We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 1 week, had 2 bedroom condo, quite dated, small for 4 adults, room smelled of curry, bathroom smelled or urine but they did send someone to clean it. Not very well cleaned upon our arrival. Cleaning inconsisent. Would not stay there again. Have stayed at Douglas Fir a few years ago but it was booked. Was better overall. Must say shuttle into town was handy but most of the time it was pretty full and you had to line-up and hope you got on. A 45 minute walk from downtown. Was in room 1706.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    238
    121
    41
    25
See reviews for
183
219
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I loved this hotel! The rooms are a bit dated (unless you have a renovated room) but the service we received was awesome, the room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the gas fireplace was very nice and relaxing, and to top it off we had an amazing view from our room. The one down side was the water pressure in our room - it was so strong it almost hurt to shower! But otherwise we loved this place and would return in the future!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our dogs had no complaints but we had to raise our noses not only about the 25.00 per pet charge per night but what they say on their fancy pamphlet about their pet friendly hotel. We chose this hotel because it is some of the few hotels in the national park that takes pets. It is also on the very end of town withs some walking paths that are a positive for getting the dogs outside .I have stayed here before but his room was tight for a family of 4 and our two 4 legged children. We had to phone them about their pet friendly items but they only arrived with 2 out of the 7 they offer . The one dog bed they sent exploded fur when we pulled it out of the bag . Pets are not to be on the furniture they have some other rules and you sign saying you,ll agree and pay a fine of 200.00 if violated. Yes our dogs were curious but no interest in sleeping on it and it covered the carpet in hair. The room could of used a good cleaning. There were places they don't dust that are very noticeable . In saying that I have stayed with out pets in the wolf rooms and they were more maintained they of course cost more. The pool is ok the kids enjoyed it but it could use some up dating. It would of been fine for our lab for a dip. I have stayed other place with pet and liked them more. Next visit I would chose a different location if possible with my pets. They do have a shuttle and the staff were generally friendly. They do offer some activites like hikes and crafts.

Room Tip: We had a bottom suite they family above us was noisy at times. If you don't have pets I would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a renovated wolf room which was very nice. It was a little cramped for 4 people but everything was very fresh and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with amenities. The staff were very helpful and called us a cab and connected us to dominoes pizza. The lobby was a bit dated and the pool was rather dingy and dark. The outdoor hot tub was not heated which was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a 1 bed condo for 2 weeks. Perfect accommodation for a couple (perhaps a couple with one child but wouldn't recommend more) very well equipped kitchen and bathroom and comfortable lounge area. Small bedroom but comfortable bed. Easily cooked in a number of evenings (there is a Safeway's in town) very warm room and plenty of hot water. Lots of TV channels. WiFi was a bit intermittent but adequate.
Lodges are in a forest setting requiring you to walk across an icy car park to get to reception and the other facilities. Would not recommend if you struggle with mobility.
RMR is about 10 mins bus ride to Banff (shuttle runs hourly 11am to 11pm) the ski bus gets you to sunshine village in about 45mins and lake Louise in 70 mins. The bus leaves PROMPTLY so arrive at reception 5 mins before. You will be the first pick up and the first drop off on return. We didn't have a car and managed fine.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat here but had a few drinks at the bar downstairs after using the spa. Cheap happy hour drinks.
I have given 4/5 due to a few maintenance issues and general tiredness of the health centre but these were small things in an otherwise fantastic holiday. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: An upper floor room would be preferable due to the structure of the building meaning you can hear ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On reading the other reviews I am wondering if we were at the same hotel. Our room was pet friendly but we had expected that on being charged an additional $25 per night it would have been cleaned thoroughly before we got there. Alas not. Booked 2 nights and decided oh well lets make the most of it. However breakfast the next day took 25 mins from ordering to arriving at the table and there was only 1 other table occupied. It arrived cold, burnt and left me and my son feeling somewhat sick. We decided enough was enough and we made a complaint to the desk. They offered to send someone to clean the room...mmm....that should have been done before we arrived. They offered us another room....mmmm.....no guarantee it wouldnt be like the one we were already in. They offered us a refund. Yes we took that even though it was inconvenient as we had a dog sled tour booked. Better option. Would not return. Very outdated room. Tatty furniture. Disgustingly dirty gas fire. Even found candy on the floor and no it wasnt ours. We had very much looked forward to this trip and it was a huge let down.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property exceeded every expectation one might have.
I was there for a 5 day ski experience with my nephew who fancies himself as quite a hotel connaisseur.
The accommodations were superb and the dining room was excellent.
We were centrally located to access a couple of outstanding skiing properties and could not have been happier with the overall experience.

Room Tip: Just about any type of room is available, but be sure to book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.