, the one major complaint was the building (condo style) is noisy. If you are on the bottom unit, be prepared to hear people above you walking around, flushing the toilet, having a shower etc. The construction appears to be 100% wood so the sound travels.

Wifi was terribly slow.

If I return I would only stay on an upper floor!

Pool, hot tub and other amenities are all fine.

Room Tip: stay on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in the one bedroom wolf condo with kitchen suite. Perfect size and very comfortable for two! Was worried at first about noise issues as we were on the bottom level, but no issues at all (perhaps no one was living upstairs at the same time?). All necessary kitchen utensils were available to use which was great as we cooked a few meals. Tennis court was right outside our place which was great as we had intended to play and brought our own equipment. Courts also weren't busy ever. Great view of the mountains and easy to locate. Staff did their job but not exceptionally welcoming. But still a good experience here, would definitely return!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the wolf unit accommodate 6 people. Spacious, two separate rooms upstairs with bathroom. Downstairs has a kitchen, living room with pull out sofa and a second washroom. The place is very clean and modern looking. Housekeeping woke us early, make sure to have do not disturb on the door otherwise they wake you up at 0900 am. Mary at the front desk attentive to service and details excellent service. Dallas in the restaurant was wonderful. Personable with , I could not ask for better. Great service and good food. Large quantity for reasonable price. I recommend the place.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.